Humans logo

Goodbye Past, Hello Future

Valuing the Present

By Joy BoyonasPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
3
Savour the moment

I believe a lot of us grudge on the awful and negative things that has happened to us and for me that was when I ended up in an abusive relationship; physically, emotionally and verbally. Due to this relationship I had lost my confidence in myself, I questioned my value and the person that I am. I had been grudging on this certain chapter in my life as it was one of the most soul damaging and identity breaking I felt at the time, I no longer believed I deserved to be happy and I started to believe that I deserved to be unhappy and be mistreated. I have never tried to love the hardest and yet be awfully treated at the same time, it was a very toxic relationship and there was no partnership at all I have come to realised.

It is only recently that I have learned that I need to forgive myself, forgive that person and forgive that situation in order to be present and be able to savour and enjoy my present moment. I no longer feel I have to be skinny to be beautiful and I am free to just be me. After forgiving myself and everything that I went through in that season, I have come to be at home and be at peace with myself, to learn to love myself always first, before anyone else, in order that I may share love to others.

Yes, that experience was not easy nor was it pleasant or healthy to choose to stay in an abusive relationship but in all that I did find myself. I found love for myself and value for myself and so now I can confidently be in my present and know that I am no longer holding on to hard feelings of the past, which had weighed me down, but be present and ecstatic for the future.

I found value in myself for the strong heart that I have received through that trial and tribulation and I have confidence that I know who ever rejects me will not define me because what is more valuable is what I say and think about myself.

I am more kind and joyful with myself and at peace with my current situation. I am able to say thank you past for the lesson of strength, dignity and self value and hello future for all that you may bring!

Thank you for reading and hearing a piece of my story.

Light & Love,

Joy.xo

love
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.