Humans logo

Dear Joan,

Letters of heartbreak from a couple. Covid 19 has changed the love-life of many, including my own. When a major crisis hits, the reality of what you should be doing with your life comes to light. Due to covid responsibilities are increased and the joyous love-life must come to a halt. Dear Joan is about a man leaving a woman who he loves to better his life for his children. Leaving the woman he loves behind.

By Ja'Cara MPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Dear Joan,
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Dear Joan,

The night we shared together was amazing. To have a meal with you and my children meant the world. They gave odd stares and I noticed but they just haven’t got to know you like I have. You were dressed beautifully and I could not take my eyes off of you. Then having you next to me once the kids were asleep was bliss. To hold you in my arms while the movie played made my heart beat slow. The movie was playing but all I could focus on was you.

It has been nearly two years since we met and each day I fall for you all over again. I love you and one day you shall be a part of my family for life. Until we meet for another date, sleep well my love.

Dear John,

The dinner we shared tonight was great. I got to know your family. I can tell your children mean the world to you. You may work an hour-based job but each hard working moment is dedicated to them. You work hard for them and I see that from the strain in your hands. Yes, your kids did not seem to like me but with hard work, I will one day win them over. The movie was great but getting to have your warm arms around me made my day.

After two years, I love you more and more. I never want you to leave. I wish to be a part of your family so we can be one. I love you John, sleep well.

Two months go past and Covid 19 has come. Places have closed and the people are required to stay home unless you are an essential worker. John is working from home because he has no one to watch his kids. He can not risk their health with strangers or even his own family...but what about Joan?

Joan is still working her job at a grocery store. She must go in or else the store will not run as her workers have quit or quarantined themselves for safety. She still talks to John everyday, but the physical contact has remained low. They both need each other.

Dear Joan,

Covid has come and my life has become stressed. Hearing your voice makes me feel at ease. I miss you and your heart. Covid has done nothing but make me feel trapped. I want to come near you but I can’t risk the health of my children. I have spent more time with them and those are moments I can thank covid for. How are you my love?

Dear John,

You are right covid has caused me stress as well. I miss you and want to come near you. I miss your touch and I too miss your heart. I am happy you are spending more time with your kids. The video’s you have sent me are nice and very funny. It makes my heart flutter to be a part of your life, no matter if it’s virtual.

Watching you three makes me feel envious. You are not alone like me. Sure, I have work but they are all untrustworthy. I need to see you my love before my mind goes insane. Please come and see me. I miss your voice my love. Will you come?

Dear Joan,

I want to come to you and hold you, but only after four months of covid children are catching it like a wildfire. I know you are safe but I can’t risk it right now. Please give me a little more time to prepare so you can come to me. I want to see you and I will make it possible. Sleep well my love.

One month goes past and Joan and John are reunited. There is tension at first but the flame returns and they are loving like mad. They have missed each other and each was starting to lose hope in the other, but here they are; together and strong or they thought they were…

A few more months passed and John was tired. Home-schooling and his job kept him busy. He looks at his watch and realizes he will miss their virtual call for dinner again. Her last visit had to be missed too because he had to help his kids prepare for an online exam. He wants to continue their love but how?

Joan is waiting for him but each day she misses him. She tries to call him but he could only talk for 5 mins before having to get back to work, or make dinner. She missed their long calls, she could tell this pandemic was taking a huge toll on his life. She was scared for their future and so was John.

Dear John,

Once again you have missed our virtual meet. I know you are stressed out and tired, but so am I. Although I am, I still try to keep up with our meets. Considering now that they are only once a week. Please tell me what is wrong and how can I help you be less stressed and happy like you were before covid? I miss you my love. Please let me hear from you soon.

Dear Joan,

Ever since the day we met, my heart has beat non-stop for you. You are the light to my darkest days. Your aura is one of a kind and I was a lucky man to have you. Remember our first date when you sneezed out milk from my joke. No one has ever laughed at my jokes before, you were the first. That laugh made my heart flutter. It was from that one moment that I wanted you all to myself. I wanted to one day marry you and make you a part of our family.

You are kind, nurturing, and strong. The perfect role model my kids need in their life. Their mother is a mess and they need a woman like you to guide them. I wanted that and I want you but now things have changed.

Due to covid, my life is a mess. The kids need more attention and my job has offered me a new promotion that is killing me. I am trying my best to be there for my kids and you but each one is rather hard. I have hardly had time for you and that is wrong. You are a diamond in my eyes and deserves someone who can handle it all through this pandemic. The man you met two years ago would have never let you go. I would stay by your side and give you the world. I would treat you as my Queen, but now I am not even King worthy for you. My kids need more attention through the rest of the school year and my job to support them must come first.

I am sorry my love. I wish I could blame covid on this dilemma but I can only blame myself. Because I have lost my fight to keep trying to make this work. There is too much stress and right now I can’t stress myself out more trying to please you. I am sorry, my love, but we must part. I forever love you.

Dear John,

John please don’t go…John?

Dear Joan,

…………(silence)

Dear John,

I love you too. Forever and always, my King.

Covid has broken more relationships than paired. I am one of those people. I was in a relationship for two years with a man I loved. When covid hit everything changed. This story is dedicated to the love bonds that covid broke. Know you are not alone because everyone has lost a John and Joan.

breakups
1

About the Creator

Ja'Cara M

You only live once. As time moves forward we have fantasies and tales we can not live. Well here your regular life is put on pause as you engage in stories that will fill your mind with ablaze and wonder. #fiction and #erotictales

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.