Humans logo

Friends

Or acquaintances, as I have learned to call them.

By Arianna SuárezPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Hello Again.

Before I start writing, I want to specify that I did not have the mental clearness to write these words. And second, I want to thank you for taking the time to read them.

As I write these words, a tear sheds down my face, because I used to have so many people that I considered to be my "friends". That word is so loosely used, it's not even funny. We call so many people our friends, that we shouldn't. Most people that come across our paths are acquaintances. Temporary people sent our way to teach us a lesson. We can learn at least one thing from every single person we encounter.

I was listening to a podcast earlier on this subject, that inspired me to write, because she was so accurate on what I needed to hear, I shared it on my Instagram story and captioned it "Someone told me I needed to listen to this." And it could not be more true.

We recently moved from New York to Florida, and with every event in life, comes a realization. I DO NOT HAVE ANY FRIENDS. I know a lot of people that live near me, and I cannot call a single one my true friend. I live near people from high school, people I met by hanging with other people, people from college, people I've met here... and not one of them would be there when I need the most.

It is sad to say, but sometimes the people that are furthest from you are more there than the people that are a 5-minute drive away. This is a lesson I learned "the hard way". It goes without say that I have moved here for several reasons, but one of them was to be closer to "friends and family", and I feel more alone than ever.

Don't get me wrong, I have everything I need with my husband and children, but everyone needs to socialize, to get out of the house, to meet "friends" for a drink or coffee, to go to a bar (pandemic permitting), to go out to a park, for a walk, visit someone, in short, socialization. And I don't feel like I can do that. I mean, I can, realistically, but the "friends" don't have time, or our schedules never match up, or they have other plans, etc.

Yes, people have lives, and I cannot expect everyone to jump when I call or text, but you should make time for the people who want to spend time with you. Try and put some effort into making plans. In the day and age we are living in, even a video or phone call suffices. Just time to listen. You never know what this person is going through, or if you could be there to help, or they just need someone to listen. You never know if this outing or get-together will also benefit you. And worst of all, you don't know if you can save this person's life.

I recently had a birthday, and most of my family called or texted me. Some people messaged me on social media after they saw my posts, and the one person I expected a call from, my "best friend"? Nothing. It surprised me, especially because I am always messaging her, usually am the first one to call or message for their birthday, and I know, she has a job, and a child, and a house, and other friends... But it's just sad to me that not even a belated birthday message. I was really hurt by this.

BUT! Of course there is a but... after listening to this podcast today, I completely understood that everyone you meet is for a reason, and most importantly, a LESSON!

I have scheduled myself for some meditation time every night for meditation, and tonight's meditation is about the lessons I have learned with and from the people that at one point in my life mattered the most to me, and I called my true and genuine friend.

This being said, stop and think about what each person you encounter can teach you. What you can take from each relationship, long or short, and what you want to change in your life to become a better person.

Please always stay true to yourself, and know that we are constantly changing in a world where every day is a

friendship
1

About the Creator

Arianna Suárez

I am passionate about a lot of things, and writing has become one of them. I am looking forward to making content that will entertain you, and maybe we can learn a little bit from each other as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.