Humans logo

Finding love after mental abuse

Surviving bad relationships.

By Jade AldridgePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

Mental abuse is not usually recognised by the person being abused, a few years ago i spent a year in a mentally abusive relationship and it ruined me bit by bit.

Not many people can spot an abusive relationship and i know for a fact that i didn't, i constantly thought it would get better and that i deserved what i got, but that was not the case.

My partner would return from work to see a boy walking down the street and immediately accuse me of sleeping with someone while he was working.

Mentally abusive people can do so much to a person. A few months into the relationship my partner fell out with my family that he had never even met, this resulted in him isolating me from my family, refusing to let any of my family into the house and not letting me call anyone but him for 12 hours a day. keeping in mind i am a single full time parent and i was not allowed to hang up my phone without accusations.

There are so many signs that you have entered a mentally abusive relationship like;

- Being isolated from friends and family.

- Insulted and put down by your partner.

- Told what to do and not to do.

- They don't trust you.

Leaving an abusive relationship can be impossible in many circumstances for example any time i tried to leave my ex he would blackmail me so i was unable to leave or maybe they threaten to hit you ext.

All i have to say is even after the relationship when you are building yourself back up from the bottom there is hope.

I met my new partner 2 months after my break up, i was a mess with no confidence and had spent a year being body shamed and dragged down despite the fact i looked like a skeleton and only ate once a day.

The first date with my new partner i decided i was just going to be upfront and show him what he was getting from the start, so i went to the date in my pajamas and no make up.

Whether you believe in love at first sight or not this was the day i started to believe it. My partner was not my usual type in any way and is not the kind of guy i usually would go for but i gave it a shot and i am happy i did.

So the first date he brought me ice cream and flowers and by the end of the first date i already had all my cards on the table. He knew everything i went through and how damaged i was, but he stayed anyway. The past year he has done nothing but build my confidence and be by my side through everything.

So after a year with the devil i found my best friend.

So don't be scared to trust because one person broke you, the next you meet may just help you fix yourself!

love
1

About the Creator

Jade Aldridge

i am a 24 year old mum and step mum to 3. i have a pull to writing, but i am still learning. My hope is to eventually have some kind of income from my writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.