Humans logo

Freedom Convoys are Changing the World

A True Inspiration

By Luna QuillPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

So, what exactly is the Freedom Convoy, you may ask? Well, for those who’ve been living under a rock or purposely avoiding the chaos that is the news these days and haven’t heard of the Freedom Convoys taking place right now, I’ll fill you in on the details you’ve missed. Essentially, the Freedom Convoys originated in Canada (that’s where I’m from) as a protest to government measures imposed on truckers. It goes without saying that the past two years have been a roller coaster but over the course of a few months the country has spiralled into a level of frenzy that has reached new heights. With mandates seeming to never end, goal-posts being constantly moved and thousands losing their livelihoods, a group of truckers finally said, ‘No more’. They rallied together and started a pilgrimage across Canada picking up supporters as they went. Their destination? Ottawa, of course; our capitol city. The trucker convoy was determined to make themselves heard, literally and figuratively.

Before this convoy of freedom materialized, I never could have imagined that a hero or mentor could take such an unexpected form. Truck drivers aren’t a group in society that people usually give much thought to unless you’re behind a particularly slow one on the highway. Despite the industry’s long hours, low wages, and tough conditions, truck drivers continue to provide their service and are an integral part of the economy. In fact, around 50% of all freight in America travels by truck. These workers affect our daily lives. The groceries you buy at the store travelled through a truck before they arrived on your doorstep. We rely on them every day---and yet their role remains largely overlooked. But, not anymore. Truck drivers across Canada are dawning a new role as advocates for freedom. They have quickly become a beacon of hope for the preservation of fundamental human rights.

Those participating in the trucker convoy have endured a grocery list of adversities and yet they have stood strong in their resolve. Their peaceful but effective method of protesting has become contagious with Freedom Convoys emerging in the Netherlands, France, Israel, New Zealand and countless other places. In a time when many citizens, including myself, feel as though the essence of their country has been lost, the trucker convoy has replenished hope. For those who have much more to lose from not complying to recent restrictive regulations imposed, the trucker convoy has become a voice for those of whom the sacrifice seems impossible. Briefly put, I am incredibly impressed with and inspired by what has been accomplished so far with such minimal means.

Photo by max lafontaine from Pexels

I have embraced these truckers and added them to my list of mentors. The trucker convoy has inspired me to defend my rights despite it being the more difficult of paths. At an age where I thought I had already formed all of my beliefs, it has transformed my perspective and showed me that with determination and creativity, we as activists can get our point across effectively and peacefully. I’ve learned to not simply focus on the aesthetics of a movement. What does that mean? Well, when I first heard about the trucker convoy I had the same reaction that a lot of people probably had and was reluctant to believe that a movement that had truckers at the forefront could be advocating for things that I believed in. It was hard for me to think that with us looking so different and living such divergent lives that we could ever possibly want the same things. That’s a thought trap that I believe a lot of people fall into in politics but I consider myself fortunate to have had this experience to help broaden my beliefs. In a time when citizens are divided, the Freedom Convoys is teaching us all that sometimes those that are different from us tend to not be that different if you make an effort to see our shared humanity.

Life is continuously teaching us. You never know when your next lesson or mentor will find you or what form they’ll take. Until then, I remain open, ready and excited for what life has to offer while I’m here.

Thanks for reading,

Luna

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Luna Quill

Chronically indecisive and covering a variety of topics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.