Humans logo

First Bass

Dancers in the Dark

By Naia LouisePublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1
Ride the Wave thats Riding you

"That was a long flight" Viola said with a sigh as we arrived at our downtown hotel room in Reykjavik. I had already been here a few days and had slept the jetlag off. I sympathized with her by suggesting she take a cat nap while I gathered some things for our stay. Wine and snacks to start with.

"Blue, you're the best" she smiled as we entered our room to find a luxurious open concept room with a huge king sized bed and sexy stone and marble bathroom with glass doors. "Fancy" I remarked with a giggle as we laid our bags on the floor and she collapsed on the bed. "I'll give you an hour while i shop for a few things for us before we head out on the town. She agreed with a nod of her head as she rolled over on the bed almost out already.

We'd come to Reykjavik for a weekend to enjoy the night life and take in the music and dance scene. She was staying on for the New Years celebrations but I would be flying out to New York to ring in the new year. I'd spent time in Reykjavik when i dated an Icelander some years back and knew some of the local haunts that could satisfy our desire to get down, let loose and explore what the local music scene had to offer. I reminisced as i closed the door behind me and stepped out onto the street that was already bustling at 10pm. Reykjavik was known for its late night scene, the bars not closing until 5am. The Icelanders knew how to party.

When i came back up to our room, Viola was already in the shower humming. I saw her naked body through the glass doors enjoying the rain shower and called out to her to let her know i'd returned. "This shower is amazing!!" she called back humming her tune. I popped the prosecco and opened the cheese and crackers i had picked up and took a long luxurious sip. What would tonight bring? It was always 'all in' here and I knew Viola was ready to play.

She walked out of the shower towelling her hair and walked over nude to the table i had laid out with all the snacks. She picked up the glass i had poured for her and we chinked .. To Reykjavik!!

"Wouldn't it be amazing if we saw Bjork while here" she said with a laugh. She does live here as far as I last heard" I shared. "We could invite her for a drink" she said excitedly. "I have been told it's taboo to gush over celebrities here, but let's see what happens. Who knows if she is even in the country" i offered. "Ya that would be wild" she said.

An hour later, we left the room ready to see what the night would bring. We wore warm jackets to brace the wind and snow waiting for us as we left the building. As we stepped out of the hotel, I looked to my right and saw a woman in a huge white jacket that looked like a walking iceberg. Her shoes were also huge white snow shoes from what seemed like another planet. I then looked up at her face and saw that it was, to my shock, Bjork herself. I nudged Viola and said "Your powers of manifestation are off the charts"! Bjork just walked by us. "What?" she almost yelled as i pointed to the woman in white walking down the street. She pulled me around and we started walking in her wake as Viola tried to come up with every possible thing we could say to her to get her to take up our invitation for a drink. "She's notoriously private" I offered, as i tried to reason with Viola. We eventually caught up to her and Viola asked, from behind, if we could invite her for a drink. Bjork turned around and in her strong Icelandic accent thanked us for our invite and said she was already late for something. Her eyes sparkled petulantly towards us. I was awed. We talked to Bjork.

We giggled our nerves away as we walked back the other way the to the first place I wanted to show her, Paloma. This underground club had the best bass in the city and the only real dancefloor. Reykjavik didn't have clubs, per say, rather they had coffee shops by day that transformed into clubs by night. This meant there wasn't often a real dancefloor. And we wanted to dance.

We got in the line joining in with the boisterous and already well imbibed crowd. There were lots of smiles and laughter. "Wow everyone's already pretty loaded" she remarked. "Ya, Iceland is notorious for its Scandinavian style of drinking, no messing around" I laughed as someone bumped into me with their huge faux fur jacket and i tumbled into the person in front of me, who didn't even seem to notice. Viola and I giggled amidst the snowflakes, laughter and general sense of sparkle.

Once on the dancefloor, the bass took over and the dark room filled with moving bodies, swelling like a wave filled the power of lifeforce ready to crash into all of us. The vocals merged with the bass and created heat rushes in my body, moving my hips beyond my control. The feel of the beats on my skin and the other bodies so close together on the small dance floor, sent charges of electricity through my body and created an etheric timelessness that i imagined stars experience when they collide.

"That was amazing" Viola gushed as we took our jackets and headed for the door. We had danced the last hour to an amazing dj, weaving in and out of the crowd with the beats, finding our way through the sounds while getting down with other playful dancers. I was pulled into a dance with a tall handsome Scandinavian who moved his hips towards mine, creating ripples of pleasure through my body and leaving me breathless.. We latched onto a beat and starting moving as one, interlacing our legs and feeling the fire of our connection. His breath moved over my neck and hair creating rivers of heat in my pussy. The chaotic movement of so many dancers in such a small space made me feel we were dancing as one body. When the track ended we smiled at each as we unlaced ourselves and i weaved back towards Viola.

Viola and I huddled close together as we faced into the wind at 1 am and headed to my favorite spot, Kaffibarinn, one of the oldest coffee houses in the city that was also one of the best clubs on weekends. It didn't have a dancefloor and the line up was always huge, but they played the best house music in the city and had the best vibe. When we finally got in after huddling with the rest of the lively line up we dropped our jackets in the corner and hit the floor. It was hitting the peak of the night and the whole house was jumping. This old wooden coffee house was shaking with all the people in it and everyone was fully letting go. It was populated with tall blondes and rugged bearded men writhing and pounding the floor and weaving into each other in full abandon.

Viola weaved between the crowd to me and said with a huge grin "Look at that guy in the corner, he's such an amazing dancer. Bring him over here". I looked over and saw a young redhead tearing up the dancefloor. I walked through the crowd over to him and joined in on his wild dance moves. He looked up from his abandon and smiled wide as we locked into a beat and let the music take us. As the track ended I yelled above the chaos to invite him over. He smiled and took my hand as we weaved through the crowd. Viola smiled at him as the next track, a house hit at the time, started and the whole crowd yelled and gyrated in unison. It felt like the whole house was shaking as we fell into rhythm with the track and sang out the chorus with everyone.

As the track ended I stepped aside for a moment to take a sip of my beer and bumped into what looked like a member of the Game of Thrones crew. He was a tall and rugged man, topless, with a tattoo across his collarbone that said, At the End Only Love Wins. He was scribbling madly into a little leather bound book. He looked up at me and smiled through his beard and then went straight back into his book. Suddenly, he looked up from his book, left it on the counter and turned towards me with a grin. I pulled him onto the dancefloor to where Viola and the young redhead were shaking to the beats and we all danced together, circling the crowds and laughing as the beats moved their way through our spines.

At 5am, the friendly bouncers became less friendly and started asking the very inebriated crowd, including ourselves, to leave. There was a slow and bumpy grab for bags and jackets as the bouncers got more and more loud with their request. We stumbled into the snow and wind in our posse of 4 and decided to walk for a while to work off the energy of the club. We huddled close as the winds howled and the snow flew into our faces. We ended up in the nearby central park and found a bench hidden from the wind to collect ourselves. Our rugged Scandinavian introduced himself as Viktor and the young redhead as Jonas. We enjoyed chatting and huddling and then, suddenly, Viktor said he had to go. He had to drive to Selfoss 40 minutes away and with bear hugs, he walked away in his huge woolen cloak.

Jonas, Viola and I walked into the late night. I was getting tired by 6am and so we decided to head back to the room. Jonas said he had to wait for another hour before he could get back to his place which was also 20 minutes out. We decided to invite him back to the space. There was still some prosecco and we were all still feeling the high of the night.

When we stumbled back into the apartment and threw our jackets off on the sofa, I poured us some glasses and we jumped on the huge kingsize bed to laugh about the night and all that had transpired. Jonas was young but had such appeal we both felt comfortable with him. Viola put on some music and we lounged for a while. It was undeniable that Jonas was attractive and as we finished our glasses, he asked where the bathroom was. "It's behind that glass door" , I answered with a smile. He laughed and went towards it.

While he was in the bathroom, I looked over at Viola who was looking coy and grinning at me. "Should we invite him to play?" I asked. "I was hoping you'd say that" she giggled. When Jonas rejoined us we slowly circled him and asked him if he was interested in joining us in some play. He looked so confident in his young years that it took us both by surprise. "I'd love to" he said and sat back on the pillows looking coy.

"I think we should start with a shower" Viola volunteered.

travel
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.