Humans logo

Dystopian America

How the heart shaped locket wreaked so much havoc.

By Shannon WhitsonPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1

This is the story about how a single item caused so much havoc that America was turned into a dystopian future that nobody could’ve predicted.

That item being the most ornate, powerful, heart shaped locket that held immense powers if used in the wrong way. However if the bearer used it correctly, he or she would become the most powerful person of all. Of course we all know now that they used it the wrong way. So let’s take a look back on what happened in 2020, while reflecting on the fact that’s it’s now 2040, merely 20 years later.

It was a warm, sunny day, with no clouds to be seen. I made sure that I was up ready to watch the sun ride the clouds until it was right above me. I had a busy day ahead but this was my favorite part of every single day. I knew today was going to be a special one but I didn’t entirely realize just how special, and memorable, it would become. After the sun was above me I got up, got dressed, and headed to work. I worked at a local pawn shop and man some amazing things had been coming in. Then again I always did have an infatuation with antiques, and unique things. If only I had know what I was getting into that day, and how I would be the cause of my country’s downfall into a dystopian future.

All of a sudden a man came through the door, along with a gust of wind, which wasn’t normal. The man came up and me and said that he wanted to pawn off something that was in his family for hundreds of years, that it only seemed to bring him sadness. What he took out of his pocket was the most beautiful thing I’d ever seen. My eyes widened with curiosity.

“This is our family crest, a heart shaped locket, that holds the power to let you be whoever you want to be, IF you use it correctly. If you use it to hurt or harm anyone, the consequences will be dire. If you use it to gain power, and you aren’t fair to others, the consequences will also be dire. You must use it to ONLY help others in need. Such as giving the poor some clothes, or food. You can give your family what they need but never yourself. Selfish actions always have a price and that price paid is a hefty one. So DONT BE SELFISH!”

“Yeah right sir.” I said with a laugh.

“Just how much do you want for that thing?” I asked

“Id like nothing more than for you to take it off my hands, but please take my warnings seriously.”

“Oh yeah, sure, ok.” I said dismissively.

Then right before my eyes the man disappeared. I swear I could hear a thank you for setting me free but I probably just imagined it. I looked over what he had given me, and realized how expensive the piece was. I mean it had real tiny diamonds all over, as well as the most beautiful garnet stone in the middle. It had some gorgeous details, and when I opened it up I sucked in my breath in shock. Inside that beautiful locket was the portrait of the man, with the date he was born. 1850! That meant he was 170 years old! How could that be? Nobody lived to be that old and he barely looked like he was 70! Inside there was also what looked like a letter. A tiny letter. So tiny I had to use a magnifying glass. It said “Use this wisely- I came across it at 70 and never stopped aging I’ve faced the deaths of all my loved ones but yet I’m still here. I give thee to you, to do as you wish. But don’t be greedy! It will have consequences! And once you accept I will be set free.”

I closed the locket and thought if someone was playing a trick on me. “Am I being punked?”

Suddenly a whisper came that said no. I dropped the locked onto the table in fright. Looked at my boss and said I had to go home that I didn’t feel well. As I walked away I thought about how funny it would be to see my boss acting like a chicken. So I wished for it. HOLY HELL my eyes widened when he actually started to do it. I just said stop and he stopped. I couldn’t believe what the man had said was true.

I was on my way home when someone banged right into me and said “watch it loser!” So I turned him into a pig. I felt the palm of my hand get hot, and almost dropped the locket. Suddenly everyone around me was a pig! “I take it back, I take it back.” Was all I could say and they turned into people. Very bewildered people, not sure as to what had happened.

I got home made dinner and went to bed with the locket around my neck. I had some strange dreams that night. Dreams of a faraway distant dystopian America. One where there was walls so big, everyone inside couldn’t climb them. If they tried to get out, they’d end up shot with a taser, and put into confinement. That woke me up because I swear I could feel the taser. What a weird dream.

For the next few months I didn’t use the locket to harm anyone or turn them into animals. I used it to help others, but I wasn’t getting any more powerful. So I decided the man had lied.

I released a powerful virus that took down all technology, a bacterial infection that took down half the world, and finally made myself the most powerful man in America.

I chose to bomb those who had attacked us, decimating their countries. I chose to be greedy, all because the power had not shown up when I did good deeds. (I realize now the vast majority of my mistakes)

Soon after I felt what could only be described as sheer terror. The heart shaped locked granted all my wishes, even showed me what would happen in my dream, yet I didn’t listen.

Suddenly walls were built around cities, to keep outsiders, or those who would wish harm, out. There were javelins on top of those walls that would shoot if it detected any motion outside.

Inside the walls there was what could be described as mazes. It is where the people would stay. There wasn’t a lot of food available so everyone had to share. For defense against the outsiders, the ones who had no compound, people had replaced guns with nunchucks, knives, and only the skilled warriors held handmade battle axes.

One would only venture out into the wild if the compound needed food, water, or clothing. Some never made it back. The compounds were named based on their locations. Such as if the location was In Chicago, it would be fearless, because they are the most brave out of them all. That compound held all of Illinois people. Other states would hold all of that states people. Effectively each state had their own compound, their own weapon defense, their own way of living. The compounds were all equally frightening but the main one, where I was, was the most frightening of them all.

It was made of all metal, a metal so hard, it couldn’t be penetrated. I had the best warriors, the best weapons, and the best tactic for those who wished to harm me. The best weapon I held was that locket but I also had made huge tasers that would take out five men at once. It was a hostile world.

Looking back I regret my decision that day to do whatever I wanted with the locket. I wished I could take it all back but when I tried nothing happened. It was because of me that world was so war torn, because of me that people don’t have enough food, and because of my selfish actions that I have never aged since. I was told there was a price - that was the price I’d payed. Never aging, forever 30. I knew then that I had to find someone who would rightfully care for this locket. So I searched wide and far for the one who would set me free.

It was now 2070 fifty years after I had acquired that locket, and the world was still in its dystopian way of life. I began to think it would never go back to the way it was. Until one day I felt a pull come from my chest. It led me to a young woman.

I cautiously walked up to her, tapped her on her shoulder, and asked her what her name was. She wouldn’t give me her name but she asked me what made me come all this way. She was after all in the boonies. I simply said the locket lead the way. She laughed at me because she thought I went nuts with hunger.

I showed her the locket and she gasped. “Where did you find such a beautiful locket?” She asked.

“A man once gave it to me a long time ago with the advice to use it wisely. Don’t use it for your own selfish needs or desires, only use it for good and to help others. Maybe then they world wo get back to normal.”

She laughed at me like I laughed at him until I showed her the inside, which held my story as well as his. She gasped.

“Will you take this? Use it ONLY for good? Maybe restore our country and the others?”

“Yes, sir. I most definitely will.”

When I took it off, it was as if all the weight in the world was off my shoulders. I was finally free after 50 years. Would I go away as the man did? Or would I be able to stay?

“You may stay, but only on one condition” The lady said.

“What’s that?” I asked

“You will be my partner, you will help me restore what used to be, you will help me make the right choices if I’m making the wrong ones. Above all you will help me along the way. I am the original keeper of the heart shaped locket. I wanted to see if humans would do the right thing, some of you did most of you did not. So it is a lesson to learn. Don’t be greedy, don’t be selfish, and put others before your own needs! If you think you can do this you will stay, and you will become an immortal like I am. Forever entwined in the beautiful heart shaped locket.”

“But I made all the wrong decisions. Why should I get to live when all others perished?” I asked.

“You didn’t make ALL the wrong decisions, you made some good ones along the way. You will help me continue to make good choices. Is that agreed or would you rather die?”

“Nope, that is perfect the way it is.”

And so for eternity they worked to get the humans to help each other out, and not think only for themselves. They still lived in dystopian America but only because they weren’t quite ready yet to be on their own again. So remember of you ever come across that locket, make the right choice!

humanity
1

About the Creator

Shannon Whitson

I am a 40 year old single mom who has always loved to write. I am a professional photographer and I hope to have some of my work published. Especially the book I’m working on called Alpha Damon Ares. I look forward to writing on here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.