Humans logo

Enough Was a Long Time Ago

By Maja Zulovic

By Maja ZulovicPublished 4 years ago 8 min read
Like
photo by @matheusferrero

She stared at the screen for a good few minutes before lifting her heavy hands and beginning to type. Her mind was cluttered, and she was numb.

Dear Mr. Razo,” she began to type. She sighed.

Delete. Delete. Delete.

“Attention Mr. Razo,

This is my official resignation from my position as legal secretary at the Razo & Partners Ltd.”

She stared at the words she’s been trying to write for a long time. She felt her hands get lighter, her heart race and her mind suddenly clear and focused. She would let them know.

The baby started crying in the next room. Kevin would get up. She stood her ground. No matter how much or how loud the baby cried, she was not going to console it. Kevin would have to get up for once. Just one damn time.

She checked the clock. 11:23 PM. Just 37 minutes before she could send that email. Kevin finally woke up.

Okay. The baby is fine. Kevin is fine. I am fine. I am doing this.

“This notice is effective immediately.

She smiled. Effective immediately.

It is with absolutely no regret that I am leaving your firm. I have been anticipating the end of my contract for several months now and although you had suggested we extend my employment, this not an idea I welcome.

Unfortunately, due to my non-disclosure agreement, I will not have the opportunity to inform any future employees”

Kaley is crying again.

“Dammit, Kevin! Get the baby!”

“of your malpractice and the malpractice

“Kevin!”

Kaley is crying louder.

She jumped from her chair and walked to the bedroom. “Kevin! Get your lazy ass up! Now!” He rose from the bed and went to the crib.

Her heart ached. She wanted to hug and hold Kaley. She could put her to sleep better and faster anyway. But she had to stand her ground.

She sighed.

of your partners.

Not only do you and your fellow attorneys conduct yourself in a repulsive manner, you are committing fraud, malpractice and frankly, borderline...”

Kaley is crying again.

“Kevin, what the fuck is wrong with you?”

She got up from her desk and went to the bedroom. Kevin was getting up again. “No. Go back to sleep. I got her.” She went to the crib and looked at Kaley. She picked her up. Kaley was soaked. She was covered in sweat and urine. Extra absorbent diaper, my ass.

On the changing table, she found the problem. Kaley’s diaper had come undone. How the hell did you kick off a diaper? She took off her onesie and found the problem. Kevin hadn’t removed the Velcro tabs on the diaper and placed them in the front. He put on the diaper…without attaching it. What kind of an idiot…

She changed Kaley and put her back in the crib.

“Kevin, you need to get up,” she said gently.

Kevin grunted in his sleep; his face buried in the pillow.

“Kevin” she paused. “Kevin, you need to wake up. This is important.”

He didn’t move.

She pulled the pillow from underneath his head. “Kevin, get your stupid ass up and don’t make any noise.” She smacked him in the head.

“Ouch! What the hell?” he shouted. “Shh! Kaley is finally asleep.”

“Okay, what do you want? Why are you waking me?”

“I have something important to tell you. Come with me.”

They walked to the living room. Kevin shielded the light from his eyes. They sat on the couch.

“I want to know if you have some sort of learning disability or some type of actual, literal, mental problem. I am not saying this to be mean or insulting or to put you down. I am just honestly concerned.”

“What the fuck are you talking about, Amy?”

“I am really not trying to be mean. I just want to know so that I don’t get mad at you.”

“Umm…no I’m sane and I’m not dumb if that’s what you’re saying.”

“Okay. Good to know.” She paused. “In that case, can you please tell me how many times I’ve showed you how to change Kaley’s diaper? How many times I’ve told you how to feed her and hold her and care for her?”

“What the hell are you doing? I want to sleep. Can we talk tomorrow about whatever bullshit you’re making up now?”

“I’m not making anything up. Answer the question, Kevin.”

“I don’t know! A lot of times.”

“Okay. And why did I have to show you and tell you a lot of times?”

“Look. I’m not dumb. It’s just going to take a while for me to learn to do shit.”

“We don’t have a while. We have a child that’s here, now. You don’t have time for trial and error because I don’t have time to do trial and error.”

“Okay, I get you. You want me to be super dad all of a sudden and I don’t even know what to do with the kid. I’m trying. She’s alive, isn’t she?”

“‘She’s alive’? Have you lost your mind?”

“I just meant she’s doing fine and just-”

“Enough! I am done with you. I am done trying to teach you how to be a parent. If you gave a fuck, you’d have learned everything you needed to know while I was pregnant. Where were you when I was pregnant? With Sammy? With Taylor? Not reading parenting books. Not coming to classes with me. Not even coming to my damn appointments. I am an idiot for thinking you had the mental and emotional capacity to care for another human being! I should have known-”

“Dude, stop. I’m here. I care.”

“No. You’re here because it’s a free place to sleep. It’s all you fucking do.”

“Listen, Amy”

“No. You listen. I am done with you. I want you out of the house by tomorrow.”

“Whoa! Relax. You’re talking crazy!”

“You can get a full night’s rest in the bed tonight. I’ll let you do that.”

“Come on, Amy.”

“I won’t make you pack your things right now because I’m not an asshole like you. But tomorrow is your last day here.”

“And who’s going to take care of Kaley when you’re at work, genius?”

“I am. I’m not going to work.”

“Good luck paying for shit then. You’re such a fucking bitch.”

“Be that as it may, I’ve said all I had to say. So, you can go back to sleep now.”

“Baby, come on.”

Amy looked at him in disbelief. “Good night, Kevin.”

“Amy…”

She walked over to her desk in the office and sat down. Her eyes turned to the screen.

“sexual harassment.” She typed.

It is unfortunate that I’ve had to witness and experience many unethical things and even tolerate them on a regular basis.

You may not have been the sole perpetrator of these activities, but it stems from you. By choosing to look away and look past situations brought to your attention, you are allowing this activity to continue and to thrive in our office.”

Kevin walked in and sat down across from Amy.

“Amy, can we just talk? I want to fix this. I love you and I love Kaley and I want things to be better. I’m gonna try more.”

Amy ignored him.

“I am disgusted by your behavior and would never set foot in your office again. I am ashamed to have been a part of your company for as long as I have.

Let me make it clear. The only reason I have stayed was due to my contractual obligation. I hope the other employees will speak up; those who have options.”

“Amy, I wanna talk to you.”

“I’m busy.”

“I want to fix things. Please.”

“I don’t.”

“Come on, sweetheart. I want us to be a happy little family.” He walked over to her side of the desk and rubbed her shoulders.

“Kevin, please stop. I’m not going to ask again. Go sleep and that’s it.”

“Dude, what the fuck?!”

Amy looked up at him from her chair. “Kevin, I am not going to tell you again. Leave now. Go get some sleep. Tomorrow, you’re leaving the apartment. No discussions.”

“Are you serious?”

“Yes. I am.” She turned back to face the screen.

“Fine. Be like that then.”

Kevin started walking out. He paused by the door and turned around. “That’s why you’re gonna end up alone. Kaley’s gonna leave you too one day. Just watch. If you keep acting like such a bitch, you’re gonna have a miserable life and no one’s gonna want you.”

“Good night, Kevin.”

“Whatever. I don’t even care. You don’t matter anyway.”

Amy looked up at him. Her face was filled with warmth and love. She was happy. She smiled at him. “I’m really sorry you feel that way.”

Amy turned back to the screen.

I don’t wish your company any success if it continues to conduct business and exhibit the culture it currently has.

She heard some clatter from the bedroom followed by a large thud.

She ran over and saw Kevin packing his clothes, slamming drawers and throwing things in the process.”

“Can you please be a little quieter? I don’t want you waking Kaley.”

He looked at her with a disgusted look in his eyes.

“Let me know if you need any help.” She said and smiled at him.

She walked back to her desk.

However, should you change your ways, I wish you nothing but the best.”

Amy Schaefer

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Maja Zulovic

Like our lives, my writing is multifaceted. Some happy things, some sad things, current events, reviews and experiences; with some fiction and poetry tossed in there. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.