Humans logo

Happy eccentricity.

What's your undercover superpower?

By Gena AdamsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Leave a little something in everything you do.

What is a job? Is it something we do for a living? Something that pays our bills? Does it define us? Is our job our passion that fuels our soul’s and mind? These answers will vary for each of us. If we are talking a job as in terms of monetary value and how we impact the world by our means of living, then I have a couple significant ways I impact the world. It isn't my favorite way of impacting the world around me, but I will get to that later.

By means of quick cash, I impact the world by making it possible for people to remain in the comfort of their own homes and get their food and/or groceries delivered right to them. Especially when times are unprecedented and we are all still healing from a collective trauma we experienced aka the pandemic. Many people still live in fear and would prefer to not leave their homes as much as possible. Some people are too busy, while others are physically or mentally drained. Therefore, I come in delivering food right to their doorstep with an upbeat attitude. An undercover hero for hungry bellies and empty fridges all with a friendly smile. Being a kind human is definitely a positive impact.

Moving forward to health and fitness. For years I have spent guiding and instructing countless wonderful people towards a healthier lifestyle. Being fortunate enough to witness these people transform into happier and healthier individuals through kickboxing. It is a beautiful thing seeing the widest variety of demographics and diverse people kickboxing together. Teenagers, athletes, people who haven't worked out before in their life, lawyers, teachers, bartenders, etc. etc.. No one is excluded based on age, race, gender, religion, class, political views, nationality... NONE of it matters when they walk into the gym. They all meet up and they kick ass. They take their frustrations out on the bag, they sweat, they build muscle and my favorite... they leave happier. It is scientifically proven working out in a group setting releases more endorphins.

Impacting people not only on a physical level, but also helping their mental health is extremely rewarding. I help people come together, feel included, get through a tough workout, and encourage them to make healthier lifestyle choices. I impact them not only as individuals, but as a community. An undercover kickboxing hero spreading friendliness, inspiration, equity, and building community.

Now my personal favorite “job”; being a stay at home Mom. This is the most difficult job I have. Parents know it doesn't pay anything, but it sure does cost a lot and we are lucky to get a night off. I may be only impacting one child. One may seem like such a small number. Time will tell. I do my best to raise him right. With morals, values, kindness, and a thirst for learning. Teaching him not only what he will learn in school, but all the things we don't learn in school.

How to love. How to accept people for their differences. How to accept ourselves. How to stay humble and grateful. How to take care of planet Earth. How to be part of something bigger in our community. How to heal ourselves and not let emotions take control. I also incorporate social and emotional learning into my parenting techniques. As I continue teaching, I also continue learning myself. Did you know there are non-violent ways of communicating? Better question, did you know many “innocent” ways we communicate is actually considered violent? For example, saying the words always or never: “You always are late for dinner.” “You never take out the trash.” Those are assumptive accusations people use often and don’t realize it creates an argument. You can check out non-violent communication guidelines and this will seriously help your relationships. Viola, I may have even impacted your life reading this right now.

An undercover Supermom. An undercover advocate for spreading joy and kindness.

I believe we as humans all have multiple ways we impact the world around us. My list doesn't end there, but I will end here...

We are all Heroes in our own unique way.

family
1

About the Creator

Gena Adamson

Writing has always ignited my soul on fire and helped be an expression of my authentic self. Although, for years I didn't believe in myself and have rarely shared!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.