Humans logo

Floating to Freedom

Running To and From

By Alexis MoutinhoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Am I running away or am I running to something? I guess it’s both.

When the weight if the world pushes down on my shoulders, I sink to the ground. I lace my sneakers. I need to go, to escape the world. I fling my front door open and go.

One foot slams down on the pavement. The world shakes. Its’ weight has been thrown off. Finally, a moment it’s not pushing on me. My other shoot hits the pavement. The world doesn’t understand what’s happening. It starts to back off. As my feet take turns touching down, the world releases me.

Finally, the weight is lifted. I am free. The freedom allows me to run faster, to gallop with ease. The birds sing words of praise to me as I zoom past them. The branches shimmy and whisper, telling me to keep going.

As I move further from my home, I’m more and more powerful. My heart jumps around in my chest, so excited to finally be able to dance. My lungs grow wider, so relieved to take in new air. My body celebrates as little drips start to run down my forehead.

A creek lies ahead. I’m not running anymore, I’m floating. I float to the creek. It bubbles and slushes quietly. It’s the local meeting place for all the neighborhood frogs, birds, and dragonflies. I watch them as they converse. They buzz about nothing, they ribbet their woes away. They live so simply, no worries or cares. Just another day at the local watering hole.

My newly dancing heart and wider lungs make me feel at one with the town creatures. And in that time, I am one with them. The world is finally still.

I ran away from all my problems and in doing so, they dissolved. They are no longer big and scary, but tiny little critters who just need some guidance. I can handle that. I can do it. I can do anything.

As I ran away, I ran to a state of equilibrium. Everything is simple now. Everything is small. By running away, I ran right into the embrace of serenity.

Time to go back.

“Goodbye,” I say as I wave to the tiny creatures socializing in the creek.

One foot hits the pavement. My heart leaps afain. And then the other. My feet chase after each other as I go further and further, closer and closer to home. I am flying. I am weightless. I am...happy.

I turn down my street, the familiar mailboxes going by in a blur of blues and reds. I see it there. My front door. Just beyond that door, the weight of the world waits for me to return. I take a deep breath. I have no where else to go. Not until 4:00.

My feet keep going, the lead me up the three front steps. They pause. The door opens before them. They tip toe onto the hardwood.

But...where is the weight of the world? He is no where to be seen.

I slip off my old sneakers and stand up with ease. When not long ago, I couldn’t stand or breathe in this same space.

I go around the house looking for the weight of the world. I see a sink full of dishes, unfinished work, an unmade bed, toys all over the floor. These were his favorite places to glare at me. But he’s no where to be seen.

And then I remember what happened. He chased me down to the creek. I was too fast for him. He couldn’t touch me. When I stopped at the creek, he did, too. He stopped and he sat and he took a look at the simple creatures living their simple lives. He slowly melted right there. He became a pile next to my running shoes. And all they had to do was step over him and go back.

And so they did. Lighter than air, happy, and free. He finally let me be.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.