Humans logo

Favorite Chair

Short (True) Story

By John RossPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo by Jingda Chen on Unsplash

I sat in the chair in the living room. It’s my favorite chair. I remember my Grandpa always having a favorite chair. We even called it Grandpa’s Chair. I would sit on it with him as a young boy while he fed me grapefruit. Grapefruit was always a favorite at Grandma and Grandpa’s house, that and Instant Breakfast.

Dave and Vickie Hughes gave me that chair in my living room. I don’t know if I know two kinder and lovely people. Not because they gave me a chair. But how they selflessly love each other and those around them.

Dave and Vickie tend to be in hospitals a lot it seems. Their daughter has Down Syndrome and also has battled Leukemia. And Vickie is currently battling breast cancer. It seems like the worst things always happen to the best people.

But when I say they tend to be in hospitals a lot, I’m not even referring to appointments. They visit kids and others going through hard times. Like I said, they’re selfless.

I stood up from the chair in the living room and felt dizzy. The room was spinning. I stumbled to the kitchen and thought maybe eating some Oatly ice cream would cool me off and make me feel better. Well, I don’t know if I thought it would make me feel better but I had already made a milkshake and put it in the freezer.

It didn’t help.

The room was spinning even more and I could tell I had about 60 seconds before I would collapse.

I didn’t want to be in a chair or even the couch next to me when it happened because I wasn’t sure how long I’d be out. So I made the attempt to get up the stairs without falling.

I made it.

I grabbed my trash can as I was feeling overly nauseous and got under my covers.

I texted my roommate Amanda and her and her boyfriend came in to check on me.

I fell asleep.

11.5 hours later, I woke up.

Maybe it was the heat. Maybe I was dehydrated. Maybe it was something I ate. Maybe it was the daily cryotherapy I’ve been doing on my 30-day unlimited membership.

But I woke up and felt better.

Well, as good as you can feel after sleeping for almost 12 hours and lying in bed for another 3.

I got up, drank some water, took a shower, and made a smoothie. Then I sat back down in the chair in the living room and reminisced of the last 15 hours and I thought about Dave and Vickie. Favorite chairs have a way of bringing things full circle.

family
Like

About the Creator

John Ross

Born in the cornfields of Indiana... made my through Texas and Virginia for school and landed in Oregon where I work with the Portland Trail Blazers... my loves are hoops, reading, writing, & Jesus

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.