Humans logo

DO YOU WANT TO KNOW WHAT LOVE REALLY IS?

Love is Magic

By Kim PetersenPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
DO YOU WANT TO KNOW WHAT LOVE REALLY IS?
Photo by Abhishek Dhakate on Unsplash

“Set your life on fire. Seek those who fan your flames.” ~ Rumi.

LOVE IS MAGIC

I mean, why do you think generations of philosophers, poets and writers alike have favored the heart-pulsing topic since way back when? It is because love is the most powerful emotion that we experience in our humanity.

Love changes us. No other emotion comes close to possessing the ability to filter through our boundaries and alter our perspective like love. No other feeling can crash into our hearts and explode into our awareness with such fever, passion, feeling and sentiment.

Love is creation and connection in all its magical glory.

Like ecstasy for the soul; syrup for the heart. It uplifts spirits, elevates us into higher states of awareness and colors our world with beauty, humility and exquisite rapture.

It is more than a feeling; it is a way of being in the world — love is an experience.

LOVE IS WHAT YOU SAY

If our time and attention are our most valuable things in the world, then it is our experiences that make for the special sauce — the unforgettable moments that give meaning to our lives.

Essentially, we are a collection of our experiences. Right? And the way we choose or not choose to be with love is all we are going to take from our life when it’s over.

Not the money or prestige; our reputation or the high-end connections we seek to benefit from. Not the hate or spite that just inspired you to send a threatening email to someone you barely know. Not even your religion.

Truth is, your life experiences will reflect the degree of love you bring to the world — how you see it is what you’ll get back.

On November 11th of 2017, I missed my flight home to Sydney from LAX due to an emergency that occurred on the connecting flight from Louisiana.

It was late and I was stressed. Honestly, I kind of had an inner-mini-meltdown, and for the record, the people handling the entire situation were behaving like unhelpful … umm … morons.

Frazzled, tired and verging on tears, I finally got to the hotel where the airline put me up for the night. I was waiting my turn to check-in when a man approached, extending a bouquet of white roses.

He wasn’t hitting on me, nor was he being sleazy. He was the father-of-the-bride of the wedding reception that happened to be winding down for the evening.

You know that deepest part of yourself that connects you to the stars and beyond? Your inner-voice that guides you towards kinder feelings and brighter outlooks, or shows you signs that something higher is looking out for you?

That’s the love inside of you.

Sometimes, it shows up in the unexpected acts of love from a complete stranger.

At first, I refused the flowers, telling him that they were too beautiful and I couldn’t possibly accept them.

He insisted.

Connecting to the love inside is like fusing with the sacramental essence which is the universe within you. Honoring your love-space and opening your heart is coalescing with all of the life-force energy and thereby, creating greater spheres of love into your experiences.

I looked at him and something clicked; as if his eyes silently spoke to my soul without me realizing it at the time. I felt the tension slightly ease.

Love is energy-enmeshment that goes way beyond our physicality. It is a complex mix of emotions and behaviors combined with strong feelings of affection, protectiveness, warmth, and respect for someone else.

Love is also acceptance.

When I reached to take the flowers from him, my fingers shook and it took all I had not to break with the gratitude erupting. I thanked him and checked in, grabbed my luggage and glanced around the lobby for him before heading to my room. He was gone.

Love isn’t control. It’s not ownership, a marriage contract or entrapment. It’s not the smirk you just gave or the snidey laugh at someone else’s expense. It isn’t manipulation, vindictiveness or how another person judges you.

Love is never a crime.

I don’t recall the detailed appearance of the man who gave me roses in an L.A hotel lobby late one night, and he will never know how that one small gesture will remain with me long after I die — it was one of the greatest acts of love and kindness I have ever known.

Those white roses represented the truest meaning of love in that their presence in my room symbolized charity, spirit, humanity, empathy, faith and belief. And they arrived directly from a union of love at the exact moment in time that I needed it.

Love is faith and finding the courage in yourself to trust in the higher-good. It’s a selfless gesture; compassionate words and a meeting of souls. It’s forgiveness, tolerance and empathy; the eyes in every beast reflecting back the stars, the moon and the air filling your being.

Love is allowing people to affect and transform you. And it’s rejecting all that opposes it.

November 11, 2017 is a date that will always remind me of love-in-action.

Love really is magic.

************

Thank you for your time!

Visit my website here. Subscribe to hear more from here.

love
Like

About the Creator

Kim Petersen

Author | Writer | Aussie | Woman | Beautiful Delusion | Soul & Spirituality | Love | Humor | Sensual People | It’s the Revolution, Baby! | https://whisperinginkpress.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.