Humans logo

Dear Julia,

Thank you

By Priya GPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1

I’ve been reading a lot of your books and constantly revising your material - your work, your lessons. I'm realizing that as I read your books, especially “Floor Sample”, it makes me want to write and publish my work constantly. As well as, work on art and publish it constantly, and do the same with my dance work. You make it seem so easy despite feeling “low” at times, or wanting to consume alcohol or cigarettes, or in my day and age, cannabis. You did tamper with certain substances when you were in your 20’s, in Hollywood, a famous director’s wife. You soon realized that being drunk and having blackouts, wasn’t the best idea for you, nor was it good for your writing in the long run. Your support system around you emphasized that fact too.

You reminded me of when I was in my early 20’s and going on drinking splurges and stumbling drunk upstairs to my room, only to wake up shortly in a few hours, hungover, only to do it all again.

Soon I stopped, because running doesn’t get you far, and you realized that too.

In the book “Floor Sample”, you’re entering your 40’s, and you have just published your first small film. You were a writer before and still are, but as you narrate your journey, you write and meet people and move through it all. You get in contact with people who can help escalate your projects into products. Though that is not exactly the point, the point is, it is easy to create something - without mental chatter and critique. And you taught me that.

You see Julia, these past couple of days have been hard for me, even the past month. I’ve never been in these positions before…and it’s certainly a test of faith.

To seek guidance, I open up your books.

I came across one of your books last year, in 2021, through a Zoom call from a dance mentor in Los Angeles. I told her that I love writing, mind you I wasn’t writing consistently as you would suggest - 3 pages daily, no more, no less - I was writing, sporadically when I had a lot on my mind.

My friend proceeded to tell me about you...

“There’s a book called “The Artist’s Way”, by Julia Cameron, and there’s another book called, “The Write to Right”. I think you’ll like it because, at the end of each chapter, there are these writing activities/exercising that helps with writing, and the book talks about the act of writing itself”…

Without even going out and buying it yet, I had an instinct that I had to own it. I knew it was going to be a book I constantly refer to when I need to write. And so when I did read it, I fell in love with writing all over again. Rediscovering the act of writing. And the way your words flow with ease and grace…that’s how I wanted my style of writing to be.

And that’s what you ended up teaching me, through a book! The power of words.

When I was younger I practiced spirituality and prayer. My grandfather taught me to pray every night and my grandmother would pray morning and night. I grew up watching and receiving, but not quite understanding the idea, that there is something greater…within you. I prayed for the sake of praying.

As I grew older, I fell in and out of it. I would pray when things would be hard. I would give gratitude for all the good things. And that was about it. This was around high school and then my university days, with lectures and exams.

I am 24 now, Julia. I live in an apartment with my partner and work a part-time job. Trust me, it is not the ‘occupation’ I desired for myself. IF I discovered you earlier in my life - maybe it would have been different, who knows? I consider myself a creator. I am a dancer, writer, and visual artist. I grew up enjoying those practices and am extremely passionate about consistently pursuing them. And writing helps me to do that.

Writing helps me to heal, to grow, to express my worries, fears the good bad...anything goes. You've taught me how to use it that way.

By Mike Tinnion on Unsplash

Because of you writing has become such an integral part of my being. If I don’t write at least once a day - I write twice a day, morning and before bed - my day will feel off. That's how much of a habit it is now.

And spirituality recently came back into my life. MY belief that there is something greater than us, has strengthened immensely, because of you.

I am reading your creative memoir, "Floor sample". I simply enjoy it. What is now standing out to me, is your spiritual practice. Whenever you needed guidance or an answer for something or clarity, you would simply ask for it. You’d go for a walk, pray and be open to receiving. So in tune with a higher being. Reading those accounts, strengthened my belief that what it is you desire or ask for, now or later, you will receive it.

Every day, along with my meditation and writing in my morning, I find time to pray. (At least I try to)

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, God grant me the courage to change the things I can, God grant me the wisdom to know the difference.

It puts me at ease, you know? It makes me believe that the universe or higher power, has better things planned for me - for all of us, and trust that I will be okay, despite my low moments and tough situations.

So thank you, Julia. I have never met you, however, I wish to someday. In this age of social media, where it seems easy to get anyone’s attention these days, I might be able to write to you. Oh, what a delight and pleasure that would be..exchanging letters or words back and forth with someone who inspires my daily work and creation.

advice
1

About the Creator

Priya G

I really enjoy writing, it has helped me process and document my life, my journies, the good, bad & everything in between. My hope, is that you as the reader and fellow writers, take what speaks to you! Happy reading! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.