Humans logo

Does Having Disabilities Affect Your Relationship?

I was in a relationship, and it only lasted for about three or four months

By Mac78321Published 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Here's my story of one relationship I was in. I thought I found the right woman, but it didn't turn out too well.

I was always very shy, quiet, and nervous. I don't always do well with conversations or in a large group of people or out in public. I was diagnosed with Dyslexia, Dysgraphia, Dyscalculia, and Attention deficit disorder as a kid. So I didn't have much of a good childhood if you know what I mean. I wasn't any good at talking to girls either. I didn't start having girlfriends until I was seventeen. But that's not what I want to talk about today.

In September 2017 I started talking to a woman on Twitter, and we started dating a few days after that. At first, I mentioned that I have these disabilities and that I am not very good at holding down a conversation, as in keeping a conversation going. We have been together for a month and a bit then. I was in university and my ex-girlfriend was in college. We were texting and messaging each other, not a lot, but most of the time. I started to realise that she wasn't saying much, as in like a normal conversation that we would have like in the morning. I didn't think much of it at the time but I have to ask, "What was wrong?"

She messages back saying that she was not happy about me not saying much and not taking the relationship seriously. I messaged back and said, "I know I'm not the best at conversations and all that, but I will try a bit harder to make the relationship work." So I tried to keep conversations going and talk a bit more often. To be honest, I found it a little difficult to do at first. But anyway I tried harder and our relationship was back on track. Three months went by, and then my ex-girlfriend messages me one day, "I'm not happy in this relationship." So I was a little scared thinking that I had done something wrong. Then she messaged me saying, "I can't be in a relationship with someone who has those disabilities," and then nothing else was said.

Stay postivie.

I was very unhappy about what she said. I wasn't like depressed or anything, I was just mad and very confused. Two years went by, and I have been in happy relationships since then. All of them have been very supportive and understanding about my disabilities. Then just about three weeks ago. I got a message from my ex-girlfriend saying that she felt really bad about what she said, and wanted to try again with the relationship. But the only trouble was I was already in a very happy and healthy relationship, and I was not interested in even being friends with her anymore. I have done some research and talked to some of my friends and I have been told that it was discrimination.

I know discrimination is a serious accusation, but I showed the text and messages to my friends and family, and they said that it is strong evidence of discrimination. But I said I didn't want to do anything about it. I just messaged her back saying that, "What she said hurt me a little, and it wasn't a very nice way to say things." So I just said we could be friends, she had to apologise for what she said and the way she said it, and then we could still be friends.

I have learned something over the past few years.

I always thought people learned that you can't judge a book by its cover. But it turns out people still do. It has to be one of the most annoying things ever in this world. People that judge you by who you are, what you are and what you look like. If someone judges you like that, then they are not a nice person and deserve to be ignored.

Live the life you want, be happy with who you are.

Don't let anyone bring you down.

Stay positive.

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Mac78321

Musician, Producer (One man band), Sound engineer, YouTuber, Roadie, Manager. Magician, Editor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.