Humans logo

Giving to Those Who Need a Miracle

Tis the Season for Miracles

By Megan Jo KoonsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Since 1993, more than 178 million children in more than 150 countries have received an Operation Christmas Child shoebox.

I met my boyfriend Jake in September. Ever since day one, I realized I couldn’t be happier with anyone else. I’ve also realized just a short time ago that our meeting and being together was for a reason.

I’ve come to know him as a devoted child of God and he would always give back when he can. When he has picked me up for our dates, I would always see bags of food in his car. He’d give those bags to the homeless when he sees them around Cincinnati, where he was born and raised.

He would always reach out to those who need a miracle. One thing that I’ve always wanted to do was give back to the community, but I’ve only been able to do it a couple of times. I’ve always wanted to give more and Jake helped me give more this Christmas season.

He’s always able to help out the community through his church. His church always finds a way to give back to the community.

Two weeks ago, we were able to fix up blankets to give to children who need a warm blanket for the winter. It was a fulfilling feeling knowing I was helping children stay warm.

Jake and I are on the left! I am holding a light blue blanket and Jake is holding a red, gray, and black blanket :)

I always thought giving back to children is very crucial to their growth. If they see that we can continue to spread cheer especially in times like these, they can see they can do the same for someone else.

Jake and I are cutting the strips into the blankets to tie them together!

Another good deed I was able to help with was Operation Christmas Child, a program that was started by Samaritan Purse’s President Franklin Graham. Operation Christmas Child is a program that allows us to give toys to children every year through the Samaritan Purse International Relief.

Every year, people are able to receive shoeboxes with Samaritan Purse’s logo and decorated with the festive green and red representing Christmas.

These shoeboxes are always filled with toys, clothes, hygiene items, blankets, and school supplies even to give to children around the world who aren’t able to receive gifts for Christmas.

Jake and I went out one day and we were able to make a date out of it too! We went to Dollar Tree and Walmart to fill our boxes with toys, hygiene items, etc. We each purchased blankets, washcloths, coloring books and crayons, pencils, a stuffed animal, a toothbrush, and bars of soap.

At the end of the day, we filled our boxes with grins on both of our faces. Within the next couple of days, his mom sent in the boxes to the post office and the donation center in Cincinnati.

Altogether, we had put together over 80 boxes!

Once I heard how many boxes we put together with the church, it was great news to me. We were able to add 80 more boxes to 178 million shoeboxes that will be sent to children around the world.

We are also able to track where our shoeboxes will be headed once January comes. I pray my shoebox goes to the young lady that needs it the most. I put items in the shoebox I put together for a young lady. I hope the shoebox I prepared is the miracle she's been needing.

I couldn’t have participated if it weren’t for Jake. Not only did he inspire me to start giving back to communities around me, but he also makes me want to continue to give back.

The experience I had with giving back to Operation Christmas Child was phenomenal, to say the least. The fact that this will be a Christmas miracle to the children is amazing. Not only do children get to experience this miracle, but their families will too.

Everyone needs a Christmas miracle this season after an exhausting year it has been for all. I’ve never given a Christmas miracle to anyone, but I was able to give a miracle for the first time.

I’m looking forward to the next opportunity we get to give back to those who need the miracle that will keep them going.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Megan Jo Koons

Hello! My name is Megan Koons and I'm a new creator here on Vocal :) I already have a blog on Blondielocksadventures.com! I want to share my writing because I could write forever and I've heard I have a gift for it. I'm excited to be here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.