Humans logo

Desire's Dearest Friend

Desi and Aarzoo

By Daniel TrussellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I woke from a dream this morning with a smile, no unusual occurrence. Yet, walking over to the mirror, that smile welled larger than life when red stained teeth stood before my eyes. You know the feeling when you wake up from a dream too good to be true, and you can't help but fantasize if it were. In this rare moment, real memories flowed in and filled the mind with butterflies. A river of hope and glee, not sadness and disconnectedness, flowed. Months of dating in a new, unfamiliar world, with little more than a sexual, pent up drive behind each encounter. A real date had transpired, not ending in sex or even a kiss, but a hug that gave me goosebumps all the way into fingertips. We matched on a dating app, as did I with the rest. I sure didn't see it going anywhere and stepped out for one more chance. His profile bored me, but I didn't see it fair to judge his ability to swoon me. Maybe a changed perspective could lead to something less casual? I only selected that option because I believed people feared the serious word these days. Anyways… I’m getting carried away. See last time I went for the pickup line, the guy left me in the middle of the night… No note, no message, no call, nothing.  Looking in the same mirror, a blank face stood before me, no smile, no hope, and no sleep, much less dreams. Well, there were dreams, but one’s of discomfort and uneasiness, a rustling which woke me to realize I was alone. Oh, how good it felt to grasp something real for change. Thankful to have interacted with a heart beating whole, not torn, something was different. The heart sank for a moment as I walked down my stairs and out the door. I thought I saw his truck pull away, but couldn’t tell. God, please tell me he’s not a stalker. Why would he run away? Surely, he saw me if that was in fact him. Scratching my head, don’t overthink this Desi, you are meant to be desired and loved. What’d I even come out here to do? Oh yes, the mail. Letting out a yawn, it stopped half way. Aarzoo had stopped by after all. A bouquet of meticulously selected flowers, the daisy and the daffodil, hand-picked and wrapped in Mississippi forest picked twine. Not only had he heard me last night, he noticed me. The bouquet on my blouse he brought to life. Of course, I closed my eyes as tight and slapped myself silly. Desi, you are dreaming, and this is not reality. Nestled in the mailbox, a little letter sat. The mind settled into euphoria, arms crossed, the letter cradled into the chest. Opening the heart to receive words, no longer daydreaming, but living, breathing, breaking a seal of a letter written to her. How the emotions ring different in this moment from the rest, a seal being broken, not my heart. Well, don’t speak too soon Desi, read the words first: Desi, I’m not one to jump to conclusions until now. You asked me to set up the date, and to each event selected, you were wowed. Two beings united for one simple night. I left from you feeling love existed last night. From the hammock sunset on Lake Lorman, to the char-grilled fish we attempted to eat, to you laughing at my wine matching, Merlot unfit for the fish we caught, much less chocolate fondue dipped sweets. You lovingly enjoyed every moment, as did I, and the conversation rang in my head long into the night. Thank you for bringing light into the world in these times. I know this wasn’t your first rodeo with dating apps, but I hope it’ll be the last. When our mouths opened and stated this at the very same time, something within me changed, and I had to grow tough not to cry: You make me believe in love at first site. These words we both carefully selected as we considered each other’s eyes, laugh, smile, touch, voice. Maybe this moment was too good to last, but I bring you these flowers to continue a night unsurpassed. Pick your poison on how to respond. Your words sure don’t have to be poetic, but “if music be the food of love, play on.” This only stands at my attempt of being your modern-day Shakespeare. Soo until we meet again, may your dreams be vivid and beautiful, and may I be included. For you filled my heart again to believe in love, and for that alone I am thankful. Smiling into the Mississippi Sunset, Aarzoo The letter grew close to Desi’s chest again. What she had longed for so long finally came in. Unlike the creeping love had done before, loved poured over her every pore. Love disconnected from her body and attached in mind, spirit, soul. Desired for who she was at the core, not the surface, of course she wanted more. So back inside she ran, again looking to the mirror to let out a grin. Teeth stained from the night before, desire met desired, and true love emanated like no time before. Pen met paper for Desi as well, and there flowed her sonnet. Dear Aarzoo, No matter where I run to, it will always be with you…

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.