Humans logo

Dragging our Feet through the Perils of Walmart

Why I dislike shopping at Walmart

By Debbie CentenoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by PhotoMIX Company from Pexels

Not my Favorite Place to Shop

Today I went to Walmart. I don’t shop at Walmart and avoid it at all costs. If I need anything from there, I order it online and have it delivered. It has worked fine. Therefore, when my 81-year-old elderly father asked me to take him to Walmart, I cringed but took him, anyway. I first thought about dropping him off at the store entrance and let him shop while I waited in my car at the parking lot. Then I thought about how unsafe it can be for him. It would be like a baby dangerously crawling around a buffalo stampede, so I opted to go in with him.

Courtesy is no Longer Existent

It is difficult to walk around Walmart taking tiny baby steps with an 81-year-old pushing a cart. My father did not want to use a handicap cart. Therefore, I grabbed a shopping cart and allowed him to manage his way through the aisles of Walmart with me closely behind him. We encountered many people who have little to no patience and shove their way between us and others just to get one of the hundreds of canned corn or whatever they are so desperate for. That’s when I stay close by to protect my father from getting shoved or pushed to the ground. People also leave their carts in the middle of the aisle to grab an item when there’s clearly plenty of space for two carts. Some even give you a dirty look when you say, “Excuse me” to get through. The employees are no exception at all. They stand in the aisles and are bothered if we gather an item which they are replacing or if we ask them a question. I’m sure it’s not all of the employees. But unfortunately, I have not come across any who are not.

Baby Steps — Forever Steps

My father needed only a few things, twelve items to be exact. It took us an entire hour to gather those twelve items. Not only because they are scattered throughout the store, but because of the baby steps we were taking. If I was tired of walking taking baby steps, I can’t imagine how my father felt.

Ready to Check Out

After gathering all the items, we headed towards the cash registers. They were full, but since we only had twelve items, we could use the 20 items or fewer register. Woo-hoo! But wait, why is it so slow? Never mind, we’re in Walmart. There’s little to no courtesy or consideration here. Let alone people who take their time to read where it clearly states, “20 ITEMS OR FEWER.” So there we were at the 20 items or fewer line waiting for the couple with 40+ items to finish paying.

A Good Deed

The gentleman behind us asked if he could cut in front since he only had three items.

“Please do, sir,” I responded.

It would not bother me to let him pass.

He kindly thanked me and replied, “You are not from here. People here are not polite. Where are you from?”

See, even he realized people here are not courteous. We spoke for a bit until he was ready to check out. Once he checked out, it was our turn and I could not be happier. We were finally leaving Walmart!

Yes, today I took my elderly father to Walmart. The place I dislike shopping at the most. Not only are the social media memes about Walmart accurate, but there’s also a lack of courtesy or respect. It is unfortunate we have succumbed to this level within society. I sure hope people begin to shift their awareness to a politeness level. Also, that I don’t have to go to Walmart ever again!

Originally published at https://debbiesreflection.com on August 30, 2021.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Debbie Centeno

Debbie is an active spiritualist and medium. Yoga and meditation are part of her daily routines. She loves to travel and enjoys writing. Her blogs are Debbie’s Reflection (www.debbiesreflection.com) and Traveler Wows (www.travelerwows.com).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.