Humans logo

Dear Jayme:

You’ll Always Be the Strongest Woman I Know

By Anna KerrPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
2

Dear Jayme,

I know I’ve probably told you this a thousand times, but I just wanted to say it again; I wouldn’t be here today if it weren’t for you.

Though I wish our friendship had started because of happier circumstances, it was because of all that you’ve been through that’s made you the most amazing, selfless woman I know today. There aren’t many women who can say they’ve been through what you have and come out the other side stronger than before.

I still remember the day that it happened vividly, like it was yesterday. I had successfully run the bakery myself whilst he was on vacation. I was so proud of myself, and I couldn’t wait to tell him all about my week. Monday morning 8am rolls around, and I expect to see him walking down the produce aisle, tea in his hands. Only this Monday, that didn’t happen.

I remember thinking “what an asshole, couldn’t even tell me he was taking today off”. You can bet I still feel like an ass for that one. I was up in the office when I found out; he was in surgery, and things weren’t looking great.

Time seemed to stop in that moment. The manager I had looked up to, and learned so much from was hanging on for dear life; how could this have happened so quickly?

Things changed in that moment, for anyone who knew him. It was all we could do but hope and pray he came out of this. I still remember thinking the worst had happened. I still remember the rippling effect his absence had on the store as a whole.

It was you that convinced him to go to the hospital that day. If it weren’t for you, well, maybe I wouldn’t be writing this right now. He was so close, between life and death; I don’t know how you possibly lived with that knowledge everyday.

Months and months passed, but you still remained strong. He was in a coma for awhile, and I still remember visiting you both in the ICU when he woke up. He wasn’t the same funny, witty manager I had grown to know. He was different; and it hurt all of us to see him like that. But you still, sat by his side. Day after day, you never gave up hope.

It was a long time he spent recovering in the hospital, and I remember, after each time my sister and I would visit, thinking about how incredible the both of you were. You could ask anyone, it didn’t matter they all knew; if there were two people in this universe that were meant to be, it was the both of you. And if there were two people in this universe who deserved nothing but the best, it was the both of you.

Even with Harlow, so young, not understanding what was going on, you were so strong for her, and all of your step children, who were (and are still) so fortunate to have someone who loves their dad as much as you do. I can’t begin to imagine what it must have been like to watch the man you loved like this; I don’t know that I could have done it. But you did; without a second thought.

It was because of this I began to work for you, and I truly got to know you. You taught me a lot, not just in a professional, working sense, but about myself. I realized just how giving of a person you were; I realized just how selfless you were. Going to work for you, doing something totally out of my comfort zone was the best thing I could have done; it brought us closer together.

One of the moments I’ll never forget, and what really showed me how much you cared, was a couple years ago when I was going through a rough patch. I spent the night in the hospital, and as soon as I texted you, telling you what was happening you wasted no time; you dropped everything and came and sat beside me.

You sat beside me all night, catching what sleep you could on the floor, even though you had a nine hour shift to work in the morning. But you didn’t care; in that moment making sure I was alright was your main concern. I’ll never forget that; I’ll never forget how that made me feel. Even after spending the night you went to work the next day; how you made it through that day was beyond me.

You both visited me that night. The night I came home you both stopped by to make sure I was doing alright. You see, it’s your level of caring and understanding that makes you stand out.

Even after everything you’ve been through, even if we don’t talk for a little while I never have to question our relationship. I know if I ever need you, you’re just a phone call away, no questions asked. If I ever need a place to stay, a shoulder to cry on, or an ear to listen, you’re there.

You’ve been through hell and back in the years I’ve known you, and honestly I look up to you a lot. Even after watching him in the hospital, recovering for a year, after everything that brought on, you were still happy to lend a hand to anyone in need; some would say to a fault.

So today I write you this letter. I write you this letter to let you know: you’re amazing, and I love you. I definitely wouldn’t be where I am today without your continued love and support, nor would I be the person I am today. You were there for me in a period of time in my life where I felt so alone; but you made that feeling disappear. I still consider you guys like a second family; and I wish life would quit getting in the way so I could see you more. You made me feel like I belonged again, a feeling I had lost for so long.

But just never forget; you’re the strongest woman I know. And I know, for an absolute fact, there’s nothing life could throw your way that you couldn’t find a way to handle. You’re the most inspiring person in the world, and I never want you to forget it.

Thank you for reading! I appreciate all the love and support. Feel free to check out my profile for more stories and articles. Link here.

friendship
2

About the Creator

Anna Kerr

| hockey fan | occasional writer | skyrim |

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.