Humans logo

Found

A short story by Kate Lawson Gould

By Kate Lawson GouldPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photograph by Philip Gould

Normally he would have ignored her. He wasn’t mean, just very shy. But nothing about life was normal any more, not since covid. Besides, he couldn’t get to the front door without passing her, and even behind the mask he could tell that she was upset, really upset. She was slumped on the front steps of the building, staring into space yet somehow completely present. It was her eyes that caught his attention: they were deep, intense, as if witnessing a thousand internal images at once. Keeping a social distance, he asked her gently, “Are you alright?”

His voice startled her into the present. Surprised to have attracted anyone’s attention, she tried to say she was fine so he’d leave. Maybe it was the fact that he was the first person to speak to her in days, or maybe it just his compassionate face that opened the floodgates; but as she drew breath to speak, “I’m fine” became a torrent of unstoppable tears, her slight frame a tornado of frustration and anger. “I came here eight months ago. I had a job, an apartment, a life. My life. Then along comes a stupid virus to ruin everything. I lost my job and there’s nothing else! Believe me, I have tried everything. I had to sell my laptop, I can’t recharge my phone and I can barely eat. Even if I could swallow my pride, admit I was wrong and go home, I can’t get there. The borders are closed and I’m broke.”

Finally drawing breath, she noticed the compassion in his eyes and her fury melted into contrition, “Oh my God, I’m so sorry, I didn’t mean to dump all that on you. I’m fine, really. Thanks for asking.” Embarrassed, she tried to change the subject, “I’m sure you need to be somewhere.”

“Actually I do. Here. Apartment 5.”

“Did you say five? That’s my apartment.”

“Then you’re Vivien? I’m so relieved to finally find you.”

“Find me?” Vivien couldn’t imagine why he would be looking for her unless something was wrong. She was light-headed with worry. “Who are you? What do you want? Oh God, it’s not my Nanna is it? Or my parents? I should have found a way to call them!”

“No! No, not at all. It’s alright. I have something for you.” He pulled a small black book out of his pocket, “I think you lost this.”

Surprise flickered in the young woman’s eyes.

“How did you find it?” She sighed deeply, her eyes filled with deep regret.”My Nanna gave me the notebook. She’s given me a book like this every New Year’s day since I learned to write. I fill the book up with all the good stuff that happens through the year and return it to her on Christmas Day so she can read it. I didn’t really lose this one though, I sort of threw it away. It’s nearly Christmas and I’ve barely written in it. Since covid there hasn’t be anything good to write and I can’t send her an empty book. She’d be so disappointed. She believes in me and I’ve utterly failed her.”

“Would you mind if I asked you a question or two? I need to confirm something.”

“Confirm what? It’s my notebook. Why would I lie about that?”

“Oh I believe you. Just please, answer my questions.”

“Alright.”

“Is your full name Vivien Mary Green?”

“Yes.”

“And your previous address is 26 Breen Street, Albury?”

“Yes that’s right, why?”

“My name is Anthony Westward. I’m a lawyer, well an intern actually. I’ve been looking for you for a week.”

“Why? Am I in trouble? You haven’t come to kick me out have you? I didn’t think I could be evicted right now.”

“It’s nothing like that I promise. Please calm down.”

Struggling to reign in her anxious thoughts, Vivien wasn’t even sure she wanted to hear what he had to say, but he had kind eyes and somehow she trusted him.

“Do you remember leasing a car a few years ago?”

“Of course I remember. It took me five years to pay it off. Now I can’t use it and I can’t sell it.”

“Like I said, I’ve been trying to reach you. I called the number on the lease and your Mum didn’t have your new address, just the name of the avenue. She said you’d lost touch. So I came here and started asking around. The owner of the cafe down the street remembered a Vivien who used to be a regular. She gave me your notebook actually. She’d found it in the waste paper basket. I couldn’t believe it when I saw the address. Unbelievable luck.”

“So why are you looking for me?”

“Well, I represent the company that leased your car to you. They are in a bit of strife.”

“Now wait a minute. My car is fully paid for, believe me.”

“Oh I know it is. That’s why I’m here. They overcharged you.”

“What?”

“They overcharged everyone. Quite a lot actually, and now they are in big trouble. Several customers realised somehow and threatened to sue them. So to avoid a law suit, they’re returning all the interest.”Anthony handed Vivien a plain white envelope. “Well go on. Open it.”

Her hands shaking, Vivien opened the envelope. For a moment, she couldn’t quite grasp what she saw: ‘Pay Vivien Mary Green, the sum of twenty thousand dollars.’ Vivien gasped, her blue eyes widening.

“Oh, and I almost forgot. Your mum said they miss you very much, and she sent a message: ‘Be wise, be safe, you’re loved.’ I got the feeling they’d love to hear from you. You can call from my phone if you like.”

This time, Vivien’s tears were flowing with joy and hope. Even behind the mask, she could see that Anthony was smiling:

“I think you might have something to write in that little book now.”

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Kate Lawson Gould

I am a jack of all trades! A writer, composer, teacher, performer and most of all, Mum! I have been married to my wonderful husband for over 30 years and we have six fabulous kids. My goal is to inspire and uplift!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.