Humans logo

Everything is controlled by one's attitude.

How we feel plays such a major part in our future first it's what we know so we can make wise decisions about danger and opportunity

By RashelPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
Like
Andrea Piacquadio

but second is how we feel first it's how you feel about the past you need a healthy attitude about the past so that you use it not live in it but use it not carry it like a burden but let the wise lessons you learn from the past now serve as fuel to furnish the future next to a good attitude about the future you got to set your goals we look back for Experience but we look forward to inspiration we must be instructed and inspired no better inspiration than to set your objectives I began this process when I was 25 years old. literally rocked my world changed my life i had no idea it was so simple here's how simple it is decide what you want write it all down make a list of the people you want to meet make a list of the books you want to read make a list of the classes you want to take make a list of the skills you want to learn make a list of the Cities you want to visit make a list of the investments you want to have just make these lists here's the next key now start checking them off put a lot of little things on you some list so you can start checking off something right away that's part of the fun here's what's next if you check off something major celebrate because that inspires you to make a longer list of goals and put everything on your list little things insignificant to someone else important to you i put a Little revenge on my first list my mentor said it was healthy some of the people who said i couldn't succeed kid from the farms of idaho they went on my list couldn't wait to get my new car drive it up on their lawn say oh pardon me here's the money to have it fixed just little satisfaction my japanese friend toro ikeda san jose california put on his first list a caucasian gardener way back then everybody had a japanese gardener everybody japanese garden said i'm japanese i'm Gonna have a caucasian gardener okay little satisfactions right set your goals decide what you want write it down start checking them off it's powerful stuff next it's how you feel about everybody if you want to be a leader true leader entrepreneur of the highest order well-respected unique in your field here's number one how you feel about everybody and this is philosophical as well you cannot succeed by yourself so a unique sense of appreciation of everybody goes with the territory Of leadership it takes everybody for each of us to be successful one person doesn't make an economy one person doesn't make a symphony orchestra takes everybody for this gathering today all of you had to be here to make this gathering everybody if one of you were missing there wouldn't be this many people here everybody to make something work for the office whatever the enterprise takes everybody the gift of america is everybody who came over the last two three hundred years bringing With them, their gifts no country has become such a depository of the gifts of the world like America has over the last 2 300 years people coming bringing their gifts gift of language gift of learning the gift of politics gift of government gift of medicine gift of healing gift of music gift of the work ethic all this came in steady streams from all over the world making us unusual because of the gifts that were brought and to understand that and appreciate it now gives you open access to the market That's available to make your fortune now what i love to do is go back where these gifts came from not long ago I was in Rome had a thousand people in my class someone suggested Jim Rohn loves the music of Andrea Bocelli the blind opera singer from Italy so when they introduced me I walked to the podium and all one thousand of these Italians stood up and sang for me one of Andrea buchelli's songs in true Italian style tears I described it Later, I told my grandsons, "Here's the deal." Scene a choir of a thousand and an audience of one and that was me i thought here's where some of these gifts came to the gift of poetry the gifts so learn to appreciate the gifts now the last attitude is how you feel about yourself nothing more powerful than self-esteem which creates self-confidence the greatest steps towards success come from self-confidence and that comes from self-esteem doing what you know you should so that at the end of the day you have high self-esteem if I could Give the children of the world a box for Christmas for every day I'd give them a giant box of self-esteem and they'd open it up and see that it doesn't make any difference what you wear who you are what you've done what you own what you drive it's how you feel about what you're doing at any given moment in time self-esteem is the deep down inside the skin feeling of your own worth and that's why as the second winning attitude it is the single most important quality in In my opinion it's the internalization of value it doesn't make any difference what you're doing doesn't make any difference what you did last week doesn't make any difference what you're going to do tomorrow but it makes a difference of how you feel about your potential it's that feeling you know i give programs for young people in the summertime and they come to youth camps and I've been trying to help young people understand that it's not designer jeans for Tots and it's not what you're driving or what you're wearing it's how you're feeling that's why peer pressure is so strong you want to belong to a winning team they'll never be a human being more important than another based upon what you got or how you look or what you do it's how you feel about yourself and that's the most important thing the internalization of value internal standard not comparing yourself down or up with anyone using competition to keep You honest keep the quality in and the price right and setting internal standards and giving your wins away the three greatest fears that I've come in contact with in my life are the fear of rejection which is the greatest fear that anyone ever has it's greater than the fear of anything the fear of being made a fool of in front of your peer group why do you suppose the pressure is on young people to dress act and look a certain way it goes right up into adulthood we're all the same We're afraid to have people laugh at us that's why in kindergarten they raise their hands they don't care if they're wrong or right they just want to answer anything by the time you get to the fourth grade you begin to worry about people snickering at you and being wrong by the time you're in high school you say I ain't answering and when you're grown up you always play it safe with the same kind of friends who have the same beliefs and that's the way it is the

Fear of rejection becomes the fear of change I don't want to change and set an example I might get criticized I might get ridiculed and it becomes the fear of success and through all of my life the one thing I've been afraid of most is making of winning you know why because where we grew up and how we were and how it was it didn't seem right for us and so I had permanent potential I just kind of majored in minors and did things that were tension relieving instead of goal achieving

And I made a lot of excuses uh the fear of rejection there was always a reason and success always stood in my way they asked me to publish a book so I procrastinated see procrastination is caused by the fear of success you know if you did it you'd win and you'd be better so I didn't do it so I could be my comfortable self and it worked out right I painted the fence and walked the dog next thing I knew the opportunity passed it felt so good just to be me again you and I aren't

Afraid to be rejected because we've learned one thing about self-esteem since self-esteem has nothing to do with the performance it has to do with potential you and I can separate who we are from what we do and the one thing you learn with high self-esteem in life is you never carry failure forward failure is always left where it belongs as a learning experience a stepping stone instead of a stumbling block a temporary inconvenience I've decided the one way you can spot a winner or loser in

The making is the way you project yourself your value you always project on the outside how you feel on the inside I know i do i can't hide it I'm not the best looking in the group but I'm always looking my best in the group I can't always wear the finest clothes but they're clean and pressed usually and you always project on the outside how you feel on the inside you can't deny it or can't get away from it and so that's kind of the way it is I can

Spot in me other people the ability to accept a compliment and the way you forecast your value to others when people used to say nice things to me I threw back all the value they gave me it's an easy tip-off rejection of value or acceptance of value pretty nice looking suit Dennis and i'd say yeah yeah I was going to give it to the goodwill you're right it's that pretty nice tie and I said yeah I got some mustard on it this afternoon and I said yeah kind of sloppy eater

You're right we brought you a present for your birthday I said you shouldn't have spent too much they said we know just checking your value they said thank you very much for what you did for our son and I said it was nothing they said we'll tell him that for you we sure appreciate what you did the other day and I said don't mention it and they didn't next time they knew why would anyone when you're paid a compliment not accepted gee your hair looks beautiful I said to

She and she said have split ends need to go the beauty parlor says because you got dark roots you said you got a big nose I said i knew that I wore this really neat sweater one winner and they said oh look at that what is it uh alpaca or is it I said it's got a mother right here and they said oh gee better use mothballs I'm learning to look at people now and hold their gaze I'm learning to give them my hand in my name and that it's okay I'm learning to project value to people

I'm learning never to lead with an excuse I don't make excuses walking in I try to give people value and accept it in return self-esteem the single most important quality the feeling that you got no ceiling as you now know self-esteem means accepting yourself as you are right now as a changing growing imperfect but valuable individual and since self-esteem is the foundation for all high-performance human achievement and happiness it's absolutely essential that you take specific

Action to feel better about yourself here are my action steps for enhancing self-esteem first take stock of your personal assets to ask yourself what are my talents and strong personality traits who are the family members and friends I can really count on what are my accomplishments and skills what are my goals my dreams for the future what do I want to learn where do I want to go and who do I really want to make a list of these important answers and review it often next monitor your daily

Self-talk avoid using negative prison words and replace them with positive constructive words instead of saying I can't say I can replace I have to with I choose to I'll try with I will if only with next time impossible with possible and why me with try me and finally communicate value to others greet people with a smile and a handshake give your name upfront when meeting someone in person or on the telephone and maintain good eye contact when speaking and listening to others always say

Thank you for the compliments

advice
Like

About the Creator

Rashel

Rashel is an investigative journalist for Time, The Atlantic and other magazines.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.