Humans logo

Dynamic Dominics

A Native American Power Couple!

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 10 min read
4
Dynamic Dominics
Photo by Boston Public Library on Unsplash

Mr. and Mrs. Robert & Waunetta Dominic is the topic of this writing today. I feel so honored to write about this couple because of them, many Natives Americans in Northern Michigan and the State have benefitted from their service. I view them as true warriors for the Native Americans. They fought for and were the defenders of injustice many Native Americans and other impoverished citizen in the area were experiencing. This couple, was a power couple and now I dare to call them a legendary couple.

Let’s start at their beginning. Robert was born February 23, 1913 in Cross Village, Michigan. Waunetta was born July 23, 1921 in Petoskey Michigan. In 1940, the couple met and married in Lansing Michigan. This moment is the moment when an amazing duo would form and I, and dare I say, many are thankful that this union occurred.

I can only assume they met during their college years but those details are not shared in their obituaries. However, I do know that Robert went on to earn his Bachelor of Science degree in Biology from Central Michigan University. When the couple moved back home, Robert worked at Penn-Dixie cement plant in Petoskey. Waunetta was a well organized secretary and was a fierce organizer.

So far they seem like a normal couple but not so. They were activist for their people and the community. The couple formed the Northern Michigan Ottawa Association (NMOA) in partnership with her father. Under this platform they fought for the rights of the Natives. The fought to get payment for the treaties from the federal government. The treaties included healthcare and education so the Native student's could go onto higher education. Not to mention their battle for fishing rights for many. They also fought the war against poverty and brought assistance to families. This couple was a power couple. They fueled each other into greatness.

I am an archivist at the local tribe and I am responsible for processing and protecting historic documents. The children of Robert and Waunetta donated their life’s work to the archives. When I arrived to work this position, I was given the task to clean and process the collection. Even though I won’t reveal details of the collection, I will share what I respect about them.

In the year 1836 a treaty was made with the Ottawa Indians. Payment from the Federal Government had not been made for the ceased land. The couple worked together to research all the treaties that were unpaid and worked to secure proper payment. They were met with road block after road block but they pushed through for payment in 1968. How sad it is to think that the Federal Government held payment of the treaty for 132 years to award the families payment.

As I was processing the papers, I was saddened to see more Natives walk on waiting for their payment. Once the payment was released, the Federal Government made the payment go to a bank outside of the state to incur interest. They found a loophole that kept more Natives waiting for funds that was owed to them. Binder after binder of deceased members is just sad.

Many people did not know everything that was happening during this process. Robert and Waunetta worked long hours after work to battle for the people. They paid for supplies and office supplies they needed. The Federal Government required the NMOA to attend meetings in Washington which was expensive. Then, the ceased land had to be surveyed and assessed for value. Not to mention, they had to hire lawyers to work as the middle man for "proper" documentation. I wish I could give a full account of their expenses but I did see that resourcefulness was one of their power.

One day I pulled out a binder that had enrollment forms of thousands of Natives locally and statewide. The most amazing part to me is the fact that each person alive had to be proven for blood quantum. Genealogy research had be be completed to prove that each member was full blood to 1/4 blood to be eligible for payment had to be certified for eligibility. Thousands of people's eligibility was completed without computers. Waunetta's organization skills was expletory.

To add to my amazement, they were activist. They defended the fishing and hunting rights for the Natives. This too was in the agreement between the federal government. Litigation was needed here too. They worked to insure the Native's fishing rights for a good chunk of the Northern Michigan. They fought many battles for Natives who were harassed for harvesting fish. Most of the times, the DNR would take their equipment, the men arrested and fined and the battles were impressive. They traveled stand up to the Federal Government for the rules and regulations that govern the rights for their people.

I have read letters that have been exchanged for each issue they were standing up for. Letters to the senators asking for support in the litigation process. I have no idea how many phone calls were made but I can imagine there were many made. The long distance charges must have been extensive. Interestingly, I have not found a phone bill as of yet to get an idea of the expense that must have incurred in this process.

Side by side the couple worked together to jump through all the loop holes that came with each trial and each litigation. Yet, they still made sure that cultural events would occur. I smile when I look at pictures of the Natives dancing and celebrating in those pictures. They took care of their community and they would update them of progress over a meal. I admire how they showed they cared. They really did so much for the community.

At this point, I want to digress with a personal memory of one of the events they had that impacted me.

I was about four and I was at a Christmas party. Being so young, my memory of the event was of receiving the most amazing gift I had ever seen. All I remember is Waunetta passing me a gift and sent me on my way. I unwrapped the most amazing tea set. Porcelain service with genuine silver silverware. The walk home from the party was cold and long but I held onto this gift like it was a treasure. This gift brought me many happy days. There were many tea parties with my mom and friends. Many children were happy because of their efforts.

While my siblings and I were packing up mom‘s belongings, I found pieces of that tea set. Mom kept them for me. Apparently, the gift had value to her too. Finding the pieces was the best gift I could have been given after her passing.

Over the years I had processed a section in the collection that showed me the preparation for that event. Poverty was a major issue among the Native families and Robert and Waunetta worked to give the kids a good Christmas. I read letters asking for donations for presents for the Native children in the area. I chuckled as I processed receipts for wrapping paper and tape. I viewed a sign in list of many people who volunteered to wrap those gifts. Another receipt showed that they rented the fairground building for the party. I didn't remember what they fed us but I was sent home with a hot dog meal in my stomach. The collection showed they really took great pride in organizing the event.

Weeks later and more proof emerged from the collection. I cleaned a newspaper article from the Petoskey News Review. As I read the newspaper article of the event and I found out my brother Lonnie was the Mc. I called my brother and asked him about the event. Lonnie said that Waunetta and Robert received a large donation of toys and they held a huge party. Lonnie said he was amazed at the quality of the toys everyone received. His story was verified by the news paper report.

Just stop and think ladies and gentlemen. They must have been the most amazing power couple. Can you imagine the partnership they must have had to fight fiercely in Washington for the educational programs that are in place today and yet remained humble enough to take care of the community. Just try for a moment to consider what kind of pressure they had to endure as they defended the treatment of those in the community.

I want to make it clear that Natives could not practice their Native beliefs until 1972. I will share another childhood memory that demonstrates Waunetta's and Robert's ability to defend the innocent.

The Kiogima’s lived on top of the hill over looking the valley Bill Dunlop called, Hungry Hollow in his book. My Aunt Evelyn took my brother and I to learn to dance and become one of the dancers for the Manda-Bee-Kee dance troop. There were a number of other children there and we were enjoying our dance lessons. Robert was drumming and Wauneta was one of the teachers and us kids, we enjoyed the moment.

After a while, the police pulled up with sirens and lights flashing. I watched as Robert and Waunetta approach the police to find out what was wrong. I do not remember all that was said at that time. I do remember my fear. I do remember being sent home. The couple kept us safe instead of us being arrested for dancing.

Once again, while at work, the newspaper article stated that the neighbor called because she thought she was going to be attacked. In the article, she said she was afraid we were going to scalp her. Seriously, we could have been arrested and Robert talked the cops down. Us kids, went home all shaken up. Dance class never happened after that because of one ignorant woman.

Yes, I lived through a time where being a Native was not a good thing. Suppression was a part of my reality. Today, due to their work, I can go out in public and pray in the traditional way. I can be free to be me because of Waunetta’s and Roberts work. How grateful I am for their work. If they did not take a stand against injustice, I could be arrested for praying. I am so thankful that my children and grand babies to come will not have to worry about this.

My children have many benefits available to them because of the Dynamic Dominics. They have been blessed to not know what the ancestors were subjected to. They are blessed not having to heal from injustice. Unless they become aware of their history, and the people that fought so hard for justice, they will not be appreciative of what they have. I assure you that my children will know this power couple. I will share with them what I know of them. They Dynamic Dominics will not be forgotten as long as I live.

I am grateful that the Dominics fought to send others like me to schools. They made sure that members of the community could advance in life. I love learning I have earned a Masters in Education thanks to them. I have brought those skills back to the tribe and little did I know my education would benefit the tribe.

The collection shows a legacy couple. In their day they were a power couple. Now, their legacy will live on in my mind. I am sure they will become more impressive as I continue my work. I am only half-way through the collection so their legacy will continue to unfold. Each day I work on the project, I am always amazed at what they have achieved. Each day I go to work I never know what I will find in their collection.

In my opinion, they are heroes. They were warriors for the people. They fought and won many battles. They respected their community. They took care of and defended them. In my opinion, this couple deserves a holiday named after them even if it is only a tribal holiday. I would even suggest this be a state wide holiday. The Dominics are my hometown heroes.

humanity
4

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.