Humans logo

dreams come from suffering

I have a weird personality

By li liPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

When I was a child, I was a small and melancholy child, and doing various housework every day did not make my body strong, nor did my parents inherit the perseverance and endurance of the long-term cultivation of land to me. For a long time, I was the one who worried my mother the most. She shed many tears for my sickness. Because of my frailty, my mother would always hear about what foods or herbs could make her child healthy. Go ask for a prescription, get the medicine to replenish my body. She took great care of me when I was sick.

Not only is my health bad, but accidents often happen. When I was five years old, I fought with a friend from the same village. come out. As soon as I heard that I was injured, my father, who was working in the field, shouted my nickname, rushed towards me like crazy, and hugged me tightly as soon as he saw me as if he was going to break my spine. My mother fixed her eyes on me, tears welling up in her eyes, and at the moment when the tears were about to drip, my mother turned around and went back to the house to make the bed, and tears rolled down the eyes of everyone present.

I was on the hospital bed, with a high fever in my pocket, and I could easily grab it out. The pain was frequent. When I was drowsiness, I was either scared out of my head by the shock of cows, ghosts, and snakes, or I was frightened by the poisonous snakes rushing out of the grass, which made the adults revolve around me like a spinning top, and my mother guarded me with tears for a few days. The night did not close my eyes, and the moment I woke up, I always heard my mother's long and sad sigh.

My aunt is here, and I listen to her patiently. The aunt, who is not very literate, speaks so eloquently that there is no reason to interrupt. My mother went to the field and dug back plantains and silky grasses as my aunt said. It was night when my mother carefully mashed them into the mud. She laid the bedding, and my head was covered with the herbs made into a paste. I didn't move for fear that the things would fall and soil the quilt. My body was tightly covered, and only one mouth was exposed for gasping. The mother was restless, and her eyes contained helplessness, guilt, and unspeakable pain. My aunt's voice came from the main room without interruption. My consciousness gradually became blurred, and I gradually felt like I was lying in the crater. At the moment when I was about to collapse, there was only one thing in my heart.

My family continued to ask for remedies for me. Medicine, caught back, the medicinal materials include ants, centipedes, licorice, and Houttuynia cordata. Mother fried the medicine and brought it in front of me. I let out a long sigh of relief. It is no longer important to cure the disease. For the sake of everyone's efforts, I have to take it once no matter what. When the worms that had turned into meat dregs passed through my mouth, they seemed to be activated by my saliva, and they crawled around densely, covering their mouths, unable to handle them, and my eyes were pitch black.

Reluctantly, my mother threw away the leftover potion I had drank. She felt infinite regret and said repeatedly, "If I ate all of it, maybe it would be fine!" Maybe it can bring me luck. It should be believed that miracles will happen. That night, I quietly fell asleep. For the first time, I didn't wake up from a nightmare. When I woke up, I was able to go to the ground and get something to eat. Thank God! Let me escape from the line of death.

Later, every time my mother mentioned my catastrophe, she still had lingering fears, as if she had picked up a son: "At that time, you were covered in blood from head to toe, and the first time I saw you, something came to my heart. The thought is: Jiuman is helpless." When my mother said this, she always picked up my hair habitually and looked behind my ear, where there was a scar nearly ten centimeters long. I heard that I was injured at that time, people are a lot smarter.

I became smarter, and my body became stronger under the care of my mother. It's not that my mother didn't worry about it. At that time, I had a weird personality and seldom played with other children. I played alone, sometimes for a whole day. My mother's brows, which were gradually stretched out because of my death, knitted together again.

However, my mother didn't worry too long, because soon a fortune teller came to visit relatives in our village, and my mother gave him my birth date and the fortune teller said, "This child is a little strange when he is a child, but he will eat it when he grows up. If you go to the country, you can at least be the chief.” My mother was very relieved because it was a great thing to be chief with us at that time. From then on, my mother didn't mind my weirdness anymore. When someone told her that I was weird, she always said, "It doesn't matter if I was weird when I was young!"

When I was in junior high school, I returned to normal. I made many friends and hung out with them every day, but my mother was worried: "Alas! This child has no hope of becoming an official!", To raise my tuition fees, my mother's life became more bitter and miserable, and her hair became grayer. These are the price she paid for her half-life youth to raise me.

During the winter vacation of the second year of high school, I just entered the house. When my mother saw me wearing thin clothes, she shouted in surprise: "Jiu Man! Why do you wear so little!" My nose was sore, and I couldn't say a word. Mother touched my hand again and exclaimed again: "My cub! Your hand is so cold!" I bowed my head and held back my tears. Without saying a word, my mother took off the sweater on her body and let me put it on. The double warmth of my mother's love and the sweater instantly wrapped me tightly, and my tears fell.

After the college entrance examination that year, after more than 30 days and nights of hard waiting, I finally got the long-awaited "College Freshman Admission Notice" from the head teacher. I read it again and read it again. The ideal school! Ideal professional! My blood is boiling, this is what I have dreamed of since I was sensible!

I bid farewell to the teacher in a hurry, hummed a little tune, and headed home. On the way, I was inexplicably excited. This was a prelude to the beginning of a new life. You know, from now on, I will say goodbye to my hard-working middle school life, and say goodbye to the rural life that "faces the loess and backs to the sky"...

When I told my mother that I was admitted to a science and technology university in Changsha, I didn't know what my mother was thinking at that moment. I believed that the shock to her was no less than that of a stormy sea. The first thing she said was to go to the Bodhisattva to thank her, and she wanted to comfort her father's spirit in heaven: Jiu Man is going to college!

The day before I went to school in Changsha, my mother led me to pay homage to my father's grave. I stroked the tombstone standing on my father's grave, and my family and affection rushed toward me. It seemed so powerful and so comforting. I looked into the distance and looked at my hometown seriously, and noticed that the sky in my hometown was blue as never before, and the wrinkles on my mother's face and the white hair on her head were so striking for the first time. Two lines of hot tears could not stop pouring out of my eyes, and the constant family affection made me kneel before my father's grave all of a sudden: Dad, Jiuman sees you here! I kneel on this familiar land and swear: I must do my best to take good care of my mother, and work hard to repay the land that once raised me and raised me so that my hometown and my relatives can catch up with the outside world with my efforts.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.