Humans logo

“Do You Feel This Your Off and On Is What Has Negatively Affected Your Career?” - Di’Ja Responds

Di'Ja talks off and on in music industry

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian singer Di'Ja who is still till today most famous for her verses on MAVIN songs "Dorobucci", "Adaobi", and for her hit solo single "Awww" has had a very on again/off again relationship with her music career. She has in the past gone away from the scene for long stretches of time only to come back, release more music, and then go away again.

Now, during a new interview with Cool FM, Di'Ja is opening up about how she thinks that on and off thing has affected her career, and opens up about what's been happening since.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Di'Ja on Cool FM

During the interview, Di'Ja was asked "You've really been in and out, off and on. Why has that been happening?" She responded:

To the people outside, it does look like off and on but to the creative, it's almost like an everyday thing regardless. But sometimes you know you're constantly creating and you second guess everything you create. I go through those a lot. Secondly, I just put in my all in trying to know motherhood. I went through motherhood wanting to know how sort of the attitudes, the different things that tick my kids off, different things like that. Sometimes you just get so drawn into just knowing these little humans you just want to be selfish about it. And honestly, I have been working you know, in my home studio and pushing. It's just more or less sometimes your anxieties after a while kinda get the best of you. It's just like "okay maybe this is not the time to drop this one", "okay maybe", so it wasn't necessarily an intentional thing. But I feel like in a way, I kinda grew into myself while the off and on was going on. I can't deny that myself, I push a lot on mental health because I myself have my own little struggles in my own mind that I try to settle with. But I've been settling with myself in the last couple of months so I gotta give myself some props. It's not easy.

"Did you at any point think that the off and on had any adverse effect on your fanbase?"

I think no matter what, we're sort of in an instant gratification environment now. So you kinda have to be just giving them back to back. And by the grace 0f God, we're going to be in that realm. Like I said, sometimes it's very hard to pin-point exactly. But honestly in that time, there's definitely going to be a "here's what's been going on". It's not just going to jump into things. I'm trying to put things together in how to connect with my supporters, the people that've been there regardless of whether it's been on or off. And I want to say thank you. Di'Ja Nation has honestly been so dope.

What do you think about what Di'Ja said? And do you personally think that the off and on thing has negatively affected her musical career? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.