Humans logo

Dates Gone Wrong

I like dating, but many of them just go bad

By Natalie FletcherPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
3
Dates Gone Wrong
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

I have been on many dates in my day. At only 24 I cant even remember all the people I have met; in-person or online and they just do not go as planned. See I would say "guys are annoying" but guys say "girls make no sense" so really its a double-edged sword. But somtimes I actually really enjoy texting with someone, but then I meet them and its just strange. And there are other times where you think its going really well, but never hear from them again.

I have learned a lot from my dating experiances, both good and bad. I have learned that not all dates will go well, obviously. It is imporant to know you will not find your husband after one date, that stuff takes time. Through all this dating, I have yet to find my person as of August 6th 2020, but I want to share those experiances with you. For privacy reasons names will not be used.

Let's Begin!

1. The "We are looking for different things

I enjoy dating, I will go on a date just about any day of the week, I love good food converation and company. So, I met this guy at a local pub in South Philadelphia, it was fall, and I was so excited because the pumpkin beer was just tapped! It was a rainy day and I remmeber because my new shoes were soaking, a tragedy I know. So we get to the pub around 5:30, as we both finished work or school shortly before. The conversation was good, very casual getting to know each other. About an hour as passed and he gesutres the server for the check, and I personally thought that was quick, I like to enjoy it and take my time. But we leave shortly after and he walked me to the bus, but asked if I would come to his place, and I polietly declined the offer. He preceded to say, well I am just gonna go home and go to bed, and there I was waiting for the bus.

Date Rate: 6/10--only because of pumpkin beer

2. The "I spent too much not to be invited up"

So this date was strange, very strange. I decided to meet at the bar near my apartment because I had an early day, and I did not want to deal with ubering. The conversation was very bland nothing exciting. When I go on a first date, I ask things about family, carreer, goals etc. and he just didn't have things that were the same as me. Therefore, I knew that a second date would not come of this and it was getting late. He precedeed to walk with me down to my apartment has his car was parked a few blocks away. On the corner near my apartment I thanked him for the night. He then tells me "you're not inviting me up?" Like, sir no I am not, I had no plans of inviting this man up into my apartment. He then told me "I did not just spend $50 to not be invited up, let alone only get a friendly hug" I gave be $20 and told him to have a god night.

Date Rate 4/10 --and that is being generous, he was rude

3. The "Yes, this went well, talk to you tomorrow"

This date was great! Took some convincing to get me to go out because I had just worked all day and it was a cold Janurary evening. He was a really nice attractive guy and his goals met a lot of mine. The date lasted a few hours, we talked and talked and drank and drank it was great. Lot of honesty happened on this date, jumped into some personal things talked about the future got all of our social handles as our generation does. As the night grew later and we got drunker it was time to leave. He waited with me for my uber, standing close to keep eachother warm. As my ride pulled up he told me how much fun it was and kissed me goodnight. As I was riding home I texted him and thanked him, we had a short back and forth about setting something up in a few days. After that it faded, nothing came of it, but to this day continues to snapchat me and like all my posts. I don't get it, if there was honesty on the date, let there be honesty in going our own ways.

Date Rate 8/10 -- I would have done higher if he just said he was no longer interested.

4. The "Ob, I actually have a girlfriend"

Now this one is a doozy and has multiple dates! I was out with my girl friends one night, as it has been a long time since we have all been together and we are at our final stop for the night when I am approced by a man asking if he could sit next to me and buy me a drink, obviously I said yes. We talked I later gave him my number, and a few days later we go out to a fall festival in Center City. That was a good time very casual, followed by a third date where dinner was included. After we complete dinner he walked me to the subway and said I was a babe. A few weeks later I invite him over for dinner, he spends the night. He tells me the next morning that he had a girlfriend, and he thought she was cheating so he thought it was ok. This relationship was 3 years, I told him he needed to leave. 5 months later he texts me LOL.

Date Rate: 0/10 -- that was a terrible thing he did

That's all for now, this just shows how bad my dating life is. Maybe I will share more with you, we will see.

dating
3

About the Creator

Natalie Fletcher

HI! I am a college student who loves to explore all my city has to offer and put my cooking skills to use in my kitchen every night!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.