Humans logo

Enough

Cut the binary goo-goo eyed crap, and get to the heart of people and your community.

By Jeremy JettPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Here’s something that I need people to understand because it’s been bothering me ever since I saw a post somewhere a few days ago. The post basically was someone saying ‘When I’m on T, promote me to this!’ and joined with said caption was a t-shirt that bore the word DADDY on it.

No, this is not a kink-shame post. I am way too exhausted and respectable for that. I don’t kink-shame, as long as it’s age-appropriate and consensual.

No, this post is about something else entirely. It’s about the views of trans-masculinity and not how every single trans-guy out there is going to fit in the box.

Allow me to elaborate from a more personal standpoint:

  1. I will never have a happy trail from being on T. Which is something that I see a lot of people drooling over and saying is hot/attractive/a must have or want. Not everyone will have one, and it’s a little unfair to assume so. Some of us simply can’t grow a happy trail. Some of us don’t want one and shave it off anyway. If that’s something you’re very much into, that’s great! Just keep in mind that not everyone does and if you’re gonna upturn your nose at a trans-masculine person simply for not having this physical trait, then that’s not exactly okay.
  2. I will never be called “Daddy” whether that’s a personal preference or not. Some people are uncomfortable with it. Some people don’t think they're attractive enough for it. I’ll be honest, I am definitely not attractive enough to even be THOUGHT of as such a term. And I know pretty much exactly the body type/skin type/facial type/etc that are. And let me just say, from being around the internet a lot and from personal knowledge and experience, those are the ONLY people being called such. Most people of color, average or “overweight” body types, and disabled people are not seen as such, if ever at all.
  3. I will never be seen as the conventional, attractive, standard, “normal” trans-masculine person. Because I wear what I want, I present how I want, I like “non-masculine” things, I’m disabled, and have lots of outer appearance medical situations. I’m below average height, and I’m not 100 pounds of skinny abs and muscles. These are just personal facts. And a lot of them, I’ve seen others talk about too. Whether they are non-binary on HRT, trans on HRT, or just simply not the cookie cut out of their identifying nature. And you all know what I’m talking about. You’ve all seen it.

I despise the general assumption that if you’re trans-masculine, androgynous, non-binary, trans-feminine, or however you identify yourself, you HAVE to look like “all the others.” You HAVE to have this, you HAVE to wear that, you HAVE to like this, and you HAVE to let other people call you this thing or say this about you or gush about X, Y, and Z. That’s simply just not how it works. And the world makes you think that way, so you have to devalue yourself and your true identity and what makes you, well, you.

Enough of that. There are other people out there who are disabled, shorter than average, have normal or abnormal body types, who don’t have hair on their body, or who can’t grow hair anywhere else but their heads. Who wear whatever clothes they want, and who aren’t the pretty poster people online.

There’s so much more beyond all of those heart-eyed thirsty images and we are just as deserving as they are. Stop being so dismissive.

lgbtq
Like

About the Creator

Jeremy Jett

A tired, disabled trans cat dad who wants more tattoos & never has enough coffee. I write sometimes.

twitter: twitter.com/catnip_coffee

ao3: archiveofourown.org/users/lordbatty

instagram: instagram.com/catnip_coffee/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.