Humans logo

Extended lunchtime, turned into an Early Day

A cool Stay in San Francisco, Part 2

By Jay LeTron DobbinsPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

The market was uncommonly slow, or we had a great head start on the lunch flow. I requested a soft Ellington/Coltrane piece to ease the mode and relax “Ms. Coffeehouse”. Pulled back a chair and motioned for her to relax and unwind. The server came up and presented a temporary plate the chef was preparing, just for today. Her eyes gave a glossy look as her level of defense lowered and we started to order. I took the fish, and she grabbed a Cobb Salad. We took all the time in the world trying to pair a wine with a simple lunch.

She crossed her legs as she repositioned herself in the chair (as if she wanted me to see her sexy feet) and she started with her list of questions. Gosh, I wanted to kiss her toes at that very moment, then she said, "Tell me what are your plans after this train ride?" I started in on my phone to search info and turned my phone toward her and said, "Its all right there! We can have the of time and this will allow us to get to know more about each other. What do you have to loose?" She gave a slight look of hesitation and said, "You could be a serial killer!" I took out my driver's license and said, "Here, take a picture of this and send it to your closest family member and tell them you are headed up to Napa Valley with me. I will be happy to send a copy of the tickets after purchasing for their personal security."

"You have it all figured out?" as she gave an inquisitive look and raised her eye brow. The level of security which I thought lowered at the seating of lunch, appeared to have taken a few notches up and I felt like I was interviewing for the Secret Service. She was far from the invite for an innocent night at the Napa Valley White House, but my concentration was deep on getting her to relax. I sat back in my chair as the food made it's way to the table, along with a bottle of white "2-buck Chuck" and the mood seemed to have settle back down and the imaginary laser cannons floating over her head disappeared. As I completed purchase of the wine train tickets, I shared the display of the completed transaction from my phone and said, "There, we are all set! Now we can enjoy lunch and look forward to a perfect day!" She replied, "I don't remember giving a confirmation, Sir!" I laughed and said, "indeed you didn't! However, you body language did and you wanted me to take control." She said, "Give me one reason to ride with you?" I mentioned, "With Coltrane playing in the background, lunch is nice and quite, this busy restaurant only has three tables filled, and I am looking sexy in this suit! My beautiful woman, there is no reason to say "no" to LeTron, please not today!" She sat back with a surprise and laughed. "Not only that you gave a good answer, you somehow slid the introduction of your name in as well. How cute!" she replied in a reserved voice. The moment somehow took precedence as we both smiled at each other and my three missed calls were every bit of indication that the day was over, but the intimacy of this new friendship was on the horizon of a great evening together as Coltrane continued to play and she whispered with her lips as the name Janette came out and she motioned with her finger for me to come closer for a welcoming kiss (relax folks, its a love story).

Janette and LeTron finished up and gracefully left the market holding hands and floating toward their next adventure. The day took focus on a new objective and their thoughts were locked on wine country.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Jay LeTron Dobbins

Casual writer! Love to express in print! Tell people how you feel and love life to the fullest with no regrets. Try to say something good about a person when they can hear it, and not when they are gone! Love like no tomorrow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.