Humans logo

First Date

Dating in your 20's in the 20's

By Marlena AnnaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2

Today was better. It wasn’t great. It wasn’t terrible. I guess it’s subjective, but in comparison to the other days this last month, today was better. I didn’t cry at the red lights, my hands didn’t shake in line at the coffee shop we used to stop at before work, and I only checked his Instagram activity once every two hours. I know because I counted the time.

These days I’ve just been trying to make time pass as fast as possible. The less time I’m awake, the better. If I zoom through the next few weeks, months, hell, maybe even years, then eventually I’ll be healed. Because that’s what they say right? That time heals all wounds. So, I wake up at the last possible second, go to work, come home, and go immediately to bed before I do it all over again the next day.

I had just gotten home when she texted. I set my keys on my counter, heaved a heavy sigh, kicked of my boots, and plopped myself into bed. It was then that my phone buzzed. My best friend Maddy had texted me. Lately, she had been trying to get me out of my house on weekdays. It was brutal enough to have to sit at boozy brunches on Saturdays with a fake smile plastered on my face, fake laughing at whatever distraction my friends had brought as a form of entertainment that morning. I didn’t need to fill my weekdays with fake ploys of happiness. And honestly, I wish it was just some bribe to get me to go to happy hour this Wednesday. In fact, I would trade anything in this unforgiving world to change the words on the screen in front of me.

“Lori, I’m so sorry. But I feel like I need to tell you. Jake is at that new restaurant on 4th and Westerly... he’s with some girl. I did a little eavesdropping and it sounds like it’s a first date. I just wanted to let you know before you found out on your own.”

It had only been 3 weeks and he was already dating again? How could Jake move on so fast? How could he sweep our long 2 years and 3 months under the carpet that fast? How could he stand to look at someone else and imagine the future we had planned together… with… them?

I rolled out of bed, dragging my feet along my grey carpet to my kitchen. These days I had to stay consistently stocked in wine. It helped numb the emotion and make the time pass just a little bit faster. I grabbed the Merlot off my wine rack, unscrewed the top, and took a swig. Today I would be needing more than a glass. Today I would be needing the bottle.

As I sat down on the edge of my bed, bottle of wine in hand, tear stained cheeks and puffy eyes, I thought back to my first date with Jake.

He had asked me out in line at Johnny’s Java downtown. I had just started working my new “big girl” job at the magazine. Johnny’s was right across the street from my new office. I noticed Jake’s gaze for a few days but was always paranoid I had forgotten to tuck my shirt in all the way or had a rip in the back of my pants. Turns out he was just falling for me with each shy coffee order I made. It was a Thursday morning when he began to approach me just as I was leaving with my skinny vanilla latte in tow.

“Hi, I’m Jake. I see you here every morning… guess we have the same morning routine,” he charmingly laughed as he shoved a hand in his black jean pocket. I looked down at his combat boots. Then outside at his motorcycle. Something in my gut told me he was trouble. “Anyway, I was wondering if you’d like to go for a walk on the beach for sunset? Get a drink? Or we can just carpool to coffee tomorrow? Perhaps all three?”

I blinked in disbelief.

“Lori, right? I hear them call your name every morning. Well Lori, no can’t be your answer. I’ll keep asking until you say yes,” he handed his phone to me with the new contact page pulled up. He had already entered my name. “Lori the cute coffee blonde”

That’s how I ended falling in love with Jake on a Thursday. The waves were calm that night. The sun was descending into the horizon as purples, pinks, and oranges painted the 8 pm sky. He had brought a bottle of Merlot and I was two glasses deep, feeling warm inside.

“Lori, I think you’re going to break my heart,” he grabbed my hand as we walked along the coastline. “And I wouldn’t want it any other way. I’m just grateful that you get to even make way into my heart in the first place.”

I looked down at my now half empty bottle of wine. The merlot didn’t warm my body the way it did that night almost 3 years ago in June. This time it made my heart ache and my head spin.

I wished that he was right. That I would have broken his heart. But instead, he ripped mine out. He buried a hole so deep into my soul that when he walked away from me, I was irreparable. I became the shell of a person I used to be, incomplete and torn. I was collateral to cupid’s ploys. We were just a short time of entertainment in the world of love and other despicable acts. I hope his new date would lead the same fate. Afterall, misery always love company.

love
2

About the Creator

Marlena Anna

I am a 24 year old hopeless romantic that enjoys writing. Whether it be expressing emotion through songs or poetry, I enjoy the power of words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.