Humans logo

Forever and to Eternity

When love finds you in the most unexpected places.

By Stefanie AustenPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
5

1952 (Korean War)

Anita closed the little black notebook as tears spilled from her eyes. She couldn't look at it any longer it was far too painful. She knew it was something she would have to keep locked away and possibly take to her grave. She took an old hat box that belonged to her mother and buried the notebook under a pile of lace doilies. He was gone forever.

2012 (Present-day New York)

Willa sat in silence staring off into the distance of her grandmother's bedroom. She had moved in with her grandmother six months ago when her health began to decline. It had been a privilege to look after her and the empty void she left in Willa's life was deep. It had been weeks before she had been able to even walk into her bedroom let alone go through her things.

Willa stood and took down the hatbox that had been hidden in the very back of her grandmother's closet. Judging by the fading and darkened edges it had been there for years. Willa sat on the bed and blew off the layer of dust that had accumulated on the top. She carefully opened it only to see old yellowed doilies. She was just about to throw it away when she noticed something. She gingerly moved aside the doilies and saw a small black diary-sized notebook nestled inside. Willa's brows furrowed she had never seen this before. She quickly opened it.

Dearest Benjamin

This is the most precious gift I have received. It seems only fitting that my first entry is about you. I should have known the first time I saw you it would be trouble. Let this journal be our portal to happiness. I will give this to you secretly on Sunday. Write in it and then leave it in the second pew from the back next Sunday and I'll pick it up. I'll leave it in the same spot for you next week. This way we can communicate what is truly in our hearts.

All my love,

Anita Bennett

Willa sat in shock this was a diary filled with entries of love letters from her grandmother and a man who was defiantly not her grandfather. She had no idea who Benjamin was. Willa flipped through the diary and read another entry closer to the end of the book.

Darling Anita

It pains me to write this to you because I know the hurt you will feel reading these words. Even now as I write them my heart breaks. I've signed up to fight in the war. It is my duty and I have to go. I will be leaving in a week. My love for you will never end and I will be home soon in your arms and make you my wife. I love you Anita always and to eternity.

Love

Benjamin Clayton

Willa closed the notebook. Who was Benjamin Clayton? Suddenly a letter addressed to her fell out of the notebook. Willa opened it in curious haste.

Dearest Willa,

If you are reading this then I have passed on. Don't mourn for me too long sweetheart I lived a good and long life. I know that when I'm gone you will be tasked with clearing things out of my room. Please find the red tin box at the back of my closet, in this box is $20,000 I saved this for you especially. I want you to take a trip, have some fun meet a nice boy. You've spent your time in university working so hard and then taking care of me. Enjoy life my darling, fall in love, spend this money and no regrets.

Yours lovingly,

Nana.

Willa could feel tears brimming. She found the red tin and the money and immediately knew what she was going to do. She was going to find Mr. Benjamin Clayton! Once and for all she would solve the mystery of this mysterious man.

_______________________

"Willa, I could lose my job for this!" Said Mark

"I know and I wouldn't ask if it wasn't important. Please, help me find Benjamin Clayton and I will cook for you for a week." Willa knew the way to Mark's heart was through his stomach and he sure did love her casseroles.

Mark rolled his eyes and nodded. Willa squealed and hugged him. Mark promised he would call her when and if he found anything.

It was a few hours later when Mark called with an address for a Mr. Benjamin Clayton in Orange County California. Willa thanked him and immediately booked herself a trip.

The plane ride was smooth and the hotel was adequate. She had planned to wait until the next day to track him down but just couldn't stand the wait any longer. She grabbed the address Mark had written for her and headed out.

Willa was getting nervous. What was she going to say? 'Hi, I think I have a diary written by your family member,' no matter how she worded it in her mind she knew it would be welcomed with a slamming of the door.

Willa looked up as the cab stopped in front of a huge house. It was clear the Clayton family was doing well. 'Oh great! They're going to think I'm trying to get money out of them Willa thought as she paid the cabbie and headed for the house.

She didn't know what to expect, in fact, she really wasn't expecting anything particular but what she certainly wasn't expecting was a handsome man to open the door. A tall 6'2 man with dirty blonde hair and bright blue eyes, he had a chiselled jaw and cheekbones that would have made a Greek god jealous.'If Benjamin looked anything like this way to go nana' she thought.

"Hello?" Carter stood staring at this woman that had appeared out of nowhere on his doorstep. She was holding a little black notebook and had been staring at him since he opened the door. He wasn't too upset as she was very pretty but he wondered where she had come from. She was short at around 5'3 and had long light brown hair and the greenest eyes he had ever seen. She was unassumingly pretty almost like she didn't even know it.

"I'm so sorry, I'm Willa Jackson, I believe my grandmother knew someone in your family a Benjamin Clayton?"

"Ben Clayton is my grandfather." Said Carter puzzled.

"Oh really? umm, would it be too weird to come inside I have something to show you."

Carter nodded and moved aside to let her in.

Willa produced the notebook and watched as Carter read through it until the last entry.

Dearest Benjamin

Calling this the worst day of my life is an understatement. I find myself wandering around the streets ending up at the train station unable to believe this happened at all. Word came three days ago that you and your platoon were lost and presumed dead. There was an explosion of some kind, I don't even know I stopped listening, I just couldn't bear it. I fear I will never see you again. The promise we made to each other to be married seems like a lifetime ago now. I will keep this journal forever as a reminder of what true love is. Until we meet again in eternity my love.

Love yours always

Anita

Carter couldn't believe what he was reading. This woman was engaged to his grandfather before his grandmother and he never spoke of her.

"Your grandmother thought he was dead all this time?" Carter said quietly

"When I asked about Benjamin Clayton you said your grandfather IS Benjamin Clayton not WAS so does that mean he's still alive?" Willa sounded hopeful

"He is alive but it's not what you think. He's been sick for quite a long time with an advanced stage of dementia. He doesn't talk and doesn't remember even me." Carter looked down a wave of sadness crossed his face.

"Oh I see, would it be too much to ask to see him?"

Carter nodded and told her to meet him here tomorrow and he would bring her to him at the nursing home.

______________________

Willa walked into the room of Mr. Benjamin Clayton, her heart was beating fast she didn't know why she was so nervous.

"Mr. Clayton. My name is Willa and my...." Before she could finish her sentence Mr. Clayton turned his head slowly eyes lighting up as he struggled to mutter a word.

"An...Anita" he finally said barely above a whisper.

She sat down and took his hand. He must think she was her grandmother. She was smiling as she pulled out the notebook hoping it would invoke a memory.

Seeing the notebook Benjamin began to struggle to speak, he gargled words and almost began to try to sit up. Carter helped him sit upright as he reached for the notebook. Willa watched as his old wrinkled hands moved slowly and purposefully over the cover. Carter and Willa watched as Benjamin seemed to be caught up in another world perhaps one where he was young again and able to hold his beloved Anita.

"All this time" whispered Willa, "my grandmother lived all this time thinking he had died."

"I know it's really sad, love must be a strong thing, to think they've come full circle now." Carter sat back and smiled.

"My parents will find this intriguing for sure," said Carter

"Mine too," said Willa. "they live in Boston, my father is a professor there. I lived and took care of my grandmother until she died a few months ago." Willa felt the sadness of her loss fill her again.

"My parents live in New York, my mother is a producer there for broadway plays. I never liked the cold so I stayed here with my grandfather until a year ago when he was transferred to this home."

"I live in New York." Said Willa smiling.

"Well then maybe it's not so bad after all." Carter winked causing Willa to blush.

Willa gingerly took the notebook from Benjamin and settled into reading all the entries cover to cover. When she got to the last entry Benjamin moaned.

He laid back and turned his head towards the door. "Anita" he whispered then as if a blanket of peace settled over him, he was gone.

Carter jumped up from his chair "grandad? Oh no please grandad." He was bent over his grandfather in tears.

Willa knew that familiar look of a body whose spirit had left the living world and how it felt to lose someone so precious. She got up quietly and closed the door behind her.

_____________________

Three weeks later

"I'm glad you're here Willa, I'm sorry you had to stay for so long" Carter was sifting through his grandfather's belongings.

"You never need to be sorry for needing some help. To be honest, these last few weeks have been amazing. I enjoyed spending time with you and getting to know Clayton's family history. It felt like in sharing our grief together I've been able to heal."

Carter stood up and enveloped Willa in a hug.

"I feel the same Willa, having you here these few weeks has been like a breath of fresh air for me." He turned and grabbed a small black box from the side table. "I found this in a box at the back of his closet" Carter showed her the small black box.

Willa smiled. Carter opened it gingerly, inside was a small gold ring with a small emerald square stone. The engraving read: Anita forever and to eternity.

Carter smiled as he placed the ring on Willa's finger. "Forever and to eternity" He whispered in her ear.

____________________________

Willa closed the little black notebook and smiled. She had written a final entry:

Dearest Nanna Anita and Gradad Benjamin

And so the story ends with love found, where two were not meant to be they didn't realize how much they were tied together and now that love is alive again. We miss you both and until we meet again.

Love, forever and to eternity,

Carter and Willa Clayton

love
5

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.