Humans logo

Fostering Smiles Under Masks

Always more under the surface

By Jeffrey A. Sapp Published 2 years ago 7 min read
1
Fostering Smiles Under Masks
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

So much to say with no way to say it

It's been a bit difficult to find something to write about, not for any reason more than I always feel I fall short somewhere. I always try too hard. Some may call it perfectionism, but I see it as a hope to provide the most value to the reader. I always ask the question, in my work and all aspects of my life, where can I hope to provide some degree of benefit? What do I have to do to help those around me? Iv'e dedicated my degree, as have so many of those around me, toward bettering the world. We want to create solutions for the problems in the world that became so quickly disregarded. Often overlooked are such simple things; Things we all take for granted in this wild, face-paced world we've created.

An article I published on Medium grew into something too academic in nature, with a bibliography and lengthy complex syntax. All it ended up saying is that we've become much more divided during this crisis and need to learn to communicate within our groups in a way that will promote inclusivity. This would seem especially in times of crisis. I think we all know this, or at least we think we know it. Perhaps we don't know how to go about it anymore. We are all in this together, so why do we remain so distant. I provided an argument that said that COVID further separated an already divided nation. Even within our close interpersonal groups, so many differences keep us from talking about real problems. Maybe it's just me. But what is it really? Iv'e has been doing more thinking, and strangely, it didn't require vast complex ideas to understand. The answer has been right in front of us and so simple.

After digging through statistics and various articles about the nature of our crisis, it all comes around to the same thing in the end. So here, im going to propose something simple. First, im going to tell a little story about why I started writing that article and ultimately began this one.

Priceless Smile

Were going on three years now since our global crisis. I don't really need to pull any more statistics or remind everyone about our situation. That isn't going to make anything better. It may even make things worse. But in a world where we are driven to begin resenting each other based on isolating an illness, we left behind some crucial things; we left some things behind a long time ago, something I didn't realize I have been taking for granted, and I feel others may feel this way as well.

Several weeks ago, still under our mask mandate, I realized that many of the people Iv'e worked with for several months now, Iv'e only ever seen half of their face. While the eyes themselves can speak, the face is one of our most beautiful features to illuminate human conversation. Some made jokes about us being 'half face' people,' and in those witty remarks, we all, of course, feel much better. We can at least sense the smile in those moments, but nothing matches the glow of a human smile, especially in rough situations.

When I walked into the back kitchen area of my work, I took off my sweaty mask for a moment to breathe the unfiltered air. While sitting in the kitchen, I opened a soda and sat quietly. While on my break, a girl I had never met before walked back to do the same thing. We hadn't exchanged many words, but she had also removed her mask. What hit me wasn't the short conversation we had but her perfect smile. It ignited the room with its beauty. It was simple and authentic. There was no way to guess what it would have looked like. At that moment, nothing was wrong.

While I know those moments can't last forever, why dont we want more of them. I know the world isn't all smiles, and at certain times we need to cry or yell or just be alone. But why can't we just make each other smile more? (or at least try). It wasn't that the smile made me feel this way that I felt it necessary to write this. Instead, it's that fact I had longed for the smile. Being so deprived of such genuinely caused such a resurgence of feelings that almost brought a tear to my eye.

Where have we gone?

From that moment forward and for days since I realized some things. Was it the smile that sparked it? Perhaps but like I said above, I have been putting a lot of pressure to find some perfect solution. I hoped to use my intellect to find some magic bullet or promote some "we all need a friend" or "can't we all get along" speech. While these things are true, the smile showed me how only the simplest things could make us feel good. Even before the pandemic, we were struggling for connection. All the technology supposed to give us that connection drew us into its grasp and away from each other.

Had we tried too hard to find connection? Was it really necessary to create such complex technology when the simplest of life's pleasures bring us the greatest joys? What then should we aim to accomplish in the future since wishing and willing away the inevitable destinies that have been delivered to us, by whatever powers at be one chooses to believe, will never change our situation. All we can do is hope to make the world a better place as we move forward.

Taken for granted

I was taking too many things for granted. The pressures of the world become massive and begin pulling us toward them. We are drawn toward things that promise to make us feel better or promise efficiency or promise some degree of comfort. Why then had all those things failed? I think many of us are asking these questions between the generations. Let us not separate even at generational domain. As a nation, as a species, we realize necessary truths when we need to.

In my last article, I talked about how isolation was likely to have caused, or at least pushed us closer to (in combination with other factors) the mass hysteria as well as the demonstrations. The same things happened with the masks. I had realized how much we could have missed the human face, especially when its reaction is meant for you. In an instant, the longing was fulfilled.

What can we really do?

What can we do? I feel most are asking this question. I know I can reach out within my community, even if it's only one person, and promote a compassionate, loving conversation. There was a point where I grew distant, focused intently on my work which inevitably is never done. It only takes but a minute to ask others what they may be going through, and more often than not, they open up. Maybe all someone needs is a pleasant greeting coupled with a bright smile. There is no need to direct someone to some fancy app (not to sound old!) or some psychotherapist. While these things have their time and place in how they function, are we really too busy to foster love in the simplest of ways? I ask myself time and time again why love has been made so exclusive. There are specific characteristics individuals strive for endlessly, never reaching the other person's standards. And this goes both ways. We cannot customize each other like a video game character, and we can't swipe right or left forever. There comes the point where we need to understand how to build strong communities to thrive more than economically.

Each day I try and spark up a conversation. As strange as it may sound, that discomfort is that longing I mentioned being dissolved. Sometimes the conversations don't work out. Sometimes they consist of tripping over our words or perhaps strange remarks met with an awkward silence. That's ok too. In my community, it's not hard to see who is looking for a connection. There's no pressure, no judgment, and no resentment toward those who may not fulfill my expectations. The slow immersion from isolation is matched with certain barriers passed through, taking small steps forward.

In my community, I want to make more people smile so maybe they feel what I felt and extend the sentiment toward others. What we need is less of the writing im used to where I aim to find the truth and the truth often is unmotivating and harsh. There is a time and place for that. Let's try and make each other smile first. Only the simple things really matter in the end.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey A. Sapp

There are various genres that include short fiction, poetry, and philosophy, that I enjoy writing about. There are some controversial as well as moving topics I hope to invite you to explore.

[email protected]

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 10 months ago

    What a fantastic read I really enjoyed this and I am inspired by it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.