Humans logo

Hazel's Town

How perspective can open the heart and mind to wonders hidden in plain sight.

By Tammy HaderPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Hazel's garage window - Photo by author

I have visited family in Severy, Kansas on several occasions over the years, but only recently saw it for the first time. Entering the tiny town with a population of about 250 people, roosters are crowing, and dogs are barking.

Travel through the town is at a slow pace on the worn, unkempt streets full of potholes, too numerous to dodge. Many properties are overgrown; the lawns littered with rusty forgotten objects.

Homes are run down and in obvious need of repair or demolition in some cases. This is the Severy that my eyes have seen for many years.

Upon the passing of my grandmother-in-law, we visited Severy once again to say goodbye to this most beloved member of our family. Once again traveling over the bumpy streets, past the dilapidated homes to the little church that she loved so much.

The pastor spoke lovingly not of a mere acquaintance or member of the congregation, but of a dear friend. The pastor truly knew Hazel.

Stories were shared of Hazel’s steadfast faith, her well known smile, and trademark chuckle. These were stories not unlike the memories silently replaying in our own minds.

It was summer in Kansas, but it didn’t matter that the little church needed air conditioning repair. Hazel was with us in her place of peace as we sat on the hard-wooden pews, fanning warm air over our moistening skin.

The most meaningful funeral service my ears have ever heard happened in that little church in Severy that day. Hearing such perfect words began prying open a part of my mind closed by the hectic, demanding lifestyle that so many of us lead.

Photo by chuttersnap on Unsplash.

This was the moment that my perspective began to transform.

As the funeral procession to the cemetery flowed through the streets of Severy, I saw something I hadn’t seen in a long time. The townspeople, busy amidst those forgotten objects and run-down homes, stopped.

They unselfishly placed the activities of their lives on pause for a moment. Caps were respectfully removed, and lawnmowers were shut off.

Standing still for strangers, those townspeople became solemn participants in our lives. This nostalgic display of respect was simple, but emotionally powerful.

Meanwhile, the church ladies were hard at work preparing their long-standing tradition of expressing sympathy via food. Entering the fellowship hall, we were greeted with the lovely aroma of a down home meal, reminiscent of holiday dinner at grandma’s house.

The dessert table was lined with little plates displaying slices of homemade pies. They cared for us well with a delicious meal preceded by a heartfelt prayer delivered tearfully by one of the church ladies.

They too had lost a loyal friend, a valuable member of their circle.

The Secret

It seems this small community that outwardly appears in disrepair, has a secret. A secret worthy of sharing.

A strong, resilient foundation lies under all those potholes. Caring and respectful hearts live inside those imperfect homes.

Gracious people chose to give their precious time to us that day. The people of Severy make this tiny town more beautiful than I had ever realized.

I simply hadn’t seen it through Hazel’s eyes before. Their secret was obstructed from my view only by the angle of my own perception.

Perception changes things. A different perspective can open the mind to ideas not previously considered and the heart to wonders that may have been hidden in plain sight all along.

Severy Through Open Eyes

I went back to Severy recently and I must say the town looked different to me. Yes, this was partially because the pothole infested streets had been repaired with new gravel, but other elements were unchanged.

The roosters were still crowing, and the houses were still less than pristine. In spite of the exterior blemishes, the town looked prettier and prouder than I remembered it.

I thank the people of Severy for unknowingly bringing focus to my eyes; a new understanding of lives different from my own. I will carry their secret with me and open my mind to different perspectives as I travel through the rest of my life.

I hope to continue seeing past the exterior trappings to the beauty that lies beneath. And I hope that I can touch the lives of others as the people of Hazel’s town have touched mine.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Hader

After 30 years as an accountant, Tammy began creating a new legacy beyond spreadsheets. Her nostalgic writing reflects on the past to explain the present. In her stories, you may recognize reflections of your own past.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.