Humans logo

Dating or Single and the Holidays

What to Do

By Lena BaileyPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

It's nearing the holidays and I wanted to give my advice on how to handle this time of year while dating, single or in a relationship. I will tell you some of the basics you need to know.

The first thing that I will say is that I have heard some dating sites see a jump in numbers right before the holidays. Yes, you can date casually during the holidays but if you are looking for a relationship avoid apps like tinder and grinder during this time. Grinder and tinder uses the location of your phone to tell the rest of the people on the app where you are. Now during the holidays this can result in people being close to you only for the holidays. For example, you may find a someone that lives in New York full time but is in Georgia for the holidays. In this example, for instance, you have to ask yourself if you want a relationship where you will only see each other on occasion. Now my advice is to avoid dating if you just don't want to be lonely during the holidays because a lot of people are busy with family, friends and other obligations. Now, the only reason that people aren't busy during the holidays is because they won't see their loved ones or they aren't doing anything for the holidays. Do you really want to spend the holidays with the family or friends of someone you just met? I know I wouldn't, it would be way too weird and I would rather be by myself or with my loved ones. There's also a spike between the first of the year and April on the dating apps. That spike could be because people were unhappy with who they were in a relationship with during the holidays or they realized how lonely they were during the holidays.

I think the reason why there is a spike on the sites is because people don't want to be alone during the holidays. I get it, I've been there. Some people that are the cause of the spike may want to be able to say "I'm dating," when people ask if they're seeing anyone. But if you met someone right before the holidays, don't bring them home to meet the family. I think that goes without saying, but you know how people are. I think you should wait a few months before bringing them around the family, I made that mistake a few times. I know what I'm talking about on most things. I dated a guy for a month before inviting him to Thanksgiving. My current guy I dated a few months before I went to his family's Thanksgiving.

Now you have to be fair to the person you are seeing, they have a family too. You either have to share the day with both families or spend the day apart. There are also people in committed relationship that spend one thanksgiving/ Christmas or other holidays with their family one year and the next year with their partner's family.

If you have to travel to a family and you have to share a house this should go without saying but, be aware of house rules. You also have to be aware that you are in a house with family so you can't be swinging from the light fixtures. Also when you go to the bathroom or anywhere in the house don't be naked or half naked, I know it's tempting but don't do it.

I will be doing a kink and the holidays blog because some stuff is similar but other things are different like protocol and toys. Also there are a lot of tips I have about munches, clubs and events. See ya in the next article!

dating
Like

About the Creator

Lena Bailey

Georgia born writer. Specializing in dating and true crime

If you have any questions or comments please email [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.