Humans logo

Filthy

Part 1

By Bushra ChoudhuryPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Image provided by: https://altphotos.com/photo/dirt-hands-2624/

Do you know what it feels like to be deaf or mute? Well, neither do I. They say if one of your senses is weak, than one of the other senses become stronger. All of my five senses still work, and none are weak. But I trained myself to become deaf and mute.

First period always goes by like a blur and it is super slow. Mr. Powell is all about Math, and I'm always the one with the answers. Does he pick on me because I'm the only one that would actually answer? "Hey flat chested Becky, can I get the answers to yesterdays homework?" You know I let them do it. I choose not to stick up for myself or call them out. Why bother, when they are right. I am flat chested and flat everywhere else. You can literally use my body as a pool table. I pass the math homework too Mike. Yea, Mike, he's the football player, wrestler, basketball player, and first place swimming champion in the district. Did I miss any other talents? How can someone so talented have half a brain? "Sorry to interrupt Mr. Powell, this is Jacob Burns, the new student who has transferred from Miami, Florida." Great, now we have another hunk who can just find ways to pick on me and call me names. Mr. Powell continues with the class. "Mr. Burns, maybe you would like to shed some light on how to solve this equation." I look across, and realize I shouldn't be looking at all. That's just walking into a burning building. Then he says, "the answers 12x." Everyone just stares in silence at that point. "Well, well Mr. Burns. Ms. Fleming, is Mr. Burns correct?" Here we go again, calling on me. "Yea, it's 12x." Rich then says from the back of the room, "what a freak," and everyone laughs.

Second period went by just as fast as first period did. Lunch. I hated Lunch. Daphne with her braces always sits with me at lunch, and she's constantly talking about the inside of her throat. He walks by, he's not even holding a tray. Does he not eat? Wait why is he staring at me?. It's that Edward Cullen look that does it for me. "Hey Daph, I gotta go work on my science thesis, I'll talk to you later."

"You belong to me, I belong to you, forever and always...." Door opens. "Shit I'm sorry I didn't know anyone was in here. My name is Jacob, we have Math together." Yea like I didn't notice. "You didn't know anyone was in here, when the door is made out of clear glass?." He smiled. "Alright fine, I guess there is no gray area huh?. Your Becky right?." I hesitate, but then say yes. "Nice to meet you Becky, see you in class." That's it, that's all he says. His bold brown eyes, just turns away. I say to myself, "see you in class."

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.