Humans logo

Different View of Small Town Living

You can Find Me in a Field

By Kayla Lynn WaksmonskiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Kayla Lynn Waksmonski 2018

Living in a small town has its perks, and also has its drags...

I've lived in the same small town for 30 years. Well, my whole life. I've seen so many people come and go. Businesses start with hopes of bringing something to the community, followed by discouragement with having to close the doors due to, just not having the business. WalMart has tried bringing a store here, but it creates too much competition and smaller stores will just close down. Or so the town says. But honestly, we wouldn't know. I've watched this little town just die down, with no hopes of having something to come in and replace it. Things that make it hard to get resources and essentials that are needed. Even going to the doctor's office is a big deal. You better be prepared for an all day trip. And that's not just waiting in the waiting area, or now a days, your car, for the doctor to call you back. Most people travel at least 90 miles to get what's needed. But then again, if someone is going out of town, we can just let that person know we need something and hopefully they wont be too busy to do you the favor of bringing toilet paper from Walmart because our dollar stores are out, or whatever.

Everyone knows everyone, which can be good and, well, not so good. Knowing people, never hurts. And being able to know you have people close that you can reach out to in your time of need, is always, well needed. On the other hand, if there's someone that feels you did wrong, well, better believe everyone knows what you did... Plus what you didn't do, because someone along the line just has to spice up the story, right? Something I've been told and have recently learned, is everyone has a best friend. Your best friend, has a best friend. And they will tell someone something along the way that you will be uncomfortable with them knowing. Be your own best friend. And then stop caring about what everyone else is saying or thinking. That's what I've learned, anyways.

I've really had to learn to appreciate the place I call home. Growing up I couldn't wait to be away from this place and go where people didn't know me. Twelve years after graduating high school, and I never left. But I learned how to not be noticed in a town that knows everyone. I keep to myself. I go to work, and come home to the love of my life, who I keep close to me. We take care of our son and make sure he goes to school and gets the best out of his education. When we are ready for public attention, we just put a little bit of ourselves out there and the rest, is really no one's business. If the city hectic is what is needed, we can drive and find that. Then, come home to the quiet country side of New Mexico. If we need to be more secluded, well, that's not too hard to find around here. There's mountains and lakes that are close to be able to enjoy the out doors, which is something that I find comforting and calming, in such a busy world.

It's not always easy living in such a small place, where everyone knows everyone; And resources are not at the tips of our fingers. However, I would take the slow pace, in the middle of no where life, rather then the hectic city life, any day.

travel
Like

About the Creator

Kayla Lynn Waksmonski

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.