Humans logo

Funke Akindele, Bovi, and Other Celebrities React to Getting Slapped By Fans

How does one react?

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 4 min read

When we are surprised, we sometimes react in a ways that do not make any sense. In the presence of celebrities, many people have famously completely lost their minds and done things that they would normally never do to a regular person on the street.

One such thing a lot of people, especially Nigerian fans do to celebrities in public is slap them. It's usually on the back, or on the shoulder out of surprise - and in their defense, it's not only celebrities they slap. I can't tell you the number of uncles and aunties that have torn me hot slap on the back out of surprise.

Still, a slap is a slap regardless of how surprised one is and everybody reacts differently to slaps.

New Nollywood actor, Lateef Adedimeji took to social media to talk about his incident of getting slapped by a fan.

Lateef Adedimeji

He said:

Out of excitement, a fan suddenly gave me a ‘hot’ slap. She said, ‘Oh my God! Lateef Adedimeji’.'

I moved back in anger and saw her smiling. I just had to say ‘thank you’. I had to smile by force, by fire. Things like that happen. We just have to manage them because they are out of love. We cannot push them away.

He is not alone. Other big name celebrities like Funke Akindele, Ngozi Nwosu, and Bovi have also been slapped by fans in public. Here are the ways all of them reacted and what they all had to say about being slapped by their fans.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

1. Ngozi Nwosu

Ngozi Nwosu said about getting slapped:

I get it everyday. In fact a lot. There is this thing about some people. They just hit you at the back because you are a star or something. I don’t like it. It can be so upsetting that I would feel like slapping the person but I would now remember that I have to control myself because of my kind of profession. There was a day I was having a little problem with someone, another person then said that I was exactly the way I act on TV. I then told the person that she was silly. I’m not a saint simply because you see me on screen. There is an element of madness in everyone and acting is just make believe. Acting a negative role doesn’t make me a negative person. That doesn’t mean people should provoke me just to see what I can do. I will bounce back.

2. Helen Paul

Nigerian comedian talked about how people never know the difference between her on stage and her on the road and so, act in very unusual ways like pulling her ear and slapping her. She said:

Many people don’t actually know the difference between you when on stage and on the street. Some people, instead of just greeting you, go as far as slapping you and you may not be in the right mood to endure that, while some will just say ‘Hey tatafo, come here!’. Some even pull my ear, forgetting that I am not a kid.

3. Bovi

Nigerian comedian also talked about his own experience receiving a slap from an excited fan. He said he immediately had to tell off the boy for going too far with his excitement. Bovi said:

My crazy experience happened when I went for a show recently and a particular fan just came from now where and gave me a dirty slap, I was shocked and the guy said I am a very big fan of yours, I was like you went too far in showing your appreciation towards me now.

4. Funke Akindele-Bello

Funke-Akindele Bello is one of the most beloved actresses in all of Nigeria and as such it is no surprise that she has gotten her own fair share of slaps across the country. Speaking on one such experience, Funke said:

I was at the airport sometime back and a woman came to say hello. Of course, I greeted her politely. Again, she came and I did same thing. Again, she came and I was still my smiling self. This went on like 20 times and she brought many people to see me! When it was time to board the plane, I was on a queue and suddenly had a slap on my back! It was the woman and she said, ‘Abebelube’ (Yoruba word for a more-than-smart person) and laughed. I was hurt! But I just grinned and said ‘thank you ma.’ The normal Funke Akindele would have reacted but I just reminded myself of the status. But I am human!

Not calling her Abebelube after wozing her hot slap. Nigerians will not kill me abeg 🤣

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.