Humans logo

Fifty Shades of Shirley

Fifty Years of Relationships

By Shirley BelkPublished 4 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
1
Fifty Shades of Shirley Cocktail (raspberry vodka, Sprite soda, grenadine syrup)

Every woman has a fifty shades story. But not everybody tells it. I've lived mine already and for that I'm grateful. And just like the Shirley Cocktail, my story is a little sassy, a little sweet, and a little intoxicating (well, at least to me, it is.) Marriage had put my story to rest, but being single again, I got my story out once more to just think back about its characters. (https://www.janinehuldie.com/fifty-shades-of-shirley-cocktail/)

My first love, MP. High school sweetheart. Married him. Father of my sons. Half Italian, half Irish. Long-haired rebel. My mother hated him, so I loved him. I outgrew that quickly, especially when I realized he wasn't growing up. 1971

in Marshall, Texas

AKM, my pilot. I met him at work. He had a Cessna and he flew me over Houston, Texas. His hero was Howard Hughes. Sweet man. His family had come to America after the war in his country. He was different. Arabic, but Christian. 1976

1976 Cessna

GA. The first time I saw him, it was an instant connection. So handsome and such a great body. He had boxed when he lived in Connecticut. Olive skinned and spoke with an accent. He was Macedonian. Took my boys out with us and my little brother and sister, too. Played in the ocean at Galveston. He moved to California and then I found out I was carrying his baby, our daughter. I wouldn't hear from him for another three years. She wouldn't meet him until she was twenty-one. 1977

Hope my Daughter Visits

JD. Married him because he was from a big family and from the outside it looked like a "family" where we could all fit in. We had a daughter. I stayed too long in that chaos. He was a horrible step-parent. He wasn't a faithful husband, either. I did manage to go to college and get my nursing degree so I could one day be free and be able to be independent. My children took psychological blows from that marriage. I think we all have PTSD from those years. 1979

His Family Wasn't the Waltons

RW. Sweet man, but didn't work out for long-term. My daughters loved him and that's why he's on this page. 1992

Can be Found There (I hear)

PP. Bad boy, fun boy, friend. Good-looking and a big man. He made me feel young and free again. Good times. There in the bad times, too. Always a friend. 1992

Thank You

CC. Hollywood-handsome. Helped me see who I really was again. Loving and true. Soul mate. Many hours of deep conversations. And laughs. 1993

Soulmates

AZ. Human resource manager. Only child who had been adopted by older parents. He loved to live vicariously through my life with my teenagers/young adults. He was 6' 5" and neat and orderly. (I lived vicariously with the neat and orderly part.) He helped me through my first management position in nursing. 1995

Too Funny

DB. Married doctor. Brilliant. Never even kissed...he tried, but I pushed him away. I knew I was playing with fire. Several dates and much admiration. Emotional unfaithfulness. 2000

Neurosurgeon

HP. Met him at a black and white ball. Armani suit. Chiropractor/Naturopath. Older. Had served in Vietnam. Another pilot. This one flew helicopters. Listened to Enya. Great dates to interesting places. Hard to get over. 2001

Enya

WB. Met on New Years Eve Dance. Tried to do this one right and for life, but roller coaster is the word to describe this seventeen year marriage that hasn't yet legally ended, but is in the process. Forever grateful that he was in my corner through my mother's illness, death, and funeral. Forever sad this didn't work. He will be my last love. 2002-2020.

2002

Wow, I need that drink now!

love
1

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.