Humans logo

Gray Side of the Moon

Straight Jacket

By Melissa NovakPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Gray Side of the Moon
Photo by Nicholas Kusuma on Unsplash

No hymn nor tune to my soul, helpless vitality within me, stood numb to my surroundings, I drove my normal route. Another day, Five o'clock AM not another being on the street just myself in the dark what is considered morning, interrogating the meaning of morning? Abandoned in the dark my body was distant from the world. Wake up, MOVE!!! Ineffectual fear flooded down my face. Vehement utterance of the voice, EMOTIONS? Do I even know what i'm saying, my brain is disconnected as my heart had wondered. Doing what society requires me to do, while my feelings are lost and held by a straight jacket. Who am I? Street lights screaming for me when to slow down or when to move. My mind twisted RED, YELLOW, GREEN, what do you want from me? Driving a route I was trained to remember the only light I see is the moon, but no one sees the other side, what is illuminating to my eye, look closer the truth of the moon the divots the crater possessing the vision of veracity the so called face of the moon was hidden. The Black side of the moon, I stand there cold and alone. No sound but watching the world spiral into disaster and still I feel nothing. The ugly truth of this so called life!!!!

By Marty McGuire on Unsplash

White side of the moon, were gratitude is the real meaning of happiness. When faith is on your side, laughter and sunshine brings joy to you. Every aspect of life seems to be perfect. All you ever dreamed of goes exactly how you imagined it to be. Finding love and the true meaning of love, enjoying the imperfections of the world and still standing with clarity of who you are. Purity as I stand there and take it in, no want or desire for anything in return, being content with the life your given is so important. These moments and feelings do not come your way all the time, this is the reality of the ugly side of the truth. So when these moments happen, stand still and take it in. Be present in this time, use your ears to listen to the surroundings, eyes to capture a photo of joy and lips to smile from ear to ear and scent that tempts hunger. This is what you need to do because these memories is what keeps you sane when the black side tries to creep in. Close your eyes and vividly remember joyous memories you have made throughout life….listen to the waterfall, the birds chirping, how about that hike to the top overlooking the city. Indulge in that memory when you swam with the dolphins, sea turtles and fish synchronize swimming next to you, an ocean filled with a rainbow of colors and the brightness of the coral that no one on land can see, but you. Remember that day your crush called you and and your heart skipped a beat take it in the excitement you felt. Remember the day you got to hold your baby, the life you have made with love. Remember the day you walked down that isle and saw the love of your life at the other side. Remember the friend who held you in their arms that made you feel safe. Memories is what fulfills the white side of the moon. Keep this memories tucked into your heart because it will protect you when the world spirals out of control.

By Landon Parenteau on Unsplash

What happens when it comes together?

The gray side of the moon.......

Choosing which side we stand on is up to you. It is okay to stand on either side, but just remember either side is temporary. Keep the balance.... stand on that tight rope and hold your balance because that is what our world expects from us. Fear is normal, so feel it and face it. Hope to stay sane is what our society ask from us. We are individuals who are worth fighting for. Keep your armor on and your sword sharp with the joyous memories you have made throughout your lifetime and fight that fear that allows doubt in your mind, put a face on that fear and attack. Try to stay a float because it can get ugly and that is okay. What matters is how you get out of the cage of darkness and face the light of joy. Perfect! nothing in life is perfect, you need to find peace in all the imperfections of life and surround yourself with people who will define the true meaning of happiness. When I am not in the dark nor in the light I am in between fighting for ME. I found the true BALANCE of life.

By Sunguk Kim on Unsplash

family
Like

About the Creator

Melissa Novak

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Eva A Manzo12 months ago

    " Gray side of the moon". By Melissa Novak. I loved it, it was WOW! beautiful & it gave me tears of Joy. This made my day😆.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.