Humans logo

"DEMOCRACY"

"AMERICA IS A COUNTRY 248 YEARS IN 2024"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 2 months ago 4 min read
6
VIDEO BY AUTHOR, PHOTOS BY BING A.I. MUSIC "ANTHEM" LEONARD COHEN

“DEMOCRACY”

“AMERICAN IS OUR LAND 248 YEARS IN 2024”

What about honesty?

What about caring?

What about life?

What about everything everywhere all at once?

This is not a political right or left. It is a paper about how I feel about democracy and America as a human being who loves freedom.

I ask myself as I watch the political crazies of America and beyond wanting to take away our freedoms. I hear the MAGA lovers routing for a murderous dictator in a foreign country. I watch the mass shooting at a parade in Kansas City, Missouri celebrating the Chiefs winning the Super Bowl. I think about all the mass shootings of innocent children over the decade of recent years.

I wonder why this is happening. We live in an untamed world. Despite the internet highways of information, we now have people in certain states banning books and certain human beings from their own cities. The Supreme Court overturned Roe vs Wade.

I watch how an ex-President has been charged with 91 counts of felonies and how his cult followers still worship him even though he is a criminal of mass proportions.

I watched the Insurrection of the Capitol in Washington D.C. played on national television. It is maddening to watch the criminal ex-President still hold rallies and his cult followers clap at his tainted jokes.

I watch how there is an exhilarating amount of in-your-face racism. I watch how the haters want to secure the borders. I question this as the racists MAGA politicians and followers want to secure the borders. My opinion is that if MAGA is elected 2024 and the Heritage Foundation takes over America with an iron fist that the securing of the borders is to keep us in as well as keeping the others out of America. Because if elected and they take over as a dictatorship then there will be millions of us trying to travel to another country.

I think about a lot of people who worship the Golden Calf of life. I see thousands of homeless people across America, and it is spreading globally. I watch how wealthy people are getting richer than ever before in the world.

As of January 1, 2024, the top 10 richest people in the world are:

Elon Musk with a net worth of $251.3 billion1.

Bernard Arnault with a net worth of $200.7 billion1.

Jeff Bezos with a net worth of $168.4 billion1.

Larry Ellison with a net worth of $135.3 billion1.

Mark Zuckerberg with a net worth of $125.3 billion1.

Bill Gates with a net worth of $119.6 billion1.

Warren Buffett with a net worth of $118.6 billion1.

Larry Page with a net worth of $117.2 billion1.

Please note that these rankings may change due to stock market fluctuations. Elon Musk currently holds the title of the world’s richest person2.

https://www.forbes.com/real-time-billionaires/

https://usafacts.org/articles/how-this-chart-explains-americans-wealth-across-income-levels/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_total_wealth

I am a positive person, an empath and dreamer. I am a sensitive person who cares too much, sometimes trusting the wrong people. But despite the negativity and despair in the world I still have hope and faith that somehow, we will remain a democracy and people will learn to live and let live.

I still believe in an omnipotent universe. I still believe in helping others who cannot help themselves. However, I know that thieves, imposters, the liars see caring and sensitivity as weaknesses.

So, you see I live one day at a time to carry through each day, each month, and every year.

I pray to the universe that we are still a democracy this time, this month in 2025.

America was an experiment at the beginning, but it is a country in 2024. As a human being at age 74 I have seen lots of decades of the good the bad the ugly. So, we need to get a grip. We need to punish the white-collar criminal and his ideas. We must stop his rallies and remove him from the ballot. If the 91 felonies were on any of us the MAGA would have arrested us and locked us up for life. Think about it.

I will close with this opinion piece of thought and hope our country remains our American Democracy as a country.

AMERICA IS A COUNTRY NOT AN EXPERIMENT. WE ARE SO FAR PAST AN EXPERIMENT. We are approximately 248 years old.

This is not a political right or left. It is a paper about how I feel about democracy and America as a human being who loves freedom.

Peace out!

Written by

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

February 18, 2024

artvintageStream of ConsciousnesshumanityCONTENT WARNING
6

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I am an empath, Virgo; Leo moon rising, born on the cusp of Libra. Peace Out!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Oneg In The Arctic2 months ago

    Canadians always joked when Trumpy was in power that we should let him build his walls and then we’ll pay for the lid and keep USA in there. It’s utterly scary the influence this person has- and he knows it. It’s scary how his stink rises to Canada and affects things here. It’s just scary.

  • Wonderful Lawana!!! I feel exactly the same as you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.