Humans logo

Double Date

A surprising night out...

By Diana McLarenPublished 3 years ago 24 min read
Like

The distinctive knock on my door spelled the end of my quiet night at home. The last time I’d tried to ignore Lizzie and pretend I wasn’t home, she’d gotten my neighbor to let her into his flat and then hoped over his balcony onto mine. I still don’t know how she’d charmed the grumpy old man but if I ever ran into him in the laundry he didn’t ask me how I was but rather if Lizzie would be stopping by again anytime soon.

She knocked again and I groaned as I abandoned my book and made my way across the room, swinging open the door to the blinding reflective light of her tiny sequin dress.

‘That’s what you wear on a date?’ She demanded flicking her perfectly highlighted hair over her shoulder and tossing her head dramatically so that her earrings rattled.

‘I don’t have a date.’ I grunted in response turning my back on her and shuffling back towards the couch, hoping that if I showed no interest she would abandon her nefarious plans and let me go back to my solitude.

‘You do now. Melissa dropped out.’ She grumbled as she followed me.

‘And you let her?’ I questioned.

‘I didn’t have a choice. She went and got a cold. I thought she was faking so I went over to her place but her nose was practically a tap. I couldn’t drag her out. No one’s thinking about sex when someone’s snot is leaking on them.’ I smiled at her, chances were she’d taken the time to help Melissa order soup, and tucked her into bed with an insistence to call if she needed anything.

‘Well, it was nice of you to give her a pass.’ I muttered as I aligned my backside with my favorite spot and began to ease myself down to the cushions.

‘Oh no you don’t.’ Lizzie hollered grabbing me by the hands and yanking me back towards her. ‘We have thirty minutes till we need to be there and you need a shower.’

‘Not if I stay here.’ I muttered letting her lead me towards the bathroom. There was really no point fighting her. I’d lost every time I tried and if I was going to be dragged out on some misadventure then I needed to save what little energy I had.

‘You jump in the shower and I’ll go pick out an outfit. Don’t wash your hair, I’ll just give you an updo.’ I followed her command, vaguely worried as to what outfit she would be picking out. When I emerged Lizzie was still standing in front of my wardrobe flicking through my clothes with a look of distaste plastered on her face.

‘Why do you have so many boring jackets?’ She questioned, pulling one out and sniffing it dramatically as if it might be poisonous.

‘I am a lawyer. Jackets go with the territory.’ I grumbled back. ‘Speaking of which I have to be up at six in the morning so whatever you have planned better not go too late.’

‘Yeah but you’re like a cool lawyer.’ She crooned, clearly ignoring the latter half of my statement as she held the jacket against her tiny frame and pouted dramatically. ‘You work in arts and media, surely you can go a little funkier than a black jacket, white shirt?’

‘It’s a classic look.’ I retorted. ‘And is that what you want me to wear tonight?’

‘God no, we’re going to Danny’s bar. Your outfit is on the bed.’ I shouldn’t have been surprised I missed her arrangement because my room was a mess. Clothes were strewn everywhere and the bed hadn’t been made since I put fresh sheets on four days ago. She’d picked out some skinny black jeans and a plain white but very low-cut t-shirt. Still, I could live with that. I grabbed the corresponding underwear from the draw and began getting dressed having long ago given up on any modesty where Lizzie’s eyes were concerned.

Then I sat down at my bureau and began applying my make up, while Lizzie flitted around the room grabbing every lose item and throwing them into my laundry basket.

‘Wait, that’s not dirty, I put it on yesterday and changed my mind.’ I chided.

‘Sorry babe but it all has to go.’ She spoke as she continued her efforts by making my bed pausing only to thrust a pair of shoes at me that I assumed she wanted me to wear.

‘Why does it ‘have to go’?’ I whined. It was bad enough I was being dragged from my apartment on my night off. I didn’t need someone also judging my housekeeping.

‘In case you get lucky.’ She leered suggestively at me, sling-shooting what I could only hope was a clean thong at the back of my head.

‘Doubtful. We’re just going to a bar right? As soon as you pick up, I’m coming back here and getting into my flannelette pajamas.’ I couldn’t help the wistful tone that flitted into my voice at the end.

‘No, I told you. We’ve got dates.’ She blew a kiss to herself in the mirror as she came to stand behind me and effortlessly pinned my hair into a seductive updo.

‘Dates?’ I questioned as I marveled at her skills.

‘Yes, mine is David. He’s a DJ I met last night. And yours is his older brother. I think he said his name is Mark.’ She pondered seemingly unsure as to the name of the man she was forcing me to meet as she pushed the last of the bobby pins into my hair.

‘And why is it you couldn’t just go out with the DJ and leave me out of it?’

‘Apparently, his brother is visiting for a couple of days, and he'd feel bad to leave him at home alone. Isn’t that sweet?’

‘Okay, but why couldn’t you just go out with him another night and again, leave me out of it.’ I reiterated putting emphasis on each word.

‘Well I fly out tomorrow night to do a series of consults for the next week and by the time I get back he’s moving away, and you know I don’t do long-distance.’

‘If he’s moving away then what’s the point of the date?’

‘Sex! Obviously. We don’t have a lot in common, but he’s hot and I need some stress relief.’ The vulnerable tilt of her chin and gentle shrug of her shoulder seemed to beg, don’t judge me. And I never could. Lizzie had chosen to spend her privileged life studying psychology and now spent her days dealing with only the most severe cases.

She rarely talked about her work, preferring to tell people a variety of fabricated stories. But she’d opened up to me a couple of times and I knew her outwardly charmed upbringing had had some serious problems in it, which had given her the drive to help others. And help she did. She worked almost purely pro bono, her only requirement being that her business broke even so mostly she dealt with runaway teens, drug addicts, and victims of abuse. If what she needed was a night out and the only thing standing in her way was my preference to have a relaxing evening then I was going to rally.

‘Enough make-up?’ I queried by way of showing my agreement to the night’s festivities.

‘Add a dark red lip and I’m happy.’ She replied dropping a brief kiss to my head as she made one final lap of my room to make sure it met her standards. I added the hoop earrings still on my dresser and grabbed my going out purse off the back of my door and wiped the layer of dust off it as I shoved my lipstick in before leaving my bedroom.

She followed me out making a shooing motion towards the door as if she was worried I’d change my mind and try and dive bomb myself over the coffee table and onto the couch. But I felt committed to the evening ahead now, so I grabbed my phone keys and wallet, shoved them into the miniature purse and opened the front door.

‘Lizzie!’ Michael called out in glee. ‘I thought I heard your voice. I was disappointed she let you in, you’re always welcome to my balcony.’

‘Oh Michael, you’re the sweetest.’ Lizzie responded planting a big wet kiss on the old man's face as she pushed past us to the top of the stairs. ‘I’d stay and chat but we’re running late. I’ll catch you next time.’

She called the last back up at us as she was already past the first landing. I smiled awkwardly at my neighbor as I locked my door behind me and took quick steps to catch up. By the time I reached the foyer, she was already standing halfway into the street and flagging down a cab.

‘You didn’t call a ride?’ I shouted at her over the noise of the street.

‘At this hour cabs are quicker and we’re going to be late as is.’ She called back. Sure enough within another few seconds, she was yanking open the door of a taxi and gesturing me to get in and slide over.

Her energy was infectious but I still wasn’t really in the mood to go out and so I took a few moments as we drove and she talked to the driver to compose myself at least into the appearance of someone fun and full of energy. I’d spent the last few days pulling late nights to help an associate find precedence to help his client out of an awkward situation. We’d struck gold this afternoon, which is what had given me the night off to relax.

I would have preferred to have my quiet evening so that I could get through my last day of work with a little bit of bounce in my step. But with no plans over the weekend other than a casual lunch and a lot of laundry, it seemed only right to let Lizzie bully me into a night out. My brain shifted to the last time she’d done this to me and how we’d ended up at the end of the night dancing on a pool table to win a bet. The memory thrilled me and charged my blood even as another more reasonable part of me hoped tonight would end early and with less fuss.

‘We’re here.’ Lizzie’s voice brought me back to the present as she dished some final words of advice to the driver about his unruly teenage daughter. He thanked her earnestly for her help and then again even more energetically when she handed over a fifty and told him to keep the change.

‘Alright let’s do this.’ I chanted raising my fist in the air as I emerged from the cab behind her.

‘That’s the spirit.’ She hollered back as she led the way towards the bar. There was a long queue of people waiting to get in but she ignored them and made a beeline for the security guard. He got a dopey look on his face when he spotted her and opened his arms wide. She immediately stepped into his embrace and he lifted her off the ground in a backbreaking hug.

‘How’s my favorite therapist?’ He asked as he placed her back on the ground.

‘Actually tonight the story is aspiring fashion designer. You should know that too.’ She called the last over her shoulder at me.

‘Fashion designer it is.’ I nodded in agreement.

‘Alright my little fashionista, Danny already stuck two guys on your table, I’m assuming the ones you ordered.’ He winked suggestively.

‘You’re the best.’ She responded as he waved us through the door ahead of the line. I couldn’t help notice the envious stares of those still waiting. The roll of one girl’s eyes seemed to suggest that she thought we were getting in because of how Lizzie looked. But I knew better. She would never tell me the details but I knew she’d helped the owner’s wife through something. And the security guard made no secret of how much Lizzie had helped him adjust when his son was diagnosed with Autism. The fact that she looked like Barbie come to life was irrelevant.

I followed Lizzie as she sauntered to our table at the back. Danny’s bar was a local favorite. He’d made loyal customers out of those in the area by providing great food at a reasonable price and he’d kept the place spaced out so it didn’t have the horribly crowded feel so many other places did. I was so caught up in the soft crooning voice of Eartha Kitt floating from the speakers, I hadn’t realized we’d made it to our table until Lizzie blocked my view to lean over and kiss her date on the cheek. When she pulled back I did a double-take.

The guy she was lavishing her attention on was attractive in the extreme. He looked almost like a Ken doll come to life and I had to resist the urge to snort at the thought of the two of them. Ken and Barbie. But my double-take was for the man sitting next to him. He had dark, almost black hair framing his face in tight ringlets. His pale skin held only the barest hint of a tan and he had the most perfectly straight nose I had ever seen. I felt the urge to run home and dig my pencils out from their long-forgotten place in the back of my cupboard and sketch the lines of his face. His jaw came down sharply from his ear, curving suddenly before jutting out to a perfect crescent chin. He had softly pink lips held in a thin grimace but hinting at fullness if he would only smile.

It was his lips that gave him away. He no more wanted to be here than I did. I wondered idly if we could conspire subtly to excuse ourselves early under a feigned stomach upset or a headache and leave the lovebirds to their evening. I doubted they would even notice our absence. I hadn’t yet had a moment long enough to sit and yet Lizzie had already taken full advantage of the booth-style seating to drape herself on her date so that I wondered if technically she was sitting in his lap.

I took my place opposite her and next to my date with a ridged spine hoping to somehow communicate to this stranger that I was as much a hostage as he was.

‘Eloise, this is Mark.’ Lizzie gestured between us briefly before giving her undivided attention to the DJ while he in turn whispered what I could only assume were scandalous things in her ear if her giggles of delight were any indication.

‘It’s Marcus actually.’ The resonance of his voice made all the hairs on the side of my body stand up and I felt compelled to adjust my seat so I could look at him.

‘Marcus? Nice to meet you.’ Something about his presence made me vaguely uncomfortable. Although maybe that was the fact that we’d barely said hello and already my friend and her date were playing footsies under the table so vigorously our cutlery rattled.

‘Are you also in fashion?’ He inquired politely and I resisted the urge to literally laugh out loud. The only things in my wardrobe that could even be considered fashion were the items Lizzie had foisted on me.

‘No, I’m a lawyer.’ I responded as I noticed his eyebrow quirk. It seemed he had not completely missed my mirth at being mistaken for someone in the textiles industry.

‘She makes it sound boring.’ Lizzie chimed in. Pushing her date away with little decorum to speak and turning herself back towards the table she added. ‘She works with artists and those in the media. It’s actually really cool.’

‘So a lot of contract law and copyright stuff?’ Marcus asked. I nodded surprised that he was so well informed.

‘Marcus is in publishing.’ David offered, seeming to accept Lizzie’s distraction and also turn his attention to the table at large. Although subtle movements in both of their arms seemed to suggest they had abandoned footsies in favor of some sort of hand-related game. I ignored any errant thoughts about what their hands were doing as I opened the menu.

‘Can I start you off with some drinks?’ The waitress inquired appearing at the table.

‘A round of tequila shots for the table.’ Lizzie responded while smiling around the table as if to challenge us to disagree. I had no desire to start the night with tequila shots, that always seemed a good way of ensuring the evening ended with your head in a bucket.

‘Actually, I’d prefer some red wine.’ Marcus’s baritone voice reverberated in such a way not even Lizzie dared to try and change his mind. ‘Do you have a dry merlot?’

‘Sure.’ The waitress chimed, seemingly as disturbed as I was by the man sitting next to me. He smiled at her and I couldn’t help but notice the flash of appreciation in her eyes. A pang of jealousy hit me out of nowhere and I felt the urge to lean forward in my seat to block him from her view.

‘Bring a bottle. And two tequila shots for this side of the table.’ She added gesturing to herself and her date. The waitress left and Lizzie launched into her usual mile a minute talking speed. She started out by remarking how the brothers weren’t much alike which launched her into the story of how we met and had nothing in common. From there she went on a tangent about other people she’d met on her travels and while I was occasionally required to chime in with my additions to her adventures or nods of agreement, mostly I was left to sit and watch.

I sipped my wine which was delicious and perfectly in line with my own tastes as I observed the drooling expression of her date. He didn’t hang on her every word so much as seem to glaze over admiring her energy and vivacious sense of fun. It was a look I knew well as I’d seen it on almost every guy she’d turned her charms on.

In time we ordered our food and I was uncomfortable in the knowledge that my supposed date not only shared my taste in wine but also food as he ordered a meal identical to my own. I tried to focus all of my attention on Lizzie but a part of my awareness always stayed on the man next to me. Occasionally his arm would brush against mine or he’d adjust his feet and his knee would bump mine. And every time I felt a jolt of electricity that seemed to enter through the contact and then ricochet through my body heating me to my core.

Our meals arrived promptly and the conversation relaxed into gentle chit chat, but I couldn’t help but notice although we both spoke we rarely seemed to actually speak directly to each other. I talked to Lizzie and asked David questions about his life as a DJ. And in turn, Marcus added to David’s stories of their youth and made polite inquiries about Lizzie’s job in a fashion that she answered with surprising knowledge. Occasionally he would ask me a question directly or I'd comment on something he said and each time we made eye contact I felt a flutter behind my belly button. It only grew as the meal continued and dessert menus were brought over.

‘You know what,’ Lizzie crooned in David’s ear loud enough for the table to hear, ‘I have some strawberries and chocolate at my house, that won’t last until I get back.’

‘I was pretty keen on the sticky date pudding.’ David responded examining his menu seemingly oblivious to the suggestive tone of his date’s voice.

‘I also have a can of whipped cream.’ Lizzie added her eyebrows leering so suggestively I thought they might slide of her face. David closed his menu with an audible snap.

‘We’re going to go. You’re right to get home?’ He directed to Marcus and somehow I felt his nod of agreement as the other two slid out of the booth at a speed that would rival a cartoon character. ‘We can take my bike. I have a spare helmet and you can wear my jacket.’

‘Sounds fun. Bye.’ Lizzie called over her shoulder and with that, they were gone. And I was left sitting next to the man whom I found it incredibly attractive but had barely spoken a direct word to.

‘Did you want dessert?’ He enquired politely, directing his comment to my ear as I stared at my empty wine glass.

‘Not really.’ I mumbled.

‘I’ll grab the check then and we can go.’ He spoke as he lifted his arm to signal we were done.

‘Lizzie will have already taken care of that.’ I explained as the waitress came to the table.

‘The check, please?’ He gestured.

‘It’s already been taken care of.’ She responded with a smile before departing.

‘How?’ He asked visibly perplexed.

‘She does that. Just leave a ridiculously large tip for the waitress. That’s what I do.’ I explained as I stood. In the few moments, we’d been left alone the invisible charge that existed between us was only growing and I needed to escape. He followed suit sliding a large bill under his plate as he stood.

‘But how, she didn’t sneak off to the bathroom, when did she pay?’ He asked as he followed me out of the restaurant.

‘She knows the owners, I wouldn’t be surprised if she’d paid before we arrived.’ I smiled at the thought of my energetic friend as we stepped onto the street.

‘And my brother really thinks she’s in fashion?’

‘You’d have to ask him.’ I hedged.

‘I know everyone says he got the looks and I got the brains but sometimes I can’t believe how willfully ignorant he is.’

‘You got your fair share of the looks too.’ It was out of my mouth before I could stop it and I could feel the heat of my face as I blushed what was surely an unattractive shade of red.

‘What makes you think she isn’t in fashion?’ I addressed my shoes in an attempt to move the conversation away from my blunder.

‘Not many people in the fashion industry know the arguments for free public healthcare and can so eloquently explain the need to destigmatize mental health.’ He remarked reminding me of the conversation we’d had over dinner. He was observant, that much was obvious. I wondered if he’d noticed the weird charge that I had all night.

‘Can I give you a lift home?’ He offered gesturing to a sleek-looking car across the road.

‘I don’t live far, I can walk, or catch a cab.’ I talked still addressing my shoes.

‘I know my brother isn’t a great example of it but our mother did instill us with some basic values and one of them is always to make sure a woman gets home safely.’ I couldn’t respond, the certainty of his tone and the warmth in his voice when he mentioned his mother struck me in a way that reminded me of ice cream on a hot day. It was cold and foreign but somehow comforting and refreshing at the same time.

‘Please.’ He added and I nodded my agreement as he turned us both towards the street, placing his hand in the space above the small of my back but never touching me. His gentle guidance saw us both safely across the street between the moving cars and he surprised me again when he circled the car to open my door for me.

‘I know this wasn’t a real date but some things are just habit.’ He commented as I lowered myself into the cool leather seats. He took his place next to me, asking me to enter my address into his navigation system and then I sat silently as he started the car.

‘This wasn’t a real date?’ I inquired once we were in the flow of traffic.

‘Of course not.’ He grumbled in a tone that suggested he barely thought it needed saying. I tried not to rankle at his dismissal but felt my muscles tense. He kept his eyes firmly on the road and I applauded his dedication to safe driving but I wished I could stare into his eyes and try and read what was there. Instead, I contemplated the side of his face. This had been one of the strangest evenings of my life. I hadn't wanted to leave the house, and now I didn't want the evening to end. I tore my eyes from the stubble framing his face and recognized the tree that signaled the turn onto my street. We were almost at my home. He pulled to the curb in front of my building and jumped out of the car rounding the hood, but I beat him to it.

‘You couldn’t let me get the door?’ He asked with a slight roll to his eyes.

‘You’re the one that said it wasn’t a real date.’ I countered.

‘That’s true.’ He mumbled with a hint of sadness in his voice.

‘Why not though?’ I asked as I turned to walk towards the front of my apartment building with him in toe. I’d had a surprisingly nice time so a part of me was still annoyed he didn’t consider this a date.

‘It can’t be a real date unless you’ve come willingly and I didn’t really get the idea that you wanted to be there tonight.’ He shrugged his shoulders.

‘I didn’t hide it very well, huh?’ I questioned letting humor color my tone.

‘I can only apologize.’ He stated sincerely as we both paused before the stairs that lead into the building.

‘Why, it wasn’t your idea.’ I offered. He seemed genuinely bothered that I hadn’t initially wanted to be there and I felt bad. Reaching out I gently punched him on the shoulder teasingly. ‘Did you have that bad a time?’

‘Not at all.’ His eyes bored into mine, twinkling with reflected light. The energy that had spiked between us at the restaurant was leaking back through my system making me feel warm and fuzzy inside.

‘You know if this was a real date, I’d ask your permission to kiss you.’ He spoke his eyes dropping to his shoes as a hint of color crept into his cheeks. There was something so endearing about a man that blushed.

‘If this was a real date I’d say yes.’ His eyes sprang back to mine glowing with excitement. He took a small step towards me his hand going to my waist and gently pulling me towards him. He tilted his head as I closed my eyes. His lips brushed mine gently and then he began to pull back but I wanted more. So I reached my hand up to his collar and pulled him down to place my lips more firmly against his. Our lips began to dance in rhythm and I felt the heat pooling in my stomach.

He pulled back again and this time I let him go although I was loath to do so. I wanted more. But he was being a gentleman and I couldn’t fault that. He left his forehead against mine and with my eyes closed I breathed in his warm scent and felt a wash of calm in his nearness.

‘I'm really wishing I was staying more than a few days.’ He lamented, his forehead still against my own. It was a sobering reminder that he was only visiting his brother. He lived more than four hours away which didn't exactly make the best ground to build a relationship on. But I wanted him anyway. I had never felt this electrified by someone's mere presence.

'Why don't you come upstairs.' He pulled back suddenly, surprised by my offer almost as much as I was that I'd made it.

'For tea?' He drew out the words clearly asking if I meant what he thought I meant.

'I was more thinking desert.' I gave my best seductive Lizzie impression and then had to suppress my urge to giggle at the look of pure delight on his face.

'Are you sure?' His eyebrows rising inquisitively, but his tone serious.

'Normally I'd never invite someone up on a first date, but since this isn't a date...' I let my voice trail off and hoped he understood that this wasn't my standard modus operandi. He pulled me back in to kiss me fully on the mouth, his tongue swiping at the crease of my lips till I granted him access. Before I'd felt his hesitancy but now I only felt his desire and it spurred my own. He pulled back just as I began to feel dizzy. 'I'll take that as a yes?'

'Yes.' He responded enthusiastically as I took the last step to open the front door, thanking Lizzie in my mind not just for dragging me out tonight, not just for inspiring me to go after what I wanted, but also for cleaning my room before we'd gone out.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Diana McLaren

Diana McLaren is a comedian, actress, and author based in Australia.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.