Humans logo

Discrimination at Christmas

A new wave of hate

By Mark KennedyPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
4

T’is the season to be jolly, spread love and peace to all. But I seem to have stumbled upon a new breed of racist, a new wave of discrimination and I am outraged, outraged I tell you.

As the big day fast approaches, lights are being erected, fake trees are popping up and decorations flood our homes and streets, and we start to partake in all tradition that come hand in hand with this magical time of year. One particular tradition being ‘The Christmas Movie’.

Like many, I too like a bloody good Christmas flick and have been enjoying them since the start of December, keeping the best one for last, for Christmas Eve just wouldn’t be Christmas Eve if I haven’t seen Hans Gruber fall from the Nakitomi Plaza. And yes, not only is it a Christmas flick, it is quite possibly the best Christmas flick of all time. But that’s a story for another time, and I digress from my original point.

As I have been immersed in an assortment of festive film galore, I seemed to have stumbled on to something that is, quite frankly, disturbing that has shook me to my very core. The discrimination and racism I have witnessed during this month, a time for forgiving, love and magic, is vomit inducing and bone chillingly disgusting. Why I have ever picked up on this before, I’ll never know. But now I have, I can’t think of anything else, and the injustice of it all has plagued me ever since. It literally (and I am literally one of the few people who seem to know the difference between literally and figuratively) makes me sick to my stomach.

As I’ve made my way through the Christmas flicks, some considered to be festive classics, something or someone rather, seems to be left out. Unless it specifically names him in the title, Rudolf, the red nosed reindeer is nowhere to be seen in any flick involving Santa and his faithful reindeer companions. At first I thought, maybe it was accident and he’ll be in the next one, but no.

This isn’t new, either. This dates back all the way to the 1980's Dudley Moore and John Lithgow classic, Santa Clause: The Movie. Quite possibly even further for all I know. But for some reason I’ve only just noticed. Have we been lied to all these years? Is there no Rudolf at all? Or was that song just total bollocks, to cover up the blatant discriminatory racism so obviously displayed by all the other reindeer? I mean, we are talking about a bunch of dick reindeer that excluded poor Rudolf from all reindeer games based solely on the fact he had a different colour of nose from the rest of them. So it’s not that far of a stretch.

If the stories are to believed, and I think they are, little Rudolf is the linchpin of all the reindeer and integral to the completion of Santa’s perilous journey round the whole world, ensuring all children wake up with presents under their tree. So why has he been continually left out of near enough every single Christmas flick since the dawn of the moving picture? Why I ask? Why!?!? Well I have a theory. And if you’re sitting comfortably, I shall begin.

I think, what we’ve been told about Rudolf is true, up till a point. Yes, he exists, yes, he has a shiny red nose, and some would even say...it glows. And that fateful Christmas Eve Santa did come to say, Rudolf with your nose so bright, won’t you guide my sleigh tonight. And he did, saving Santa, and indeed Christmas. But that is where the truth ends, and the lies begin.

You see, what I think has happened is, once Rudolf saved Christmas all the other reindeer were consumed by jealousy and never did actually let poor Rudolf join in any reindeer games after that. At all. Instead he was segregated from all the other reindeer, even making him drink from a different troth from the others, the hatred was that strong they even went on strike till Santa made sure he was not ever mentioned in any film from there on in. Well, not exactly. There is but a few movies out there, and we’re talking about a very small handful, that feature the famous red nosed reindeer but in the bigger picture, he has been left out of the majority of the Christmas flicks, and I for one think this absolutely disgusting. There is no place in this world for this kind of hatred. To hate someone just because they’re better than you is not the way, just try harder and work with each other, rather than putting someone down because you feel inadequate. No one is to blame for your short comings except for you. And to despise someone because of a difference in colour just makes no sense, I mean, think about it, really think.

However, what’s done is done. We can’t change history, but we can learn from it, and we can grow and evolve as humans to make sure this kind of injustice never happens again. The sooner we can all get along and be happy and kind to everyone, the better we’ll all be for it.

Love to all, and a have yourselves a merry little Christmas.

And a happy new year.

satire
4

About the Creator

Mark Kennedy

Scottish, very late 30's, one small dog named Arthur, named after Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and another dog the size of a small horse named Shadow. Writing is my passion, my hobby and my therapy.

Twitter @mkennedy198

Insta mark.kennedy080980

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.