Humans logo

Grape Reflections

a blind date & chance meeting

By Sierra WestPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I twisted the silver band around my finger, staring at the glittering gems embedded in the metal. The way they reflected the candle light was mesmerizing, perfectly distracting. Four years ago, I sat at this very same bar, in the exact same corner. I was a different woman then. I had just moved to a new city, a new job, a new...everything. A coworker had suggested they set me up on a date with their roommate. She said he was New York native and I could use someone handsome to show me the city. I had the slight feeling that she may have just wanted to get him out of the house more, but she wasn't wrong. I could use the company. New York City was a big place, and it's even bigger when you're lonely.

Harvey's was a small restaurant on Stuyvesant street in the East Village. It was located in an old brownstone, you had to walk down a set of stairs to even find the entrance. There wasn't an obvious sign out front, and if you weren't seeking it out, you'd probably walk right by it... and I did. Several times.

The little bar wasn't well lit, quite obviously on purpose. There were small round tables, suitable for two guests, were lined along the wall with small tea lights in the center. Most of the tables were empty that night, but there was a small piano set up in the back corner, captivating the attention of the few patrons in attendance. I scanned the rounded out bar, not seeing anyone who looked like they were waiting on someone. Other than the couple sitting directly in the curve of the bar and an old man still wearing his trench coat on the far side, the bar was uninhabited. I took the seat on the opposite side of the bar of trench coat guy. Nothing personal, he just kind of reminded me of the professor from Back to the Future and that combined with the coat was enough for me. He was probably a nice man.

My hands were actually shaking as I lifted my wrist to check the time. I was early. This is good. Early can be good. Is it a bad sign that he isn't? Oh for the love of overthinking, I need a drink.

Just as I was scanning the bottles along the back wall, the bartender started walking my way.

"Can I get you a drink, love?" He asked in a deep Irish accent while sliding a menu across the bar towards me.

I stared at the leather trimmed menu, but I knew what I wanted.

"Just a glass of Merlot, please."

He nodded and reached for the wine glasses hanging behind him. I kept checking the entrance behind me, but my date had yet to arrive. Carla said he wasn't very tall but, taller than me, with sandy blonde hair. Not much to go on, but also what are the chances of someone who looks like that, walking into a place like this, and it not him? So there's that.

"So, is this a solo excursion or are you meeting someone here?" He asked as he placed a wine glass down in front of me. The deep red color was calling me name, like a siren in a storm.

"Um, a date, actually." I said hesitantly.

"Ah, one those dating apps I suppose?" His accent was charming. I had a friend in college who moved here from Ireland, but her accent was so thick I could barely understand her a lot of the time. Not him though.

"No, no. A friend of someone I work with. I've never met him before, so I guess I'm a little nervous." I smiled, out of awkwardness. Why would I say that? I sipped my wine, the tannins turning my tongue into a delicious velvet rope.

"Well, I don't know if that's better or worse. But you're smart to get here first. Get the high ground."

The way he said "high ground" in his accent made me laugh, it sounded like a war general divulging battle plans. He was good looking guy, probably cleaned up well behind the bar when it was busy. He had shaggy hair, but it managed to stay out of his face and it matched his whole relaxed persona. I also liked the fact that when my wine glass started to get low, he automatically reached back for the wine bottle, and topped off my glass.

"So, are you worried your date may go arseways or have you had enough Merlot?" He had a cheeky grin, like he was interested to see how the night would develop. I bit my lip for a second, sucking in my breath as I turned to look at the door one more time. Nothing.

"Considering a tall, blonde man hasn't walked through that door yet, I'd say it already is. He's a half hour late now." I looked at my watch, hoping I had the wrong time.

"Blonde, eh? I thought thought you might like the dark, brooding type." He ran his hands through his mahogany brown hair. Raising one of his eyebrows in a flirty manner.

I leaned in, looking deep into his eyes. "Is it bad taste to flirt with your bar guests?"

He mirrored my lean, closing the space between us and the bar.

"Only if you don't introduce yourself. My name's Torin Harvey." He did have a great smile.

I pulled back, extending my hand to him. "I'm Emma. It's nice to meet you."

He rolled up his blue & green flannel sleeve, shaking my hand.

I ran my hand along the edge of the wooden bar top, thinking about that night and how many nights I had spent sitting here in the years since.

"Oh Emma! My dear, how are you? Can I get you a something? A glass of wine?"

I smiled, almost blushing. "Not tonight, Jerry. But thank you. Just a water please." The old man nodded, turning towards the glasses behind him.

I felt a chill over my shoulder as the door to the bar opened, and a tall, handsome man walked through.

He smiled big, walking towards me with his arms open.

"How was your day, love?" Kissing my cheek and stealing my warmth.

"Better now that you're here. Torin, I've got big news. You're gonna want Jerry to grab you a beer first."

He looked at me and smiled. "Emma Harvey, always getting the high ground."

dating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.