Humans logo

Day #2 of 100 Days of Ukulele

'Til There Was You - Memory from 1968

By Mary Lane Cryns aka MelodyPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

Day 2 of 100 Days of Ukulele and Blog had a rough start. First, it took me forever to record myself playing and singing “‘Til There Was You,” the second song the Beatles played on the Ed Sullivan Show on February 9, 1964. This isn’t because I didn’t know the song, and I do think it’s lovely even though it was not written by the Beatles. The second song was the only cover of the evening, written by Meredith Wilson. It appeared in the musical, “The Music Man.”

After messing with my new music stand “tripod” which is meant for both iPad and iPhone and is pretty cool, I finally managed to get everything set up. A fly buzzed around my face while singing and landed on my nose. I swatted it off and decided that recording was not going to “fly.” (Get it, haha!). Then I debated about whether to use my PC as I’d done the day before or my iPhone. I finally settled on using the iPhone before I realized I was low on storage space and it took literally hours to finally upload the video to the 100 Days of Ukulele 2022 Facebook page, etc., and to YouTube. That’s not normal for sure.

While singing ’Til There Was You,” I realized today is Valentine’s Day, and I thought of some pleasant Valentine’s Days in the past, and they all took place in San Francisco. So here's my earliest Valentine's Day memory.

Land's End, San Francisco where the ocean meets the Bay. (Taken by me in February 2020)

Valentine’s Day 1968 — San Francisco

On a cool spring day in 1968, David Hirrell and I set out on an adventure at Sutro Forest, the forest of eucalyptus trees that towered above the massive UC Hospital up the street from where I grew up. I was not quite 11 and David wasn't much older.

We were alone and not with the rest of the gang, which comprised Michael and Jennifer, David’s little brother Barry and the Solis boys from up the street, Ricky and the gang. He stood almost a head taller than me, with his sandy blonde hair and dark eyes offset his chubby face. Sometimes he made me so mad and he was mean to me, and I was mean to him too. But today we were having one of our nice days.

David and I walked close to one another, our bodies touching many times — but neither of us doing anything about it. It was probably the first time in my life I felt that weird connection with someone that was more than just friends. Just a tiny glimpse, though.

We traversed up and down rugged trails, sometimes along the sides of perilous cliffs on the hillside. I picked up a stick and used it to crash through vines. Both of us suddenly realized that we might be lost.

“Where the heck are we?” I said to David.

“I dunno!” David shrugged.

Our bodies touched from time to time, our sweaty hands almost clasping but not quite. These were tender moments. I knew it, but I dared not say anything about it because it might break the magic spell we seemed to be under that neither of us could explain.

We were lost in the middle of Sutro Forest, high above the rest of the world. The north part of San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge stretched below us beyond UC Hospital. The sweet, pungent smell of blue gum eucalyptus trees, some so tall you could barely see the tops of them, filled my nostrils. While in the wooded area, David stopped and pulled out a scout knife, and made his way to a eucalyptus tree close by.

“What are you doing?” I asked as he began to carve on the tree.

“You’ll see. But hear me now,” David said.

I could hear birds chirping, but all the sounds of the city were far away and muffled here in this mysterious forest. I wondered if we’d be able to find our way out or if we would wander these trails until dark. What would we do? Camp in the forest? Would anyone be able to find us?

“Okay, there! But you’ve gotta promise, you’ve gotta swear before you see this”

“Before I see what?” I tried to peek around David, but his massive body stood in the way.

“You’ve gotta promise never to tell anyone about this — swear to secrecy.”

“Okay, okay,” I laughed.

“No, for real.” David sounded serious. He used his bossy voice. It was the first time I’d heard that voice all day.

“Okay, all right.” I crossed my heart. “Cross my heart, hope to die, poke a needle in my eye!”

David seemed satisfied with this, so he moved aside so I could see what he’d carved into the tree. I saw a huge heart on the tree, and in the middle of the heart were the distinct words, “David & Mary were here.”

I didn’t know what to say. I knew that was special, that it somehow meant something, and I understood why David swore me to secrecy.

David looked right into my eyes and I looked back into his. “This is just between you and me, okay?”

“Yes, I understand,” I said.

Then David grabbed my hand and pulled me along, “C’mon, let’s keep going!” He said. I held on to David’s hand for as long as I could. It felt warm and inviting even though we were both sweaty. The other time David had grabbed my hand was that day we went to the beach and I almost got swept out to sea by this huge wave — our mothers had warned us about the undertow at the beach, but of course, we had not listened. The sneaker wave had knocked me down and I sputtered and spit water out because my face fell right into the salty freezing water, and just when I thought for sure I was a goner, feeling the pull of the ocean, I felt a hand grab mine. “Grab on!” David had shouted, and he’d pulled me right out of the water. I was convinced he saved my life that day.

Land's End, San Francisco. Taken by me in February 2020.

We stood by that eucalyptus tree for a while, and then, continued our journey. I didn’t want to let go of David’s hand. I wanted to hang on forever because as long as I held on to David’s hand, it didn’t matter if we were lost…

love
Like

About the Creator

Mary Lane Cryns aka Melody

I’m a writer chick with a ukulele who loves the Beatles, the groovy 60s and all my crazy, fun family and friends. I currently reside in Eugene, Oregon with my boyfriend and cat. Im a mom with 4 grown kids and 3 grandkids.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.