Humans logo

Flying High

above the clouds

By Angela Kay DollarPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Flying High
Photo by Ross Parmly on Unsplash

With all the rushing and packing it seemed unreal that she was seated ready for take-off on her first flight. Fear had not set in it had not time to crowd among all the rest but a sense of excitement leaving her home country, all that she had ever known. What would it be like on the other side of the ocean? Questions swirled in her thoughts as the plane begin to rumble. It seemed it was trying so hard to get off the ground although tethered by gravity. “Man are we going to make it,” she thought. The plane rumbled on and even harder than just as fear would have crept in the pain lifted and begin a sharp assent into the clouds. She could almost hear the plain laugh at gravity so you thought you had me haha.

Just then that quite familiar voice spoke “You are just like that sometimes” She had been speaking to the love of her life from the moment she entered the metal bird. “What do you mean?” she asked. “There are so many times I want to take you soring on heights you cannot even imagine but you hold to the familiar and safe and if you would just let go like the plain and let the holy spirit lift you, wow the view! Just look out the window at the beauty I have created for you!” He whispered into her very heart “You don’t need to be afraid. Remember I love you I would die for you if I had not already died”. “I know Lord” she softly said. Who would have known that little girl sitting on the back steps at age eight with a hand full of pills would be here today she thought. “I knew the plans I had for you plans to prosper you. I have always wanted the very best for you even when you gave place to those who tried to destroy you, I stayed right by your side”. “Yes, Father I know”. She had to admit there had been many times so thankful for his mercy and patients. Now at the age of 57 life is still full of joy and adventure. Although there had been those times when she chose her own way and they always seemed to end in disaster. Just then the pain begins to descend like a rollercoaster will dip down and to the side then up and down again the plain found its way through the turbulent air currents. The Father whispered again “No matter life’s ups and downs the turbulence will come, remember I am always with you. I will never leave or forsake you. You just need to follow me and let nothing turn you to the left or right. On the day the body shakes and tries to hold on to the spirit remember just let go to soar into heaven where we will live together forever.” His voice drove fear away “What adventure that will be I can hardly wait” she said smiling. “Child, I love you”. “Father I love you too thanks for riding. Then a split second the reality of what was going on registered. There had been an explosion! Half the plane was gone and her leg along with it now her body convulsed with pain as she felt the rapid descent of the plane. Still fear was not present and she remembered the words of the Father. She imagined her spirit soaring among the clouds and the wind rushing through her. It happened she just let go and soared home!

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Angela Kay Dollar

My college experience started as a journey to teach. Along the way, I developed a love for writing. I find the challenges intriguing and look forward to meeting them. So, pen to paper here we go!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.