Humans logo

Why It's Been Really Hard Since Leaving Big Brother - Sheggz

Sheggz opens up about life post BBNaija

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Segun Olusemo popularly known as Sheggz is a housemate who competed in this year's season of Big Brother Naija: Level Up. The footballer and actor left one week before the show's conclusion and ended up going far in the game. However, since leaving the house, reception has not been what he expected and there have also been accusations leveled against him of domestic violence made by an influencer called BeautybyGbemi.

During a new interview with Lilian Afegbai on her Youtube show, Lilian's Couch, Sheggz opened up about the whole ordeal. He talked about how life has been for him since leaving the house and also touched briefly on his feelings about the accusations leveled against him. Here is what Sheggz said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Sheggz on Lilian's Couch

During the interview, Lilian Afegbai asked Sheggz: "How is your mental health? When you came out, how was it? Were you depressed? Were you having anxiety? How did you feel? Because these are conversations people really don't like to have. And I now am in a space where I can talk about being depressed in the past or me almost dying from depression because now I'm strong. My mental health, I'm alert. If I know you're going to mess up my brain, I move. Like I protect my mental health. If I know being on Instagram for one week is going to stress me or there's so much, I just go off. So like for you, how do you manage it? Because it's a lot." He responded saying:

I was definitely broken when I came out. The thing about me is I'm not gonna lie, I can say it, I was definitely broken. I didn't think this is what I was coming out to to be honest. It was hard. It was really hard. And I feel like a lot of people, I feel like it's easy for them to - to be honest, when I came out, I felt like I didn't have a voice. That's the truth. Some of the stuff that is hanging around me and that I'm accused of, 97% of women that speak on it are actually telling the truth and only 3% are lying. So I didn't have a voice. There's nothing I could really say that anyone would be like you know what bro, we believe you. They will find cracks in any single thing that I say. So that was tough to feel like I didn't have a voice. Obviously I have an amazing fan base. They're super good. Sheggz FC. I feel like they really kept me going. My family, super supportive. In fact, scrap that, God first and foremost. I feel like I'm quite spiritual. I feel like my journey is meant to be bumpy because where I'm going to is - it's never straight forward for me. Even my football career was not straight forward. So I just feel like it's part of my life and I feel like at the end of the tunnel, there's light. And I feel like people would see the greatness at the right time.

What do you think about what Sheggz said? And what did you think of Sheggz in the house and of him now that he's left? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.