Humans logo

Fostering Community

My dream for 2022

By Tonya NewmanPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
10
Our backyard rink

I have a dream. A dream where my home is known as a safe space for all. A place where people can be themselves and put their worries aside for a moment or two. A dream where my dinning room table will see and hear more stories, meltdowns, tears, laughter, meals, and love than could ever be repeated. This year to foster community in my home I am going to make it a point to open my home up to whomever needs a friend.

I want my children and their friends to know they always have somewhere they are loved and fed, someone they can talk to when they are hurt or scared. I want my coworkers and family to know my door is always open and the kettle is always ready to make fresh tea or coffee. I want my group of babysitters and other moms to know that there is a place free from judgement. Somewhere that is fun and always has something to do or an ear to listen. A place where friends are made. Somewhere that you can freely vent without worry. A place where all are always welcomed. A place where personal growth is encouraged.

However, a dream is just a dream until we put actions to make it reality. So to start the year off right I created a skating rink in my backyard and sent messages out to let everyone know that they are welcomed and encouraged to use it whenever they’d like. My plan is to continue these types of activities throughout the coming seasons. To have projects that help nurture the type of environment I want my home to become. For now we have the rink, in the spring I plan on creating a garden with a fire pit seating area and a play corner for the kids. I hope that as time goes on and I continue to reach out and invite others to join us that we can build a community in the neighbourhood that attracts people who feel alone and need friends.

I know first hand how difficult it can be to find a community where you fit in. I want to help it be a little less difficult for others! I have moved quite a few times in n the last decade, I moved to different provinces and different cities. Along with my two children, one with autism. I know all too well the obstacles life can throw at us, the struggles of navigating the twists and turns along the way, and how sometimes all you need is a friend. Someone who will listen and try to understand and help. I want to be that for others. I want to teach my kids that kind of hospitality. Especially after all the hardship of the last two years with a global pandemic.

The last town we lived in before where we are now we had an amazing neighbourhood. The community was like nothing I’ve experienced in a long time, and that is really what lit the spark in me to start the same kind of community at our new home. All the kids from our neighbourhood and kids from other neighbourhoods would band together and go on adventures, all the parents would chat and text and hangout together, and it was a tribe of people who cared and looked out for one another! That’s what I want to create here! That is my dream.

Thank you for reading! If you would like more content from me please heart and subscribe.

Cheers 🥂

https://vocal.media/authors/tonya-newman

humanity
10

About the Creator

Tonya Newman

Just an island girl who loves adventure. Trying to live my best life in this messed up, beautiful world. And writing along the way...

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Enjoyed this article. Subscribed. Love fostering a community❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.