Humans logo

Falling in love..

What do you do when you realise you’re falling for an older man?

By Jo HoustonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I’ll start off by setting the scene and telling you about the “situation” I found myself in a few years go..

The year is 2015, Id just turned 19, I was doing a graphic design course at college and got myself a weeknd job behind the bar of a local pub. I was extremely shy and it was probably the best and worst thing being put behind the bar and just being left to it, confidence wise. Anyway, while working there one day I noticed this man come in, I mean, he’d been in before, but for some reason I was just drawn to him. So fast forward a year and we’d got quite chatty and friendly, things were going well as far as I could see. He came in one Saturday night, he wasn’t going to meet some friends as it was his birthday but wanted to see me first, it was his 50th, but despite there being 30 years between us, I had never, and still haven’t, connected with someone so easily and naturally before. Little did I know in a couple months time all but one of my “friends” wouldn’t stop talking to me because I was with “an old man”, I moved out from my parents, family said some harsh things, but I knew at the end of the day, I wasn’t hurting anyone, I was happy, and standing my ground everyone would see it “wasn’t just a phase” or “just a fling”. So here we are, 4 years later still going strong, family are slowly getting there, I get they think it’s weird, but I don’t expect them to every fully get it, rather just be civil.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, don’t let other people channel you in where you should go. Take their views and opinions on board, yes, but if it’s not what you want, and not what makes you happy, then they’re just doing it for themselves. It turned out the reason my friends left was because one of them was trying to hook me up with someone else in our group, and didn’t like that I’d rather spend an evening drinking with a 50 year old than someone our own age. But I knew which one made me happier, and I soon found out who were real friends and who weren’t.

Sometimes I do stop and think, supposing I hadn’t stuck it out, supposing I did call it off because my parents didn’t like it, because my friends didn’t like it. I’ve done so much I never though the I’d do since being with my other half, things I never would have done otherwise. We’ve visited so many places in just the past 4 years, Italy, France, Switzerland, Belgium, Greece, Spain, and so much more, I’ve got my HGV class 1&2 which never in a million years didn’t I think that was on the cards, and I’ve met so many new people that know us as a couple and give us nothing but compliments.

I feel you know something is meant to be, you’ll know. If something keeps drawing you back, if you feel that connection, go for it. Don’t let others dictate your whole life because “they don’t like it”.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Jo Houston

I’m a 24 year old female, living with my partner, stepmom to twin girls, fur mum to Jess the dog, 7, and Lucy the guinea pig, 2. Likes a vodka or two, so I’ll probably be posting after 😅

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.