Humans logo

Finding Beauty in a Disaster

An impromptu first date story.

By Michelle PattisonPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
Finding Beauty in a Disaster
Photo by Dan-Cristian Pădureț on Unsplash

Refreshing my newsfeed once again, I started scrolling through the same Instagram posts I had just looked through a minute earlier. Then my phone finally vibrates. I quickly open the new message from Cindy, “I’m so sorry Kay, I can’t make it tonight. Don’t miss the fun on my account, I expect a full report later! XO”

I lock my phone and press my forehead against the steering wheel. She was really ditching me to do this by myself?

Taking a deep breath, I look at the clock on the dash, I’m already five minutes late. I paid good money for this ticket, may as well not let it go to waste. Gathering my keys and purse I wrestle them out of the Civic with me. Making my way through the parking lot to the front of Pinot's Restaurant I stop before I get to the door. Unlocking my phone, I pull up my text conversation with Cindy again, “I can’t believe you’re making me do this alone. You owe me!!!!” I hit the Send button and then return my attention to the restaurant. Peering through the glass doors I can see easels and canvases set up where tables and chairs should have been. I could count about ten guests inside, mostly couples, and one smiling red-haired woman who looked very much like the person in charge. I reach out to grab the door handle and then feel another hand trying to do the same.

“Oh, sorry!” I said as my eyes followed the length of the arm to its owner. Standing next to me was a tall, dark-haired man wearing a white button-up shirt and black jeans. His eyes were a deep brown, and his lineup was perfect as if he just stepped out of the barbershop.

“No, I’m sorry. You look as freaked out as I feel,” he replied as he opened the door and gestured for me to enter first.

I looked between him and the open door. I knew I should be thanking him and walking inside, but my feet wouldn’t move.

“You weren’t thinking about running away, were you?” He asked as his expression molded into an amused smile.

“Actually, I was…my sister was supposed to come with me tonight, but she ditched,” I said as I shrugged.

“That seems to be the trend of the night, so did mine. But I figured I may as well see what this is about since I was already here,” he said as he mimicked my shrug.

“I think we should find some new sisters,” I chuckled as I walked through the door.

Looking around the room, there were 14 groups of easels set up in pairs. Each pair had a small table in the center with various paints, cups holding paintbrushes, pencils, and water. All of the easels had already been claimed except for two pairs at the back where we stood closest.

The red-haired woman, who I suspected was in charge, noticed we had come in and moved toward us with a wide smile, “You’re here for Paint & Sip? I’m Marlene, your instructor for tonight. Please choose a station, we’re just waiting for one more couple.”

“Oh, we’re technically both couples,” I said as Marlene’s brow furrowed.

The dark-haired man spoke up this time, “Both of our friends couldn’t make it, so we are everyone.”

Marlene then nodded, “I see. Well, in that case, no sense messing up two stations for two people. Do you mind sharing a station?”

He met my eyes, and I shook my head, “We don’t mind,” he said.

“Excellent! Then my only other question is, Moscato or Merlot?”

He went for the Merlot, while I stuck with the Moscato. Marlene began to pass around glasses to everyone filled with their choice of either red or yellow wine as we settled into our stations.

“So, you prefer the sweet stuff?” He asked as Marlene handed us our glasses.

“Guilty, I could never get used to the sour taste of reds. Call it my inferior palette,” I replied as I took my first sip.

“That’s fair, it took me a while to get used to reds myself. But enough time with stuffy lawyers can change the tastebuds believe it or not,” he said.

Marlene had moved back to the front of the room and called for everyone’s attention. She introduced the event and explained we could pick one of three things to paint: a typical fruit bowl, a basic landscape scene, or we could just freestyle an abstract. She suggested we start by pencil sketching a basic picture of what we wanted to create before we started to paint. She then took us through several basic brushstroke techniques before setting us free to paint…and sip…and she would be there to help anyone who had questions…or needed refills.

I stared at my blank canvas and wondered if I should try to attempt the landscape scene. Turning to the supply table I picked a pencil from the pencil cup and started to try to sketch out a midline.

“Trying for landscape, are we?” said the man next to me. He was still staring at his own blank canvas sipping his Merlot.

“Trying is the keyword there. I don’t have a lot of confidence in my artistic abilities,” I chuckled.

He laughed, “Something else we have in common. I didn’t catch your name, I’m Andre.”

“I’m Katheryn, but my friends call me Kay,” I replied.

He gestured for a handshake. I moved to meet his extended hand but realized I was still holding the pencil. I set it down on the table and shook his hand as the pencil rolled off the edge landing on the floor underneath. I quickly broke away from the handshake and stooped down to recover it. When I moved to stand back up, I bumped into the table, which then bumped into Andre knocking him off balance. In order to recover himself, he threw his hand out, which sent the contents of his glass splashing out onto his blank canvas.

I stared in horror at the red liquid now dripping down the canvas in every direction, “Oh my God…I am so sorry!”

Andre stepped out of the wine now pooling at the foot of the easel, “It’s ok, no worries. Somehow that missed my shirt, so no harm done. Come to think of it, wearing white to a paint night was not my smartest decision.”

I giggled with him, and as my cheeks flushed bright red, I couldn’t help but feel grateful for his humor.

Marlene came running over with paper towels as the rest of the group turned to watch the entertainment. Marlene and Andre started soaking up the wine on the floor and easel while I wiped up what spilled on the supply table.

Once we were finished, Marlene analyzed the stained canvas, “You know, I could get you a new canvas, or you could create an abstract with this. It kind of looks like a butterfly, don’t you think?”

I looked over the spill again, I could see the red splashes forming shapes that did look like the wings of a butterfly, “It does!”

Andre looked between me, Marlene, and the canvas, trying to see what we were seeing. Then he said, “I see what you mean, I’ll work with this.”

For the next while, Andre and I started to get to know each other while we worked on our masterpieces. He was a family lawyer with a passion for fitness. He was supposed to come to this event with his sister, who is becoming increasingly concerned about his lack of social life, but she wasn’t feeling well tonight and backed out. Apart from that, there was something warm about him. His charm and demeanor just kept me smiling the whole time we chatted.

Before I knew it, his wine-stained canvas had transformed into a beautiful abstract butterfly with red and orange tones. My own grassland landscape with blue sky looked like it was painted by a middle-schooler. But before I could despair about my own painting for too long, Marlene called for everybody’s attention again.

“Whenever you are all ready, we will be wrapping it up for the night. Please leave all used supplies laid out on the supply tables and feel proud to take your amazing creations home. Thank you for joining us tonight!” Marlene exclaimed as she started collecting empty glasses. We all applauded and thanked her for her help and instruction.

Andre and I started collecting our things and he paused to admire my sad landscape, “And where would one find such a place as this?” he asked as he dramatically stroked his bearded chin with his hand.

“In a fifth-grade art class, I expect. This event has been a clear reminder for me to focus on my writing and leave art to the artists.” I said as I grabbed the pencil to place it back in the holder.

“Yes, Miss Copywriter, of course. Before you put that away, would you mind giving me your number? You know, in case I’m ever in desperate need of some professional writing.”

I could feel my cheeks flush as I tried to hide the smile spreading across my face, “I guess it would be smart to keep in touch with a lawyer. You know, in case I’m ever in desperate need of legal advice.”

He passed me two of his business cards; I wrote my number on one and gave that one back to him, placing the other one in my pocket.

“Well thank you for helping me find the beauty in a disaster,” he said as he took his canvas off the easel. His painting had really turned into something special. He concentrated deeper reds and oranges to bring out the center of the butterfly, then let the colours fade out toward the edges as the wine drips dispersed.

“Well, you know who to call if you ever need another accidental wine spill,” I said taking my own canvas off the easel.

We both thanked Marlene again for the night and then made our way back out to the parking lot. We had both parked a few spaces away from one another, so he walked me to my car.

“Tonight turned out a lot better than I thought it would. It was really nice to meet you Kay,” he said as he flashed his charming smile.

“It was really nice meeting you too,” I replied returning the gesture. I walked to the driver’s door of my Civic and watched him walk to his BMW. He smiled at me again before he got in the car. I placed my things in the back before getting in the driver’s seat. Then I pulled my phone out of my pocket to see I had three new messages from Cindy, “How is it going? Are you mad at me?? Helloooo Earth to Kay!” I laughed at her tone. I couldn’t believe how good this night turned out to be. “I think the night turned into a first date with a handsome lawyer…I’ll tell you about it tomorrow! XO” I hit Send and returned my phone to my pocket.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Pattison

Psychology (BA)

Professional Writing (BA)

Fantasy book lover, overthinker, and all-around knowledge seeker

Simply trying to convince myself that I belong here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.