Humans logo

Do You Agree With These "5 Tips For Dating a Nigerian Woman?"

What do you think?

By Jide OkonjoPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like

I was scrolling through the internet and I saw an article titled "Tips For Dating a Typical Nigerian Woman", so of course I had to take a look at that and see what the author suggests.

After reading his piece, I decided to look at a couple of others and I must say, while most of them give good advice, there's some that I read that I have questions about. So I thought, why not share it with you? Are you ready for them?

Okay. So I'll list out the 5 pieces of advice that I find interesting, tell you what I think about them and why I have questions and then I'll open it up to you to tell me your thoughts.

Before we dive in, to keep in touch and not miss out on any new hot, funny, interesting articles that I post daily, don't forget to like and follow my Facebook page.

ONE.

This one is from an article titled "Six Things You Need To Know About Dating Nigerian Women Today", and it says that Nigerian women would much rather you buy them flowers and chocolates rather than show public displays of affection. It reads:

Nigerian women, like women from other countries, are into the little details. Flowers, chocolate, cards and old-fashioned romantic gestures will get you way further with a Nigerian beauty than intense PDA. Nigerian girls want to feel special, treasured and loved, but are also shy in public, so the perfect way to show them how much you care is with gifts that reflect their personality, rather than making out on the streets. By the way, always ask first before you try to kiss them or get closer.

But I thought Nigerian girls like to be claimed and for their men to visibly show that they're with them in public places. I know for a fact that one of the biggest complaints from some of my female friends is that they feel like when they go out to places like SPAR or church, their men act either brotherly or friendly instead of acting like boyfriends.

So I genuinely thought Naija girls like PDA. And since when did Nigerian girls start liking flowers again? I thought the consensus was to give her the money instead? What's happening here?

Do you agree with this advice?

TWO

This next one is from an article called "15 Ways To Get A Nigerian Girl Over on A First Date". It says that you shouldn't continuously tell a girl how beautiful she looks on the first date. It reads:

When your date is truly beautiful, don’t get carried away by the beauty by telling her how beautiful she is. In fact, telling a girl how beautiful she is on her first date doesn’t add any value to your conversation. It makes her feel like she has more power over you with her beauty – and, obviously, there are several of other men out there who have already told her that and you can’t afford being one of them. Let her see you as the only man that’s not intimidated by her beauty and that will give you an upper hand over most of the other men.

What kind of backwards "Keep It Mean, Keep Them Keen" kinda advice is this. So because other men have told her she looks beautiful you should be the one man that doesn't tell her so that you have power over her?

Does this really work? I'll really like to hear especially from the women on this one. Please message me or comment under this post on my Facebook page with your thoughts.

I would think that if you go out with a beautiful girl and she comes in looking gorgeous, you should say something. Because I'm sure that girl put time and effort into getting that look together, so to completely dismiss it because you want to hold power...don't be surprised when her number stops going through after your date.

What do you think? Do you agree with the advice?

THREE

This one is from that same article as above. It's a long article so I'm just giving you the interesting highlights. This one says you shouldn't talk about yourself on the first date. It says:

Don’t talk about yourself on your first date. But instead let the entire talk revolve around her. If she asks for what you do to earn a living, just come up with something crazy to avoid answering that question. You can even say ‘ am a drug dealer’ or ‘a terrorist’, and ask her what she does. Nigerian women love mystery and you can’t disclose everything about yourself on your first date but instead use the opportunity to know more about her.

Hmm. Do you agree with this? I'll really like to hear what you think, I'm so serious. Again here is my Facebook, you can comment or message, let us discuss it.

Because are you telling me that on a first date that two people have gotten ready and prepared to come for, one party should just shut down and not answer any questions about themselves?

It's a date. Isn't a date supposed to be about getting to know each other?

Please what do you think? Do you agree with this?

FOUR

This one is from an article titled "Tips For Dating A Typical Nigerian Woman" and I think this one is true. It says to never surprise a Nigerian woman with a home visit except she asks you to. It reads:

A Nigerian woman is calculative and smart. She knows how to play the dating game. She knows the right time and the man who give a pass to her home. But some men jump the gun by paying her a surprise visit to her home. She will not be excited to see. In fact, she may not even come out at all. You are on your own as you disappointed. It is better to be patient for the invite. If she is not forthcoming, you can discuss the issue with her.

Yeah, I think this one is true. Because I have never seen a situation where surprise visits with no kind of heads up beforehand ever played out well. Most times, the girl isn't prepared to see you physically and mentally. Or the house isn't arranged. Or her parents or family are home. There's too many things that could go wrong, so I do think this advice is solid.

What do you think? Do you agree?

FIVE

This one is from that same article in number 3. This one says that you shouldn't buy expensive gifts especially on the first date because your company is all the gift a Nigerian girl needs. It reads:

For your first formal date, don’t go empty-handed. Just get her a small gift. This doesn’t necessarily have to be expensive but enough to show her that you feel something for her. A box of chocolate, her favourite candies and/or flowers will actually do. Just don’t go for a more expensive gift on your first date as your company is already a perfect gift for her.

So when I read this for my sister, she cried out in laughter. But then I re-iterated that it was talking about the first date, and she seemed to be more understanding.

I do think in general, if there's one thing I know about Nigerian girls, it's that they like gifts. They like effort put into a relationship or a date and so a gift is always a nice token to bring because it shows that you put more thought into it than the regular person. Yeah, I don't think the gift has to be too expensive on the first date. But eventually if you guys become serious, I do think a nice expensive gift here and there is always a good idea.

What do you think of this advice?

THAT'S ALL.

What did you think about these? Did you agree with all or none of them? Please tell me your thoughts. I really want to hear your thoughts on a lot of these. You can comment or message me on Facebook.

For other articles I know you'll enjoy, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day!

dating
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.