Humans logo

Disappointing

progress

By nobodyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
always

Disappointing Progress by Mr. Darek Michael Lucero

*** word of caution: there are various f-bombs and other profane words throughout ***

Answering your sigh with a proffered glass of Cabernet Sauvignon I saw the crease in your brow and the darkness in your eyes. It was enough for me to know I needed to give you space. Without missing a beat you accepted the wine glass and not meeting my eyes you silently spoke.

“What the fuck was that?”

“What do…”

“Where the were you today?!”

“Are you…”

“I fucking needed you today! You were somewhere in the stratosphere.”

“Babe...I…”

“You really disappointed me today.”

“SHIT!.” we exclaimed in unison.

I turned away thinking about today's headquarters meeting and the events of last week.

You had scheduled a meeting that meant the world to you. I had just returned from a funeral of a former classmate. He was a military veteran. It was important to me that I show support and attend. Between the funeral, my doctor’s appointments, and your high profile meeting the days passed like the mile markers on the freeway.

Regardless of my mindset I failed to help you deliver your stellar...and as usual...fantastical presentation that has made you THE woman of the region in business. I had seriously distressed you.

“Did you lose the account?”

“No. I just... I felt alone up there today.”

“I…apologize, Love. I fucking...”

“Babe...where were you today?” with that furrowed brow of concern.

You searched my face for some clue as to what was storming inside of me. I had blocked you from poking around inside me today. I was hiding something.

“Love...what Is it?!” pleading with your eyes.

I handed you the envelope from the doctor’s office.

“What is this?!” shaking your fist with the envelope at me.

“Open it.”

“Why.”

“Anne...please...just read it.”

“Don’t fucking Anne Me! I thought this was taken care of!” looking at the stationery header.

I let loose an audible sigh.

“I didn’t get the doctor’s approval.”

“FUCK!”

“I know. I…”

“I WAS THERE AT THE OFFICE WITH YOU. I TOLD THEM HOW IMPORTANT THIS WAS FOR US.”

“babe...hon...Anne…”

Picking up your wine glass and finishing it before setting it down...your eyes refocused. Before I could move you had me in your arms. I was crying my enraged but disappointed tears.

“I really thought the doctors would move forward with your hormone replacement therapy. You know these doctors have me beyond livid with how they mistreat you. My Best Love, you deserve quality care. And, you aren't getting it with this place.”

Sobbing harder into your shoulder I heard your heart beating. I could hardly calm down.

“They said I still need to meet some other benchmarks. And, they…”

“It’s fucking HORSESHIT!”

“Babe...it’s going to…”

“I don’t fucking care what happened last year. This is 2021. You are ready for this!”

I pulled away thinking about the countless appointments and all the time I had been putting into changing my nutrition regimen along with my workouts. I was certain too.

I looked over at you. Slowly I walked into your neck. I put my arms around your waist. I softly began to sing our song while moving you with the beat. By the time I had reached “spring rain” in the chorus you were swaying with me. While quietly serenading you I could feel you relax into my embrace.

Softly putting an arm around my neck you placed your hand under my chin. Gently guiding my eyes up to yours...I could see you were smiling down into my face.

“I was hoping for more progress with your female-to-male transition medical team since last time this year. I thought for sure you would be on testosterone by now. I...”

Singing louder... our song...I danced you around our kitchen, our breakfast nook, and into our living room. I hadn't sung nor had we danced to our song in too many moons. As I slowly and lightly reverse dipped you I saw the glow return to you.

Humming along... you brushed your lips to mine. I stopped long enough to return your mouth’s embrace of me. Smiling I spun you out and we salvaged the remainder of our evening over wine and take out appetizers.

“Now...who do I need to call to get some changes made around here for MY husband.”

Laughing loudly I pulled you back into my arms and covered your giggle with a kiss of my own.

“Well…”

...and we laughed and laughed...

lgbtq
1

About the Creator

nobody

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.