Humans logo

Dear School Bus Driver

A school bus driver in the winter. A tourist trolley driver in the summer. A hero every day.

By Lena FolkertPublished 2 years ago β€’ 4 min read
5

Dear Miss Sandy,

It wasn't until about the fourth grade that I was blessed to meet you. Before you, there was the mean bus driver, whose name I will not mention, but you would know who I mean. It wasn't easy walking to that bus stop every day in the wind and rain and sleet and snow, and the ride to school was even colder than my fingers so blue. I think you know it's true.

Those were rough years for me. At home and at school, I spent my days bullied, and those rides to and from school left me feeling extra blue. I can't begin to recount how many times that nasty, old trash can was tossed over my head in those days. Mr. - never seemed to care that I got punched and spat on, and he didn't pull over when I got peed on either.

At school, the words were the worst of it, but those mornings and afternoons on his bus left me feeling so beaten and broken, and I thought my life was destined to be that way forever. I wasn't sure how much longer I could go on that way, and that's when you showed up one cold, winter day.

I thought I had the wrong bus that morning, but you smiled so sweetly and motioned for me to board, and I sat in the seat right behind you. Not once did I get hit or spit on that day. You talked kindly to me the whole ride, each way. You spoke to me as though I were your equal, and I knew that with you, I would be safe.

For once, those rides were some of the best moments of my day, and I looked forward to my chats with you. I can't remember how many times you made me laugh, and I had a bad day, you always knew how to make me smile. When summer came, I was worried that I would miss you, and I almost cried the last day you brought everyone else home first so that you could drop me off at my door.

You knew what pain and fears awaited me at home. Though, I never had to tell you, and you never had to ask. We both just knew, and somehow you made even those dark and scary moments feel safer. But what on earth was I to do when I would go months without seeing you?

I tried not to cry, and you smiled wide and said I would see you sooner than I thought. I waved goodbye to you, thinking it was just something grownups say to soothe the tears.

Little did I know just how true those words were for me. It was only a few days before I was walking around downtown. We lived in the most beautiful city in the world, didn't we? That tour trolley pulled up beside me, and I ignored the strange looks of the many tourists on board. Then, I heard a familiar voice asking me if I wanted a lift.

I looked up with a smile growing wide. You sat there with a grin just for me and said you were headed my way. I laughed and said I didn't have money for the trolley that day but thanked you heartily.

Well, Miss Sandy, almost thirty years have gone by, but I still remember your words as though it were yesterday.

"Don't you know that the Trolley is free for the hometown celebrities? Come on aboard, dear girl. Let's show these tourists our beautiful town!"

I laughed and leaped aboard with pure glee. You drove around the town, pointing out the pretty sights, and those tourists all treated me like royalty!

You gave me the microphone so that I could narrate all the sights. No one could have known them better than I did, after all. No one could be prouder to have grown up in that town so beautiful and pure.

Until we moved away years later, you were there almost every day. You protected me from the bullies and the bears every winter day, and in the summer, you pulled up whenever you saw me and offered me a ride.

I'll never forget that trolley and its flower boxes that filled the windows. I'll never forget the laughter of the tourists who thought I was the cutest child they ever did see. And I'll never forget you, dearest lady, who made me feel safe and special for the first time in my life.

You may even have saved my life once or twice, and I've never forgotten the kindness and warmth that emanated from you.

Never has there been another school bus driver who made such an impression. Never before and never after have I known a hero quite like you. And never, ever will I forget the woman named Miss Sandy, who saved my life and made me laugh when the world felt so unstable.

With all my love to you,

The little girl with a smile just for you!

friendship
5

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🀍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🀍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🀍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🀍 Dreamer 🀍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🀍 Luckily in Love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.