Humans logo

Does Every Couple Have a "That's Us" Couple?

From fictional love to real life lovebirds

By Dani BananiPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Top Story - April 2021
18
Source: www.homeofthenutty.com/2021/02/marvel/wandavision-1-06-all-new-halloween-spooktacular-screencaps/

Does every couple have a couple they look at and say, "Oh yeah, that's just like us!"?

If you read that question and immediately thought of a famous (or not) couple that you compare to you and your partner, I guess that helps get me closer to an answer about how many people do that!

From someone who has spent many years taking BuzzFeed quizzes to find out what kind of pizza topping I am or what kind of coffee order I'd be at Starbucks, I have an enjoyment of personality analyses of all kinds, no matter how scientific or accurate they might be. Comparing myself to fun things can spark an interesting conversation, at the very least. I also love finding relatable things in pop culture, movies, television shows, or celebrities who resemble notable personality traits about myself. Even if it's an analysis that doesn't ever need to be taken seriously (or, let's face us, doesn't need to exist at all) it's fun to know what someone thinks your ultimate favorite cheese is based on your Zodiac sign or who your dream fictional partner would be based on your favorite ice cream. I have a childlike enjoyment of quirky little charts, quizzes, and "use the first and last letters of your name" games on social media, and I think that drives a lot of things I like to have in my relationship. Luckily, I have a partner who enjoys indulging my whims with all my comparisons. One that we've found ourselves in major agreement of is that our relationship resembles a lot of key elements of Wanda Maximoff and Vision from the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

So, I'm going to talk about these things because they make me happy.

Source: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/235383518014764400/

Like Wanda, I've had my share of traumas and my unusual quirks exploited by others (without the whole Infinity Stone thing), but some of the more enjoyable aspects of Wanda in the Disney+ show WandaVision revealed themselves to me when the show began airing. This started a fresher obsession with comparing myself to Wanda (and as the show went on, I'd discover just how much of Vision was relatable to my partner.) Ever since I was introduced to the Marvel Cinematic Universe, I've been engrossed with every movie and show related to it, so this new (yet more focused) obsession was nothing new in my MCU fandom experiences.

In all the moments I'd seen Wanda, Vision, and/or the two of them together prior to WandaVision, I hadn't made much of a connection. When I got to watch them interact as a newly married couple in the first episode, I saw a lot that spoke to me on a very mushy level. The tenderness and genuine affection they share can be glimpsed in Avengers: Infinity War, but it is shown with more clarity in the depth of their passion in their short t.v. series. The affection reminded me heavily of myself and my partner, and when we watched episode two, that was when I had my first real connection of Vision and my love.

Source: https://gadgets.ndtv.com/entertainment/reviews/wandavision-episode-2-review-release-date-download-online-hotstar-disney-plus-mcu-marvel-2352582?amp=1&akamai-rum=off

When Vision and Wanda revealed that they would be entering the talent show "for the children" as a magician and his assistant, my partner and I enjoyed an incredible chuckle and heartwarming reaction to that particular plot point. Early in our relationship, when we had just started to get to know each other better, I had jokingly referred to him as a magician. It was the first thing we ever began referencing regularly as something amusing I'd said, and the word has always had unique meaning to us. Watching Vision love and adore his partner and assistant while performing (appearing to be drunk) as a magician was symbolic in a joyful way for our relationship.

There's more to it than that, of course.

Besides being relatable to inside jokes, Vision is a creation rather than a human. My partner has, in the past, been referred to as a "robot." On my side, I was once a regularly practicing Pagan, so I had the witch aspect of Wanda/Scarlet Witch covered as well. As each episode came out, we found something else to comment on that felt relatable to both of us, and the conversations about what we felt we related to were fun to experience. It's exciting as it is to find shared qualities with characters you enjoy, but to find that they also mimic your personality in love is satisfying in a way that deepens my fandom for WandaVision.

The magician concept was so excitable to me, in fact, that my significant other ended up buying me a fantastic PopSocket so I could always think about how happy that made me when we saw the second episode together.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08Y72Z943/ref=cm_sw_r_em_apa_glt_fabc_Y8GRRYCXNN78K6HSVZM3

Then I found out they were both fantastic fathers.

It's not astounding to discover that I do not know many fantastic father figures or role models in my life. When I met my partner, one of the most immediately attractive features about him was his dedication to and enjoyment of fatherhood. He revels in his Dad jokes and all the ways he can bond with his children, and has taken on a meaningful role in my own two children's lives as well. When Wanda and Vision became parents. I saw a lot of my partner's paternal aspects reflected in Vision's reaction to his two sons. Even if I never got the privilege of seeing my partner care for a baby, I could draw a lot of pleasant comparisons in that aspect of Vision's character development as well.

Which obviously just piled on more reasons to adore the show and my insistence that I am basically the Scarlet Witch.

The quotes are unforgettable, too.

Of course, I think nearly all fans agree that the best quote of all was from Vision at the end:

"What is grief, if not love persevering?"

Everyone I know, including myself and my partner, have enjoyed that line very much from the show. It sparked yet another conversation for us to have about how relatable grief and love are, and having the wisdom to go with the quirks and joyfulness of Vision and Wanda's love makes the fandom all the more relatable for us. Wisdom and philosophy mean a lot to us both, and the show's meaning prompted plenty of conversations about the moral necessity of Wanda creating a false reality to grieve her loss of Vision.

Other notable quotes were as follows:

"There are rules in life. We can't rush aging just because it's convenient. And we can't reverse death."

"You are my sadness and my hope. But mostly, you're my love."

"The urge to run from this feeling is powerful."

"I have what I want and no one will ever take it from me again."

"A family is forever. We could never truly leave each other even if we tried."

When the feelings, the references, and the aesthetic all work together...

Source: https://www.homeofthenutty.com/2021/01/marvel/wandavision-season-1-episodes-1-2-screencaps/

Everything about the show made me feel seen in my relationship. I felt Wanda's losses, agony, and joy; I felt and understood her in ways I felt might not even be that healthy. The important thing, though, was that I felt something so strongly that I buy trinkets to remind myself of the importance. It's fun to be a fan of something, but it's even better when it means something to the extent that you want visuals every day to remind you what you learned and felt about the messages.

I wanted a love like Gomez and Morticia, but I'm happy I have a better Vision now.

Thank you for spending time reading my work. Your time is valuable, and I appreciate every moment of it. If you’d like to follow my writing updates and newest articles, you are free to follow me on my Facebook page, Banani Blurts It Out. If you prefer to use Twitter, feel free to follow me @danibanani23. If you would honor me with a heart or a small tip, I would be forever grateful, but knowing you spent time here to begin with is enough.

love
18

About the Creator

Dani Banani

I write through the passion I have for how much the world around me inspires me, and I create so the world inside me can be manifested.

Mom of 4, Birth Mom of 1, LGBTQIA+, I <3 Love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.